Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / D I Y Rice Milk Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    D I Y Rice Milk

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2007

      Sweet and simple, just what I'm looking for as a substitute for unhealthy white powders (non-diary creamer)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      This was perfect for me, Thanks! I made this last night, used 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract and added 1 Tablespoon agave nectar for sweetness. I made a Chocolate-Maca smoothie today for lunch substituting the rice milk for my usual 2% cows milk and it was excellent! (not to mention almost no fat). I think this would make an awesome base for Horchata as well. As some other reviewers had mentioned, it is thick. If you are going to use this for conventional milk purposes, cereal etc, you may have to water down a little.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      This didn't work for me. The consistency was very thick. It is easy to water it down but I just didn't care for the taste, it was slightly bitter. If I tried this again, I would reduce the amount of rice I used and also add sweetener like another reviewer mentioned...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      It didn't taste like my favorite brand of rice milk, but it was fairly easy to make. One thing I really appreciated was being able to adjust the consistancy myself. Commercial rice milk is too watery. With this recipe, I was able to make the rice milk more like the thickness of real milk. (Initially it was very thick--like a can of condensed milk.) I added some sugar to make it taste more like the brand I'm used to. My son seems to like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      I loved this recipe, and have been making it weekly since discovering it. It is thick, as everyone has pointed out; but it's easily thinned to whatever your specifications are, and very filling. It's delicious with my cereal and costs as much as a 1/2 cup of rice, so I'm sold.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      I don't drink this as a beverage but make it with brown rice and use it in pancakes, smoothies and baked goods. My son is Lactose intolerant and I make a batch almost every week.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      I just made this. The texture is beautiful, creamy and thick (strained 2x with fine wire mesh lined with cheese cloth). The flavor was bland (0 fat in it), but that's so easy to adjust. Great for a non-dairy Hot Chocolate or Chai.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      I made this yesterday for the kiddies, and neither of them liked it at all... I was really disappointed, because I was hoping to get them drinking something I could make at home. Part of it may have been my own fault, as I added vanilla rice protein powder and buzzed it in the blender again after straining it. I also had to add quite a bit of water to get this thin enough to drink... And I added sweetener (splenda) to try to get them to drink it. I ended up making a batch of peanut butter banana smoothies with it, which my 4 yo wouldn't drink (he LOVES pb smoothies) but at least the 14 mo drank some of this. I tried it several times during this whole process, before adding water, before and after protein powder, and I didn't care for it either. Sorry for the bad review, but I won't be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2005

      Am going to try this and let you know what I come up with. I recently discovered that cow milk is a big no no for me. I hope this will make for a good substitute. As far as calcium is concerned -- you get better absorbtion from whole fruits and nuts than you do cow milk.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2005

      It may be true...about the calcium and protein, but you can get protein and calcium from many other foods. When you have a child who is allergic to dairy AND to soy, rice milk products are a day saver! IE: My son can still have "hot chocolate" with his friends after sledding in the winter!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

    • on September 09, 2003

      but it's missing the calcium and protein that's put into comercial rice milk, and those are two very important nutrients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for D I Y Rice Milk

    Serving Size: 1 (261 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 175.5
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    43%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 14.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.6 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vanilla beans

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes