Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Custard-Style Macaroni and Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Custard-Style Macaroni and Cheese

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on April 30, 2002

      Exactly what we were looking for. The custard was firm without being dry. Not a bit stringy. To ensure that the cheese and egg would be distributed event I warmed the milk and butter, added the cheese, allowed it to melt, then I used the standard custard method where you add some of the warm liquid to the egg while stirring then add the mixture back into the pot and whisk until it starts to thicken (don't let it boil). Then I added the pasta, gave it a stir and baked it for 40 minutes, covered for the first 25 minutes. Never being able to leave well enought alone, I did a second batch, added another egg and used montery jack and mozzarella cheese. The custard firmed up a bit faster and it was very creamy tasting, was excellent with a sprinkle of parmesian and some pepper. I think next time I'll try some american blended with the mozzarella.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      Miss Annie, what a deliciously simple recipe for Marcaroni and Cheese! It made an excellent crispy top, which is my favorite part, and of course the flavor was superb! Thank you for an excellent new recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2002

      This made the best macaroni & cheese that I have had in a long time.the only thing I would do next time...just a little less macaroni..it was a little dry..but great flavor..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2012

      I've been looking for the custard style Mac n Cheese from my childhood.
      It turned out perfect, and is soooo easy & fast to make.
      It's in the oven right now. This is the second time making it in two weeks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      This was a wonderful dish for our holiday dinner!! I might try and give it a little bit more spice next time but def a keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      This was very good but needed some additions and changes in cooking method. I eliminated the mustard, but added about 1/4 T. Red Hot Sauce & some Pepper. I also heated up the milk and then added the egg and salt to that, and then added Mild Cheddar Cheese and Mozarella cheese, and semi-melted the cheese, and then dumped it over the noodles, then topped it with shredded Cheddar and Mozarella. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      Fabulous recipe! Good rave reviews at a dinner party last night. I added a dash of cayenne as well and sprinkled with paprika.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      This turned out great. Very creamy and had awesome flavor. Next time I may grate some onion in it for a little bite. I doubled the recipe so I would have left overs for work.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      Very flavorful with a subtle mustard tang. We'll definitely enjoy this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      My family really enjoyed this macaroni and cheese recipe. The one thing I did change was to sprinkle buttered bread crumbs on top. Very good. Will definately make again! Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      I made this recipe on 4/30/08 as part of our dinner.And since there were only two of us,only half of the recipe was used. I did however add some ground black pepper. I used the whole egg for the halved recipe and it turned out just fine. This recipe is what you would expect from "mac & cheese ", homey comfort in each bite. This will be made again. Thank you for posting, and "Keep Smiling :)"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      This is the best mac and cheese we've ever eaten! So ends the long hunt for a standard go-to for mac and cheese. I ussed what cheese I had on hand (Colby, Monterey Jack, and Cheddar.) We have allergies in our family so we used brown rice pasta and other than being a tad crunchy on top I have no complaints. I am hoping to stir it mid-way net time to help eliminate the crunchy top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      Definately one of my familys favorite. like my mom used to make, and that is difficult to match.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      This recipe was in competition with my Mother's "Mac & Cheese". I added cooked ham to the cooked pasta & grated onion to the sauce. We enjoyed the addtion of the egg. It made it so much more creamy. The sharp cheddar is a must for our taste. Thank you Miss Annie. I would never have thought that there could have been an improvement made on my Mother's recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2007

      Hubby had 3 helpings, baby forked it in so quick I was sure she hid all of it in her lap when I wasn't looking and I enjoyed it as well. I didn't get as much as I would have liked because I chew my food so I will have to make this again soon. I did use a couple different kinds of cheese but other than that made as written and it was delicious! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      Could be the easiest homemade Macaroni and Cheese recipe. Fantastic, my husband loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2006

      I love this recipe. I made it exactly as written except that I doubled it. I would not change anything. When I reheated it to have some the next day I covered baking dish with foil and poked holes in it...it did not dry out at all. I think it was even better!!! Thank you for a perfectly wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2005

      This was wonderful! I have tried several different macaroni and cheese recipes and I have to say this is one of the best, if not the best. I didn't have enough sharp cheese, so I substituted 4 oz. of Velveeta. Also, the recipe did not say how much salt to use, I used 1/2 teaspoon, and it was perfect. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      Good, not great. I think there are better recipes out there. I was not too crazy about the mustard, a tad too much for my taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      It was good but a little dry for my taste. Next time I will try about half the pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Custard-Style Macaroni and Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (109 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 425.2
     
    Calories from Fat 212
    49%
    Total Fat 23.6 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 14.4 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 101.1 mg
    33%
    Sodium 401.8 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 21.5 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites