Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Daddy's Tuna Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Daddy's Tuna Casserole

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on March 02, 2009

      This is one of those dishes that brings back memories for me. My daddy used to make this for me when I was little. We were both huge tuna fish fans, but no one in the house seemed to like it so he would always whip up a batch just for us. Now as an adult I make this for myself when I need a little comfort.. I've never added Cream of mushroom soup because of an allergy, but I have substituted 1/2 cup of heavy cream instead of the milk and that always seemed to give it that extra creaminess. I also add 1/2 tsp of pepper. YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      My fiance and I thought this was okay. It was probably an improvement on plain mac n' cheese, but it was a little bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      A quick easy way to make an ok tuna dish. I'm not a big fan of kraft dinner (what we Canadians call it), but somehow had a box in my pantry, so was looking for a way to doctor it up, and this fit the bill. As another reviewer noted I think adding a can of cream of mushroom soup to this would give it some creaminess, but then that would be a whole different recipe: which is here on zaar as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      I used frozen peas and I also added frozen corn. I had more than 15 ounces of peas and corn. I cooked it in the microwave (I always do with a box of macaroni and cheese dinner mix). DH, DS and me loved this. This is great when we don't have lots of time to cook. Like yesterday I was tired of cooking and wanted something fast to do. Thanks PaulaG. Made for Zaar Star Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      This was so easy and tasty. Perfect for when you need to go grocery shopping but just don't want to! I will be making this again! Thanks Paula G!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      This was a very quick and easy supper for me. I used 1/2 cup of frozen peas that I added to the pasta a few minutes before the macaroni was done. Very tasty. Thanks for the post :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      Made this last night for dinner. My Nee used to make it all of the time and I was needing something comforting so I tried to find her recipe. Couldn't find it, so off to Zaar I went to look for one similar. PaulaG, thank you so much for posting. It was the exact recipe she used for years. The family loved it and it brought back great memories for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      I personally love this recipe for the ease and the yummy taste. I added black pepper to give it a kick and used frozen peas instead of canned. However, my husband did not enjoy this at all. So I will have to reserve this dish for a solo meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      This is my dh's meal he makes himself when I do not feel like cooking. He loves it. Personally, I do not- but it keeps me from having to cook some nights :) Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      Loved this...no kids, just me and DH...but we love mac n' cheese out of the box. I am a bit of a snob about my boxed mac n' cheese, I only use the "Deluxe" by Kraft. So I didn't even have to add the butter or milk...even easier if that's possible! Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2006

      this was a family favorite in my childhood, mom always made jiffy corn muffins 2 go along w/. crumble 1 on top--mmmmm! after i was out on my own and my honey didn't like peas, i would sometimes add 1/2 packet of dry onion soup mix and drined green beans (i prefer french style) makes for an tasty alternative!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2006

      This is exactly how my mother made tuna casserole for our family when I was growing up. The picture is making me hungry for it now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2006

      Oh my goodness, this is my favorite "for me only" meal...DH can't stand it, so I don't make it very often, but I sure enjoy it when I do! I like to add lemon pepper seasoning if I have it, but it's still very yummy without!! I used to live on this stuff when I was single...very cheap, tasty and easy meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2006

      Made for Photo Swap 2006:) This was a very easy meal and my 4 yr old actually ate his veggies for once! I might halve the peas next time and use some extra spices. (I added a bit of cayenne to mine after tasting it) Thanks PaulaG! Hope you like the photos:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2005

      Really quick, easy & inexpensive meal. I felt that 15 oz of peas was a bit much, so went half. I increased milk to 1/2 cup. I prepared it by the microwave instructions, which worked well. I'm giving this recipe to my college bound step-son. I'm sure he'll appreciate such a quick, cheap meal! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2004

      This was really good and made a great QUICK dinner for just me, while DH was at school! And I have leftovers for lunch! I don't care for peas, so I left them out. Wouldn't change a thing! Thanks Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2004

      I have also made this dish for years and the kids love it. Now that they are older I add a can of cream of mushroom soup. My DH called it kid stuff for the longest time, and then he tried it lol and every couple weeks now I hear hey why havent you made tuna mac lately?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Daddy's Tuna Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (149 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 264.8
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    22%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 28.8 mg
    9%
    Sodium 421.2 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 7.6 g
    30%
    Protein 16.7 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites