38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was delicious. I did have trouble locating the red lentils, but a friend found them at a specialty market and gave them to me. I doubled the recipe by accident [those little lentils are so tiny, it's deceptive]and had more than enough!!!! My husband and daughter didn't care for it,[they don't like to stray from what they are used to] but I loved it, as did all of my co-workers. It was lunch for my entire unit as well as most of the office. We ate it, as suggested,with pita bread.Absolutely fabulous!!! And now I'm on the prowl for more red lentils... Thanks for the great recipe!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leah K. October 27, 2002

Delicious! I made the curry paste myself (Madras Curry Madras Curry Paste) and adjusted the spices according to my liking. Also I added the turmeric while boiling the lentils (together with a pinch of salt) and not afterwards. Lastly, I did not use the whole can of tomato puree (left about 1/3) as I did not want it too tomatoey. Oh and squeezed a bit of fresh lemon juice right before serving. You can really play with the ingredients and you will still end up with a great dish, that's for sure. Thanks for the recipe!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dinu February 17, 2010

Such an easy recipe- quick, cheap and delicious. I always have red lentils and rice in the house, so it's always what we eat right before we go grocery shopping again :). I rarely have curry paste so I improvise by combining all these spices (plus cinnamon, if you're into that) in my mortar, add a drop or two of oil, and grind them into a paste. Just as tasty.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Spooner January 09, 2010

These were so-o-o good! My daughter and I had two servings..and there's more left that'll undoubtedly be finished off tomorrow. I didn't have curry paste but substituted a KORMA brand curry and used only 1 TBSP along with the other spices. Used tomato sauce, too, instead of puree. Will DEFINITELY be having these lentils again! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Freda2 Brown March 11, 2014

I made this tonight with the following changes: 1. Added some curry powder in addition to the red curry paste. 2. Added a can of red kidney beans. 3. Added about 1/3 can of coconut milk. I served with basmati rice and pita bread and it was fantastic! Will make this many times.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynnschmauder March 13, 2010

4 stars...Will you accept a peace offering?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng January 15, 2015

OMG! This is so good! And yes...even better the next day. I added more curry, 1 tbs more sugar, and 1 tsp more salt. Next time, I'll add more onion. Hard to believe this is so good for you because it tastes so good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yvonne W. December 21, 2014

Grandissimo! Great! Fantastik! Himmlisch gut!<br/><br/>This is a very delicious dish! <br/>My Family is adicted to this Dal, also my daughter loved it!<br/>Today she had the leftover Dal for breakfast! :)<br/>Really amazing!<br/>I added a tin of chick peas and liked this combination !<br/>We will have this dish again and again!<br/>Thanx so much for sharing this yummyyy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina Martina W. April 23, 2014

So delicious! I made this on a night when I had little more than 30 minutes to make a hearty meal for my children. I was so excited to have found it and begin it that I didn't realize I didn't have curry powder or paste in the house. I just supplemented with some nutmeg and a little extra of the other spices, and it came out absolutely great. So, as my son nicknamed it, "curry-less curry," it still came out super tasty, healthy, and fast. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VeneziaAmore October 17, 2012

I've never eaten red lentils before, and was craving curry. I only had a few changes. I pureed my onions with a bit of olive oil before caramelizing them since I don't like chunks of onions in my curry. I couldn't find any tumeric in two different grocery stores, so I just sprinkled a bit of curry powder mix that had tumeric in it. The rest I followed to a T. The taste was really good but I found the curry a bit dry. I might add crushed tomatoes instead of the pureed, or add some coconut milk. I served it with some basmati rice, naan and greek yogurt. Thanks for a great recipe I look forward to playing with more in the future!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bekah_Goertzen October 09, 2011
Curried Red Lentils