11 Reviews

What a great tasting ready to cook rice dish!! Sooo much better than anything I could buy in the store. This is a Keeper!!! Thanks for posting.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aroostook February 17, 2003

Made this mix up several weeks ago and finally made up a batch for dinner tonight. It's easy and very tasty. A little on the spicy side (probably depends on what kind of curry powder you use). We liked it a lot. I love the idea of a homemade flavored rice mix. Way better than rice-a-roni because it's preservative free and no fat (for Rice-a-roni you add butter). Can't wait to try the other two flavors. Thanks!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SaraFish June 21, 2002

This was lovely. I made it with fresh onion, garlic etc as I didn't have instant minced garlic on hand.Making more today and freezing it in serving sizes. This is going to mix in well with my weightwatchers programme. Thank you so much for posting your mixes. will try them all.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vaavale1 March 12, 2012

I liked this a lot! I'm not used to curry so I had to try it a few times before I could really tell if I have a taste for it. I love the spice and the flavors and how very easy it is to make (I put it in three seperate ziploc bags, wrote the directions on the bag, and when I made it just dumped it in my rice cooker!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annie H September 22, 2003

Flavorsome and bright yellow colored and goes just about with anything. Good to have around!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare May 07, 2013

I made this in my rice cooker and came out great. I used madras curry powder, as that is my favourite, so it was hot and spicy. I didn't add any salt because the chicken bouillon I used is pretty salty. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT 8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Girl August 30, 2012

I hate buying rice in a box! This was a great alternative, I only made half the recipe the first time and made one batch of rice to test it before I committed. It was great! I added some fresh garlic too, but we love garlic!
Thank you so much!!
ADD NOTE: I also use this spice mix in cous cous, works great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittykat #2 June 29, 2011

Fantastic!!!!! Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gizori March 27, 2009

I'm giving this 5 stars mainly because I really didn't think the amount of water to rice would turn out as well as it did. I'm use to 2 parts water, 1 part rice. The testure ended up being normal. I also left out the salt (personal preference) and it turned out somewhat bland. I sprinkled salt on my dish and it was much better. I thought adding sugar to rice was weird but I was a trooper and added it. I actually think next time I'll double the sugar (this coming from someone who doesn't have a sweet tooth in her mouth). With that said I think there's something missing. Maybe there's not enough garlic or maybe I need to add some cumin. Overall it's a pretty good recipe. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dione in RI May 01, 2008

I was unsure how to rate this. I usually have pretty good success with rice but following your directions exactly, mine turned out severely mushy. So I figured given the previous ratings somehow, somewhere, I may have done something wrong. Otherwise, the flavor was good and the idea of having pre-seasoned rice on hand is great! I'll definitely try again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Axe February 08, 2008
Curry Flavored Rice Mix