10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really loved the pineapple salsa, but I was not a fan of the shrimp. Instead of sprinkling the curry powder on the shrimp themselves, I felt like it would've been better to cook the curry powder in some butter first and then throw the shrimp in & cook them. The curry powder tastes completely different when sprinkled on food like this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer November 04, 2012

Since I found this recipe three weeks ago, we have had it three times for dinner! Wonderful, fresh flavors. I am going to try with scallops next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kyc2001 August 19, 2012

what a wonderful recipe! Love it! Have made it several times allready.A great summer dish. My son gave me the recipe several years ago and I just forgot to review it,but it gets 5 stars! I like to serve it over a green salad with sliced avocado,watercress ect. And ofcourse nice crusty french bread and a glass of chilled white wine....Thanks for sharing this wonderfull recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Els April 25, 2010

so good!!! my daughter and I had these for dinner tonight with couscous and we both loved them so much we'll be doing this again next week!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Westcoastgal July 13, 2009

So great and simple! I used some home-made curry powder and instead of tossing the shrimp in the salsa placed the salsa in the middle of a plate over a bed of plain rice with the shrimp around the outside. My curry mix was quite a hot one so this went along really well with a nice chilled glass of crisp chardonnay.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J June 11, 2007

A very nice flavor combination of the spicy and sweet. I used fresh pineapple & parsley in place of the cilantro and served over rice. Very easy & quick to make, I'll definitely try it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deepfreeze March 07, 2006

Delish! This has to be one of the quickest ways ever to make a curry, but the flavor doesn't suffer at all. I, too, prepared this with a small tin of pineapple in place of the fresh. Loved the contrast of the heat/curry (oh, and I DID leave the pepper seeds in!) with the sweet/pineapple. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlemishMinx July 03, 2005

Thoroughly enjoyed this, I used an Indian Curry Powder but also marinated the shrimp for about 15 mins with some lime juiice. Had a small tin of pineapple pieces so used that in the salsa, it worked perfectly. Great balance great meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Latchy May 26, 2005

Sorry I was late getting this made. Things just got in the way. It is quick, has a wonderful flavor and so easy to make. I used the food processor to make the salsa. Just put everything in a pulsed until it was the right consistency. Cooked the shrimp in the wok, mixed in salsa and dinner was served. Served this with Sherried Greens with Fruit and Blue Cheese Sherried Greens With Fruit and Blue Cheese. The fruit in the salad and the heat of the salsa complimented each other well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG May 18, 2005

I would normally use a lot more ingredients in both salsa and shrimp curry. Now I'm wondering why. This was great and doesn't need anything additional. Delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea March 29, 2005
Curried Shrimp With Pineapple Salsa