12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Sweet and simple, just what I'm looking for as a substitute for unhealthy white powders (non-diary creamer)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegiBrit June 05, 2007

This was perfect for me, Thanks! I made this last night, used 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract and added 1 Tablespoon agave nectar for sweetness. I made a Chocolate-Maca smoothie today for lunch substituting the rice milk for my usual 2% cows milk and it was excellent! (not to mention almost no fat). I think this would make an awesome base for Horchata as well. As some other reviewers had mentioned, it is thick. If you are going to use this for conventional milk purposes, cereal etc, you may have to water down a little.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amberlyrose August 27, 2008

This didn't work for me. The consistency was very thick. It is easy to water it down but I just didn't care for the taste, it was slightly bitter. If I tried this again, I would reduce the amount of rice I used and also add sweetener like another reviewer mentioned...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrishanna March 09, 2008

It didn't taste like my favorite brand of rice milk, but it was fairly easy to make. One thing I really appreciated was being able to adjust the consistancy myself. Commercial rice milk is too watery. With this recipe, I was able to make the rice milk more like the thickness of real milk. (Initially it was very thick--like a can of condensed milk.) I added some sugar to make it taste more like the brand I'm used to. My son seems to like it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hpetryinchina February 03, 2008

I loved this recipe, and have been making it weekly since discovering it. It is thick, as everyone has pointed out; but it's easily thinned to whatever your specifications are, and very filling. It's delicious with my cereal and costs as much as a 1/2 cup of rice, so I'm sold.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keltiekay August 07, 2012

I don't drink this as a beverage but make it with brown rice and use it in pancakes, smoothies and baked goods. My son is Lactose intolerant and I make a batch almost every week.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Threeicys February 25, 2012

I just made this. The texture is beautiful, creamy and thick (strained 2x with fine wire mesh lined with cheese cloth). The flavor was bland (0 fat in it), but that's so easy to adjust. Great for a non-dairy Hot Chocolate or Chai.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dineslee January 16, 2010

I made this yesterday for the kiddies, and neither of them liked it at all... I was really disappointed, because I was hoping to get them drinking something I could make at home. Part of it may have been my own fault, as I added vanilla rice protein powder and buzzed it in the blender again after straining it. I also had to add quite a bit of water to get this thin enough to drink... And I added sweetener (splenda) to try to get them to drink it. I ended up making a batch of peanut butter banana smoothies with it, which my 4 yo wouldn't drink (he LOVES pb smoothies) but at least the 14 mo drank some of this. I tried it several times during this whole process, before adding water, before and after protein powder, and I didn't care for it either. Sorry for the bad review, but I won't be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie June 10, 2009

Am going to try this and let you know what I come up with. I recently discovered that cow milk is a big no no for me. I hope this will make for a good substitute. As far as calcium is concerned -- you get better absorbtion from whole fruits and nuts than you do cow milk.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AzureLynn September 13, 2005

It may be true...about the calcium and protein, but you can get protein and calcium from many other foods. When you have a child who is allergic to dairy AND to soy, rice milk products are a day saver! IE: My son can still have "hot chocolate" with his friends after sledding in the winter!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kanddsmom January 31, 2005
D I Y Rice Milk