14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really enjoyed this spicy chili. It was one of the best tasting chili's I've had in a long time. I didn't have green bell peppers, so I just added some celery instead, but next time I'll be sure to make this chili with some bell peppers. I think this chili would also be good as a topping for hot dogs (a.k.a.chili dogs.) Teresa, I wish I could give this recipe more than 5 stars, as that's how good it is, plus it's one mighty tasty chili. Awesome chili, thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1DomesticGoddess February 08, 2015

This is a great chili recipe, even DH gave this 5 stars!!! I made this as written except I used one can of light red kidney beans and one of northern beans(what I had on hand), and I cut back on the amount of green pepper, as DH isn't a huge fan of it, but didn't seem to mind the amount I put in this chili. I also really liked using crushed tomatoes, no chunks!! Thanks for sharing the recipe Teresa!! Made for "For Your Consideration" tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 December 17, 2014

Awesome tasting chili and easy to put together. I used red bell pepper instead of green and mixed beans instead of kidney beans with great results. It was even better the next day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pink_Diamond October 29, 2014

I followed the recipe with the exception of adding some chopped up chuck steak. By doubling the meat the ratio of beans and meat was perfect for us....but we are carnivores and love our chili meat-heavy. The flavors of the spices were wonderful....first time I've added allspice. It left a very nice but subtle flavor. Thanks for sharing. Made for "For Your Consideration" tag game, Summer 2014.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom September 01, 2014

A big Texas thumbs-up for this delicious chili and believe me -- we Texans know our chili. I've never thought of adding allspice to chili, but it does add a unique, but subtle taste. It's a nice crisp day today and this chili really hit the spot. Made for PRMR, January, 2014.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry January 16, 2014

This is really great! Do not make my mistake and use ancho chile powder and chipotle chile powder -- way too hot. I couldn't find my staple chile powder at the time I tried this. Otherwise, made as directed and served with the awesome Gramma Larry's Sweet Cornbread. Thanks, TeresaS! Made for PRMR tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees January 29, 2013

I loved everything about this recipe except DH thought it had to many kidney beans in comparison with the meat. The seasoning was just perfect. I would have never thought about the allspice or the coriander in chili but it worked well. The heat factor was perfect for us. Thanks so much for sharing. Made for PAC Fall 2012

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ October 19, 2012

This is lovely chilli, with good flavour and plenty of heat ( I use VERY hot chilli powder! A nice simple recipe,suitable for all levels of cooks...a real no failer!! Thanks Teresa!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo April 16, 2010

Tripled this recipe and brought to a dinner for 25 college students served with corn bread - there wasn't a spec of chili leftover and all the kids kept thanking us for bringing the great chili. Probably should have quintupled it for that amount of people... Lots of meat and beans in every bite. If I had been making it for my own family, adding cayenne would have been a requirement.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI November 17, 2009

This is very good, with medium spiciness, enough for each bowl to help clear our my sinus passages, although not as spicy as our 1-alarm chili based on Wick Fowler's 2-alarm chili. I had 3 bowls, so there is no complaint here! Thanks for posting, Teresa! Made for Potluck Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL December 26, 2008
Cu's Chili