Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Curried Red Lentils Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Curried Red Lentils

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-36 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on November 18, 2008

      This meal came together incredibly fast, especially for having started it while my belly was growling. I started a pot of rice before the lentils and the timing was right on. The ingredients listed are ones i most always have on hand and can therefore be made on a whim in less than an hour. I only wish i would have made more. This is a great recipe to stock your pantry for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      Loved it! So filling and comforting and with a perfect level of spiciness for me. It was fantastic with pitas. My only sub was ghee instead of veggie oil, because I happened to have it in the house, I used patak's hot (madras) curry paste which was perfect. For those who haven't used curry paste - it's not the same thing as curry powder and it is worth seeking out in your grocery store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      Really tasty way to fix lentils. Next time I will reduce or omit the sugar. Loved the spices in this dish. Didn't have curry paste (subbed curry powder) and used ginger paste for fresh ginger (what I had on hand). I'm only sorry that I halved the recipe, now I have to make more! Very simple and easy to prepare too. Thank you for sharing caeth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      The next time I make this I will triple the recipe! My son-in-law from Pune India loved it. I have been looking for special recipes that remind him of home. Thank you Caetb, I will look for more recipes from you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      This was nice, i didn't have curry paste so used about 1 tsp curry powder and omitted the chilli pwdr for the benefit of the kids, all bar one liked it, dd3. Served with fresh crusty bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      WOW I've never had lentils before and i couldn't believe the taste. I found the finished result a bit dry so next time im going to try adding passata instead of the tomato puree. Thanks for helping me to find out what lentils taste like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      I love this easy dish! I'm always on the lookout for new recipes for red lentils. Not only are they delicious and easy to cook, they're so healthy! (They make a complete protein when eaten with rice.) Most people reviewing this recipe mentioned that their lentils fell apart - it's not your cooking time, it's completely normal for red lentils! Yellow green and brown lentils hold her shape, but red don't - which makes them good for soup, stews and dahl. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      ok

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      What a easy and delicious vegetarian dish! I doubled the recipe and served it with long grain rice. My lentils cooked FAST and came out a bit soft, almost silk like. I believe the flavors came through more as it cooled. I will certainly make this again as I have a great source of red lentils. Thanks for submitting this recipe it was just what I was looking for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      This was very yummy even though my lentils were somewhat mushy. Perhaps you could mention the name of the lentils (ie: toor dahl etc..)? Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      I just made this after searching for something to do with a bag of lentils. What a great recipe. It took hardly any time to make and tasted awesome. I like my curry hot, so I used Vindaloo paste. The only change i made was to leave out the ginger because I didn't have any and substitute a punnet of chopped, fresh cherry tomatoes for the tomato puree, again because i didn't have any. It still tasted terrific. Oh, I also added 2 cloves of fresh crushed garlic. My lentils ended up mushy too, but that's how I like them! This was a cheap, delicious, easy meal and i'll be making it regularly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2006

      This was fabulous, just like what we ate in India! Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2005

      Yum, very tasty! My lentils turned into mush too (it certainly does not matter taste-wise though!), and I think it's simply because my lentil package says they cook in 10 minutes - cooking them for 30 minutes would thus mushify them! ;-) Perhaps it's a brand thing?? Used tomato passata as that's what I had. Really liked the combination of spices, might even add a bit more next time. Thanks for a lovely recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2005

      Yummy recipe, easy to prepare; almost a smoky flavor, rich and subtle. I substituted 8 ounces of canned diced tomatoes for the puree and served this with a little plain yoghurt swirled into it, a handful of cilantro leaves, and sliced cucumbers on the side. We also "Indianized" it by sprinkling some garam masala over the top. Unfortunately I didn't have any pita or naan on hand--for next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2004

      This was flavored beautifully, but I did have the problem that the lentils were practically mush by the time the cooking was over - and I even took them off the stove sooner than the recipe said. No matter, the taste was sublime and it made a really hearty lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2003

      This was a delicious dinner. I actually served it over brown rice and the two tasted really good together. However, my lentils got so soft that it turned into a sort of puree by the time I mixed everything together. Any tips on how to help the lentils keep their shape?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Curried Red Lentils

    Serving Size: 1 (150 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 228.8
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    12%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 318.5 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 7.6 g
    30%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 13.6 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes