Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cu's Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cu's Chili

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on September 01, 2014

      I followed the recipe with the exception of adding some chopped up chuck steak. By doubling the meat the ratio of beans and meat was perfect for us....but we are carnivores and love our chili meat-heavy. The flavors of the spices were wonderful....first time I've added allspice. It left a very nice but subtle flavor. Thanks for sharing. Made for "For Your Consideration" tag game, Summer 2014.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2014

      A big Texas thumbs-up for this delicious chili and believe me -- we Texans know our chili. I've never thought of adding allspice to chili, but it does add a unique, but subtle taste. It's a nice crisp day today and this chili really hit the spot. Made for PRMR, January, 2014.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      This is really great! Do not make my mistake and use ancho chile powder and chipotle chile powder -- way too hot. I couldn't find my staple chile powder at the time I tried this. Otherwise, made as directed and served with the awesome Gramma Larry's Sweet Cornbread. Thanks, TeresaS! Made for PRMR tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2012

      I loved everything about this recipe except DH thought it had to many kidney beans in comparison with the meat. The seasoning was just perfect. I would have never thought about the allspice or the coriander in chili but it worked well. The heat factor was perfect for us. Thanks so much for sharing. Made for PAC Fall 2012

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      This is lovely chilli, with good flavour and plenty of heat ( I use VERY hot chilli powder! A nice simple recipe,suitable for all levels of cooks...a real no failer!! Thanks Teresa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      Tripled this recipe and brought to a dinner for 25 college students served with corn bread - there wasn't a spec of chili leftover and all the kids kept thanking us for bringing the great chili. Probably should have quintupled it for that amount of people... Lots of meat and beans in every bite. If I had been making it for my own family, adding cayenne would have been a requirement.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      This is very good, with medium spiciness, enough for each bowl to help clear our my sinus passages, although not as spicy as our 1-alarm chili based on Wick Fowler's 2-alarm chili. I had 3 bowls, so there is no complaint here! Thanks for posting, Teresa! Made for Potluck Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      delicious chili, I also added in 2 jalapeno peppers and some chili flakes (we like things really hot) making this 1 day ahead will only add to the flavor so that is what I did, I made this for my DS and it was thoroughly enjoyed, thanks for sharing Teresa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      This is really good chili Theresa. We enjoyed this tasty chili for dinner tonight. The large amount of chili powder gave the chili a very nice flavour. It was very flavourful, had nice textures and was quick and easy to make. I used white kidney beans and cayenne pepper and chili flakes to add heat. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      Yum! This is good! I was a little bit leary of adding 8 tablespoons of chili powder, lol, but ended up adding some Tabasco and cayenne too. Thanks Teresa for sharing. Made for 1-2-3 Wonders tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      This is my standard recipe, my mother gave it to me 15 years ago. I've also left out the ground beef and added a can of drained black beans or macaroni to make it meatless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Onions Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cu's Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (436 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 427.6
     
    Calories from Fat 122
    28%
    Total Fat 13.5 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 73.7 mg
    24%
    Sodium 652.8 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.5 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 14.5 g
    58%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 36.2 g
    72%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites