20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Exactly what we were looking for. The custard was firm without being dry. Not a bit stringy. To ensure that the cheese and egg would be distributed event I warmed the milk and butter, added the cheese, allowed it to melt, then I used the standard custard method where you add some of the warm liquid to the egg while stirring then add the mixture back into the pot and whisk until it starts to thicken (don't let it boil). Then I added the pasta, gave it a stir and baked it for 40 minutes, covered for the first 25 minutes. Never being able to leave well enought alone, I did a second batch, added another egg and used montery jack and mozzarella cheese. The custard firmed up a bit faster and it was very creamy tasting, was excellent with a sprinkle of parmesian and some pepper. I think next time I'll try some american blended with the mozzarella.

31 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steve_G April 30, 2002

Miss Annie, what a deliciously simple recipe for Marcaroni and Cheese! It made an excellent crispy top, which is my favorite part, and of course the flavor was superb! Thank you for an excellent new recipe!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev September 09, 2002

This made the best macaroni & cheese that I have had in a long time.the only thing I would do next time...just a little less macaroni..it was a little dry..but great flavor..

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dolores in paradise August 13, 2002

I've been looking for the custard style Mac n Cheese from my childhood.
It turned out perfect, and is soooo easy & fast to make.
It's in the oven right now. This is the second time making it in two weeks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CCGO February 22, 2012

This was a wonderful dish for our holiday dinner!! I might try and give it a little bit more spice next time but def a keeper!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hot Pepper Freak December 26, 2010

This was very good but needed some additions and changes in cooking method. I eliminated the mustard, but added about 1/4 T. Red Hot Sauce & some Pepper. I also heated up the milk and then added the egg and salt to that, and then added Mild Cheddar Cheese and Mozarella cheese, and semi-melted the cheese, and then dumped it over the noodles, then topped it with shredded Cheddar and Mozarella. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JJTYELLA September 19, 2009

Fabulous recipe! Good rave reviews at a dinner party last night. I added a dash of cayenne as well and sprinkled with paprika.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheflicht December 06, 2008

This turned out great. Very creamy and had awesome flavor. Next time I may grate some onion in it for a little bite. I doubled the recipe so I would have left overs for work.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bekah49036 November 06, 2008

Very flavorful with a subtle mustard tang. We'll definitely enjoy this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hepcat1 September 27, 2008

My family really enjoyed this macaroni and cheese recipe. The one thing I did change was to sprinkle buttered bread crumbs on top. Very good. Will definately make again! Thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sky Valley Cook September 20, 2008
Custard-Style Macaroni and Cheese