Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Curried String / Green Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Curried String / Green Beans

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 16, 2008

      I added potatoes and of course a little more water and salt for them. I found this recipe more delicious with the potatoes than without.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      Great dish. Added 2 teaspoons cayenne for added spice. Everyone loved it. I used small string beans and the cooking time was about 20 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2005

      I added extra tomato paste, a couple of extra garlic cloves (crushed), a little extra curry, and I left out the oil. I did have to cook the water down to get a good sauce. Oh, yum yum. I'm addicted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2005

      This was a deliciously different way to prepare green beans. I served the with Chicken Tikka and basmati rice and they complemented the meal well. Next time I think I will use hot madras curry powder or add some cayenne to the mixture for a little kick. Thank you Cardamom for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2005

      Turned out superb with Madras curry powder!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2004

      These are great string beans. I have made these often - most recently for my DH's family - and my picky sister-in-law just called me for the recipe! I usually add a pinch more sugar than called for, personal preference. Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2004

      We really enjoyed these beans. It sounds a little unusual, but the balance of flavors is very nice. I used Madras curry powder which gave it nice depth and a little spice and the beans were very tender with a mellow curry flavor and slight tang from the tomato. We will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2004

      We truly enjoyed these beans. They were delicious and different. I only ad 1 Tablespoon of tomato paste left so I added 1 chipolte pepper & a little sauce! WOW! We love hot stuff but they are not for the faint of heart. DH says this one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2003

      I make string beans a lot! They are an easy side dish, and almost every one likes them. So I started making Joni's string beans thinking this would just be another variation. Wrong! This recipe is a completely different world from your run-of-the-mill string bean recipes! Between the tomato paste, curry powder and sugar (I used brown sugar), this is a wonderful taste sensation. I strongly recommend that if you tired of your usually string bean recipe, whether it's smothered in condensed mushroom soup or perfumed with lots of garlic and almonds, this recipe is definitely worth a try. We also had couscous as a side dish and it mopped up the sauce wonderfully! Joni, kol hakavod!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Curried String / Green Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (224 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 136.3
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    47%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 75.2 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes