Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / " Da Best" Chicago-Style Italian Beef Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    " Da Best" Chicago-Style Italian Beef

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2011

      As you might be able to tell from my name, I'm a big fan of Chicago food and this beef was delicious. You do need access to a slicer to get the beef sliced good and thin. If you've got a relationhip with your butcher or deli, maybe they'll slice it for you (especially if you're willing to share some beef). Double the gravy- you won't regret it if you like to pour it on. I inserted 12 garlic cloves into my roast before roasting and they sliced up with the beef. I've made this twice now, and it is the only Italian beef I'll ever make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2012

      This recipe is da bomb! As one who spent most of his life just outside Chicago, Italian (Eye-talian) beef is (was) a staple. And when I moved west a few years ago, I assumed that it was as ubiquitous as hamburgers and hot dogs. Not!! I looked high and low, but--sadly--this delicious sandwich was nowhere to be found. (I've since come across a couple Chicago-themed places that serve it, but I have to drive 60 mi. and plunk down almost $9 for a sandwich!) I've tried making it at home a few times with, at best, average results. And the last time I made it I had to try slicing it with a knife. The flavor was good, but you just can't get it right (i.e., thin enough) with a knife. And I just couldn't justify splurging for a slicer. But I was happy to stumble across one recently at a thrift store in like-new condition for only $12. Italian beef was coming to our table very soon!! And so I tried this recipe and, with some good, not-too-crusty/tough, French bread, you'd swear you're eating carryout from your favorite IB joint. Even my teenaged daughter, who doesn't usually care much for beef, went back for seconds! My tips for the recipe are to at least triple "da gravy," and next time I'll probably quadruple it. You want your cooked and sliced beef completely submerged to absorb all the yummy goodness. But I would only double the garlic and Worcestershire; 2x on those two ingredients is plenty. And even at double it is plenty garlicky. But it's oh so delicious. SIX STARS!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2011

      I grew up in Chicago...I LOVE this recipe and have made this recipe so many times. I double the gravy recipe. Went and invested in a meat slicer because this is such a good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      I've made this recipe on 2 seperate occassion and it was excellent. No fuss no muss great sandwich meat. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      Perfect, my family ate it like it was the only meal they had consumed in awhile.... The only change I made was the double the Da Gravy and add a little more garlic, hubby really likes the garlic taste. Thanks for the recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      Being from the South Side, I've tasted a lot of Italian Beef. This one is the best one I've come across. "Rival" makes a good quality, cheap meat slicer, which is ESSENTIAL for Italian Beef to get it really thin. Gotta double up on "Da Gravy"!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      This was surprisingly good. I didn't think I'd like a soggy sandwich but ages from 3 to 43 we all gobbled it up and agreed we should make more next time. I think next time we'll try to thicken some of the gravey and serve over rice on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2011

      This is a family favorite and great for a big crowd because it is made the night before. I would not skimp on the gravy since we dip the roll tops. Don't pass on the Giardiniera either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2011

      OK, I'm from NC, never been to Chi, but this was wonderful! I actually had a london broil on hand which I used, wasn't able to marinate overnight, but this was very, very good. I'll make it the right way next time, I promise! Thanks for bringing a taste of the north to the south!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      My family loves this recipe! The biggest challenge is to slice this thinly without a meat slicer. LOVE it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

    • on December 13, 2009

      My family and I are from the south side, we all live in San Diego now. When I made this for them, none of us made it in the past we just ran out a picked up sandwiches whenever we wanted them, to a person they were delighted. This is the real deal. I am making my second batch and getting ready for Chargers/Cowgirls later today. Football and Italian Beef in San Diego an unbeatable combination. Chef #1282085 is correct double the size of the au jus, you'll be glad you did. Enjoy!! Go Chargers!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      Turned out great. I think a meat slicer is the way to go to get almost shaved meat. I'd recommend making a double batch of da gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      Hello to all, Let me first say I was born and raised in Chi Town. I just finished this dish and it is now maranating. I have (of coarse sampled it) and I must say it's authentic Chicago Style Beef. As good as I have tasted. The only things I could add is if you can get access to a meat slicer it will make your life way easier. I grew up on the paper thin sliced beef sandwiches and its really hard to slice a roast into paper thin slices without a machine. Also I would use a processor to mince the garlic. I think the randomness of the hand mincing leaves too many big chunks. Lastly... If you make this then you need to double the gravey or jus. In true Chicago style I love beef sandwiches wet, not dry. And for the finishing touch a few peperchinis. All in all this recipe captures the true Chicago style Italian beef sandwich. Five stars, AWESOME !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      This was "Da Bomb!" I used a 2.5 lb rump roast, but made the amount of gravy listed in the recipe. I cooked the roast for 60 minutes, took it out and let it rest for 20 minutes while I made Da gravy. The next day (after marinating), I put everything in the crockpot to reheat. Served on toasted ciabatta rolls with grilled onions and melted provolone cheese. YUM! Great recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      It was very good but not my favorite recipe for italian beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      Definitely double the broth, it is SO good. I did cook the meat as directed, and it still came out a bit overcooked! But it was still very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      This recipe is AWESOME!!! I made it for family Christmas and 9.5# was eaten - toasted buns in the oven and melted provolone cheese on them... added the beef (and some juice) topped with gardineria - out of this world. It will be made again and again...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      Awesome stuff!! I grew up in Chicago and moved 20 some years ago to Memphis Tn. My wife and I try to go back to visit atleast once a year and all we eat while there is italian beef, Chicago dogs, pizza and gyros possible. Earlier this year we wanted italian beefs more than once a year and since Chicago is 500 miles away we decided to research recipes on online. After looking at all we could find, this one seemed to fit the bill. So I ran out and bought a meat slicer (small investment) which really is the only way to get the beef sliced thinly enough and made out first beefs at home. WOW! this recipes is spot on! Exactly like the beefs we love in Chicago! We took the advice of others and use canned broth instead of the boulion cubes cubes and always make extra so we can "dunk" em. I like em with the peppers so we take green bell peppers sliced in approx. 3/4" strips and put em in a small pan with about an inch of water, cover and boil until they soften and change to a darker green color. Add a few pepper slices to the top of the sandwich and shredded cheddar and hold on to your hat! We make beefs atleast once a month now and I don't think I'll ever get tired of it. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      The best ... better than all of the chicago italian beefs I had during my 30 years of living in chicago. We live in florida and they have nothing like this. We made it at home and even my husband who is from the northeast and never "appreciated" how great chicago italian beef is ... he's now in love with it and just bought a big rump roast so we can make a huge batch ... awesome recipe ... thanks!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for " Da Best" Chicago-Style Italian Beef

    Serving Size: 1 (353 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 7

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 657.6
     
    Calories from Fat 356
    54%
    Total Fat 39.5 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 15.5 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 243.1 mg
    81%
    Sodium 517.7 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 67.7 g
    135%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites