10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

An easy enough dish with plenty of flavor (I added more cumin, some cumin and crushed red pepper because of other reviews - great idea). Great curry dish. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookalicious November 15, 2009

My DH and I love this recipe! I add more garlic and cumin and and use a spicy curry powder to heat it up a bit. Very satisfying and nutritious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beccsterjoy June 28, 2009

I was a little hesitant about the spice combination, but I really liked this. I did add some cayenne and crushed red pepper to give it some heat because I used a mild curry powder. Great easy, tasty, healthy crockpot recipe! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gabri January 24, 2009

This was just so-so. Seemed like it was missing something. Also lentils and chicken have different cooking times, so the chicken was dried out before the lentils were done cooking. If I was going to make this again I would let the whole thing cook for a couple of hours before I added the chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SugarJen November 04, 2007

This was a fabulous recipe. It was so easy to make. Just through it all in the crock and "set it and forget it". I did add a little more curry and cumin than it calls for...because we really like those flavors. After cooking all day long we enjoyed this over some Basmatti rice...sprinkled a little salt and pepper...DELICIOUS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lyteyz October 03, 2007

I really enjoyed the blend of spices. I made as per the recipe with no subs. I cooked in the crockpot on low for 8 hours - the chicken was just a little dry so next time may try for 6. But otherwise a winner. will make again for company Thanks anita

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catherine Robson January 22, 2007

This dish was good. I am veg, so I omitted the chicken parts. I didnt have nutmeg and I forgot to add salt, and I still ate until I was full. I will make this again and probably make it even better. I may also try it with other beans or dals. Crockpots are the best, more indian crockpot recipes please. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef om.courage March 22, 2006

This reminded me of a crockpot version of chicken vindaloo but with the addition of lentils. I was not wanting a soupy texture and used 2 1/2 cups of water instead of 3 but otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. There was really not enough "spice" to the dish and the finished product had a bitter quality to it. I ended up adding a little more vinegar and a little brown sugar with some more spices to make this more to my families liking. The lentils were tender and tasty, but the chicken was a bit dry which may have been my fault as I let it cook on low for 6 hours. With a little bit more tweaking I may make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shimmerchk April 27, 2005

pretty good, normally I don't like lentils but this was actually palatable. My mother and father who both like to eat lentils (normally plain) absolutely adored this. My suggestion is if you don't like lentils, you will be able to eat this and still enjoy it but if you like lentils, then you are going to love this dish. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hippeastrum March 21, 2005

this is a very tasty dish, great flavor from the spices and very easy to put together. i left the chicken in large strips, due to picky eaters, and used basil instead of cilantro, personal taste. i will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia December 01, 2004
Curry Lentils With Chicken