13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've been looking for this recipe for years! I used to make it in Australia but since I've been here I've had no luck. The only suggestions I would make is to add more nutmeg, use a deep dish pie shell and if you put the pie shell on a cookie sheet and put it into the heated oven FIRST, then pour the mixture in you will have less spills. I almost set my smoke alarm off!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wytoto November 17, 2002

One of the best custard pies I have ever had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kymtattrie May 18, 2010

This pie was delicious!!! It has a nice brown top. I wasn't able to fit all the batter into the pie crust as it was overfilling, but it still turned out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephanielwerner September 15, 2008

This pie is delicious! The first time I made it, I overfilled it and it spilled all over the oven despite the cookie sheet under it (my cookie sheets have a bad habit of "snapping" out of shape after being heated for a little, and this made the pie lurch to the edge and spill down under the bottom burners!). I pulled out the still half-filled pie, cooled and cleaned the oven (several hours) and then finished baking the pie. It was still so good! So anyway, this time I made only half the filling and was prepared for the lurching of the cookie sheet with extra foil. The pie just came out of the oven - a little lopsided, but once again, that's my cookie sheets. My husband and I both give this pie 5 stars - we can't wait to eat the rest tomorrow! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princessbride029 March 05, 2008

I put the extra nutmeg and cinnamon and what great pie this was IS! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Moto Mom July 30, 2007

Very good custard pie. I doubled the spices. It also is very easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NanaD April 24, 2007

I made this pie for Christmas and it was a big hit. Fabulous.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
legaljoyce December 26, 2006

very good and very easy to make, thank you Grandmaof1.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
supernova November 28, 2006

Not being the biggest fan of custard, I relented and made this pie at the request of my 7 yr old daughter and not only did she and the other family members love it, so did I. Thank you for sharing this wonderfully easy and great tasting recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tanika Amaranth November 12, 2006

Perfect, classic recipe! I made one by the recipe, and for the second, I increased the cinnamon and nutmeg to 1/2 t. each, and substituted 1 c. of eggnog for 1 c. of the milk, reducing the sugar to 1/3 c. Both pies were excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maisypjh December 29, 2005
Custard Pie