Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Curry Chicken with Coconut and Peanuts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Curry Chicken with Coconut and Peanuts

    Average Rating:

    97 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 97

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2002

      This is quite a delightful dish, with lots of sauce. I went half on the chicken on mine and substituted some vegetables in its place and that was nice. The beef bouillion was interesting, I hadn't seen that before, but you know, it worked! The wine was not overpowering in its amount since it reduced. The curry powder I think you could be variable on in amount; I think 3 tbsp. is probably moderate, but one could go heavier easier, or lighter if they wished. I used a mild Madras type but my husband complained that I didn't used a hotter curry powder but he likes it hot. The peanut butter is not overpowering, and if you like a heavier taste of peanut butter, as in Indonesian dishes, you might like to increase that, but even so, it was fine as it was. The thickener was dead on. The coconut milk lends a richness to the dish, of course; be sure not to use the sweetened type. I am interested to try this with shrimp sometime; also with other vegetables, as they go nicely. Great dish, great eats, nothing left but the smell in the kitchen. Thanks, Canarygirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2002

      My boyfriend made this for me to show me how easy a good curry can be to make and was he ever right! This came together so easily and we both loved the taste. Despite the amount of liquid, it all boiled down to a thick and spicy sauce. We added a few slices of red pepper, some mushrooms and a fresh hot chilli to bulk it out a bit. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2002

      Super delicious. My company loved the dish. I found that it was thick enough without having to use the cornstarch mixture. Also, I sprinkled some shredded coconut on top when serving. Not at all difficult to make. Highly recommended; I'll certainly do it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2003

      An excellent dish, extremely delicious yet so easy to make. The peanut butter and coconut milk really did the trick. The sauce was perfect without the need to be thicken with the cornstarch. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2003

      Delicious! Very easy to make. I added 1 cubed medium potato, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, and served with white rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2003

      Oh man! This was JUST like my favorite curry at my favorite Indian restaurant. I'm a curry NUT and this one did the trick. My husband loved it just as much, and we followed the recipe to a T - there are really no changes necessary. The flavors blend so beautifully together, and you have LOTS of delicious, slightly thickened sauce to smear all over rice. :) It's a beautiful thing. Thanks Canarygirl!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2004

      I made this recipe as stated and it received rave reviews! I wasn't sure what "a glass" of white wine would measure so I used one of the small bottles (6oz) and it was perfect. We decided next time to try adding 1/2 t. of allspice, 1/2 t. mace and cayenne pepper to taste just to give it a little more "punch". I served it with the Coconut Basmati Rice #54607 and what a GREAT combination. This has been entered into our "Family Favorties" Book! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2010

      We loved it, and my 2 year old also gobbled it down and asked for seconds and thirds. I didn't have white wine so substituted chicken broth; and it seemed quite soupy so only added one cup of water instead of two. I also added red pepper and mushrooms. I made this with the coconut basmati rice also and it was fantastic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      fantastic! we totally loved this!! although, i did make a few changes: i only used 1 lbs of chicken, i added red bell pepper strips and minced serrano peppers, i used more curry powder and red curry paste, and i omitted the water and just used the white wine and coconut milk. i finished the dish off with sliced green onions and chopped peanuts. it was a perfect dish!! my husband couldn't stop raving about it while wolfing it down! thanks for the keeper canarygirl!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      We cook alot of curries, and I'm so thankful that you prodded your boss. Sooooo delicious, I was licking my plate! We did modify your recipe a bit, and like previous reviews I would definitely reduce the amount of water. We were very fortunate to have on hand some curry powder that my brother-in-law recently brought back on his business trip to India. I think the success of the recipe relies on it & the coconut milk. Next time, we're going to try cubed chicken thighs. Thank you for posting this recipe, it's a definite winner & now apart of my "favs" cookbook!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      This was very tasty. Thankyou for sharing! I added baby potatoes that I boiled until soft and red peppers. I eliminated the water and cornstarch as per prior reviews.It was a nice tasty dish...I also added so red chili paste to make it a wee bit more spicy!!! Yum....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2007

      This is really really good. Actually , I ended up throwing it into the crockpot and cooking it that way. Turned out great. Also, I cut the recipe back because it was just me and my husband. I did not use the water and cornstarch and it was a perfect consistency. The recipe is very adaptable and forgiving. I used the leftover coconut milk to make rice with. We will make this again. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2004

      I loved this,easy and good. Was afraid my husband who doesn't like curry was going to complain, so I used 1T curry powder and 1T garam masala. Next time I will use curry powder as called for.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2004

      This recipe was so wonderfull.I came by it just for the fact that I had a can of coconut milk in my house and was looking for a way to use it.Absolutley fantastic.Even my 2 year old liked it.I will defanitley make this again,and am sending the recipe to my friends who are big curry fan's!!!Will defanitley make this again,and again,and again.....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2003

      This is the most amazing curry I've ever had, it's not the favorite recepie in the house and we can eat it twice a week and not get bored! Is erve this with Coconut Basmati Rice #54607 and the combo is absolutely amazing. This recepie outranks many curries I've had in authentic asian resturants. Thanks you so much for sharing this one, it's a real gem!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2003

      Thank you for being so persistent in getting your boss to give you the recipe. Absolutely fantastic! Will make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2003

      This curry is awesome! It tastes just like something I would find in an Indian restuarant - except better because it's homemade! The only drawback is it takes some time to make, but it is well worth it. Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2013

      This is a great curry recipe. A little spicy so next time I'll cut back the amount of curry to 2 Tablespoons I also increased the amount of peanut butter. To serve over rice and I let every one add their own condiments such as risen, nuts, mango (or other fruit), apple, coconut. It was a great hit at my dinner party.<br/>I love this wed site because it will change the number of servings by request.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2013

      I made this for my family and they loved it. I was so happy cuz I love curry but wasnt' sure how they would react. When everyone sat at the table they weren't so sure. It isn't the most appetizing dish to look at but once you taste it, that all goes away! Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      This was yummy. The peanut sauce was stronger than the coconut, so next time I may cut back on it slightly. I used part curry powder and part red curry paste and the heat was terrific.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Curry Chicken with Coconut and Peanuts

    Serving Size: 1 (331 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 370.4
     
    Calories from Fat 180
    48%
    Total Fat 20.0 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 8.8 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 97.0 mg
    32%
    Sodium 223.7 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 35.7 g
    71%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beef double bouillon cubes

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites