Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Custard Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Custard

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on December 15, 2010

      So simple and so delicious - My Mom was from Burnley, and we had custard topping for a lot of our desserts, I had lost her recipe for a lot of years, and this is the same thing!! Thank you for posting - It is delicious with Apple Crumble -

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      I made some changes as following: more cornstarch (1 tbsp, 2 if use for cream puff filling), more sugar (3-4 tbsp), whipping cream instead of milk (make it creamier, will try milk next time), 1 tsp of vanilla and 1tbsp rum (can use less).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      We had some leftover Blueberry boy bait (7118) and my British husband complains about lack of proper custard here. Plus we have hens, so I am always looking for ways to use up eggs. This was a great way to do it. Next time I might add 1/8-1/4 tsp lemon extract just to give it a bit more umph. Hubby said it was just like the real stuff :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2011

      This was delish! I agree with using the heavy pot as mine wasn't really and I had to stir like crazy to try and stop the liquid getting thick only on the bottom of the pot which clumped. I managed ok though and had it with ice cream and fruit. MMmmm. I used low fat milk and a few drops of sugar substitute. A great low sugar/fat option for getting my calcium :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      perfect, thank you. I used 2tbsp of Amaretto instead of the vanilla...1/4tsp almond flavour would work as well.

      Tip for getting it smooth without straining....ensure the cornstarch is fully dissolved, stir constantly with a spatula. i used a wire wisk to beat the eggs and while adding the milk to the eggs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      Good flavor, but runnier than I expected.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      Absolutely EXCELLENT custard recipe and very easy. I always hesitated to make home-made custard because I thought it was hard! I am always left with egg yolks (because I usually cook very light for myself) and this is a great way to us up those left-over egg yolks and my Australian husband thinks it's heaven. Note: I use skim (99% fat free) milk. Otherwise, I follow ingredients exactly. I've even become proficient enough that I'm achieving a smooth consistency of powdered custard!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      Sooo much better than Bird's!!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      Yummy stuff. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      Wonderful custard. When reheating be careful not to overheat. Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

    • on February 14, 2009

      When removing it from the saucepan, strain it to get that silky smooth texture :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      Looking for a recipe that didn't call for 8 eggs! this one was perfect! Not too sweet which is great for fruit pies! I added 1 more teaspoon of cornstarch to get a thick pudding but still of a pouring conisistancy! Will use again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      I whipped this up to go along with a pudding. The custard came out perfectly and was absolutely delicious. Thanks so much! I will use this recipe whenever I want some homemade custard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      It was very good, never made custard before :) However, I found myself having to double the cornstarch to get almost the right consistency (still a little too runny for me), and had to double the sugar as I used this on a trifle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      I made this last night to go with our bread and butter pudding. Wonderful combination. Easy to prepare and ingredients I always have on hand. Thank you for the finishing touch for our pudding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      Thanks for the tip for a smooth custard. I hope it helps as mine always turns out lumpy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      Very good! Not too sweet... lots of stirring though and I also only came out with about a cup of custard in the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      Never thought I could make better than bought custard until I made this! Fantastic! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      This is custard EXACTLY as it should be and is JUST what I was looking for to go with my bread and butter pudding the other night. Thanks truebrit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Custard

    Serving Size: 1 (108 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 114.2
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    50%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 137.3 mg
    45%
    Sodium 50.5 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites