Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Custard (Natilla) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Custard (Natilla)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 09, 2004

      I have been looking for this recipe for a long time. This is the exact recipe my mother used to make. My family is from Cuba and this was made as a special treat when I was a kid. This recipe brought back so many memories. I had asked relatives before for this recipe and no one could remeber it. Thank you soo much for bringing back one of my favorite childhood desserts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2013

      I have this going on the stove now, and it just won't thicken.. Tried asking more cornstarch.. Nothing. Tastes great, but won't thicken! Ugh!!! I wish I would've had my grandmother write this down for me

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      First time making natilla, as a kid my mother would make this for us as a special treat. Loved it! It was easy to figure out the recipe, custard thickened in about 20 minutes on constant stirring. I feel the recipe could have used a 1/4 cup more sugar, which I will add next time to recipe. I also used 5 tsp of cornstarch and is thick enough, currently in the fridge setting. I like this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      Directions are a bit confusing. They mention mixing egg and yolk together in cold milk, but the recipe doesn't mention "egg" in the ingredients list. I assumed the author meant to say mix SUGAR, yolks, and cold milk together. I also increased cornstarch to 5 tsps. Tasted great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2005

      Thought I was going to die standing over the stove! I must have stirred for 45 minutes! This tasted perfect though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2005

      I loved the flavor, it was my 2nd custard try for the day. #1 didn't turn out good at all. This didn't get as hard as I wanted it to but that could have been me. I would have rated it higher but I couldn't use it for cream puffs it just ran out all over. But it really really tasted good. Aggie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2005

      Nice, thick custard. A little too much cinnamon for my taste, but still really good. The only question I had was when to put the sugar in, I added it with the eggs, etc and it turned out fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      Sooooo good! Thank you for posting! This is a recipe that I too have been searching for. After I made the pudding I also used this recipe, substituting the cinnamon with coconut and made a coconut cream pie like my Grandmother used to make.OMG! both are to die for. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Custard (Natilla)

    Serving Size: 1 (242 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 277.9
     
    Calories from Fat 96
    34%
    Total Fat 10.7 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 191.6 mg
    63%
    Sodium 98.1 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 25.1 g
    100%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites