Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Curried Red Lentil Dahl Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Curried Red Lentil Dahl

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on September 01, 2012

      We loved this dahl and my guests appreciated this as well.
      It's easy to combine and prepare. I followed the recipe as described, but I had to add more water while cooking as the lentils adsorbed a lot of them.
      Thanks a lot for posting this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2012

      My husband loved this recipe - it was way too hot for me though! I also found that I needed to add more liquid as it cooked. Will be making it again with half the seasoning mixture :D For ZWT8.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2014

      Easy and awesome! The only thing I changed was the amount of chili, because I can't eat so much chili. We loved it, and I know I'll make it again because it's so easy. My red lentils became mushy after 20 minutes, and the liquid was soaked up, so I removed them from the heat and let them sit covered until they were served. Worked like a charm. Thanks for sharing!<br/>Made for For your Consideration Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      I really enjoyed making this dish. I added extra water because I like my lentils a bit soupy. I also slightly reduced the mustard and cumin seeds and added some fennel seeds. I didn't follow the cooking instructions though. I boiled the lentils with the turmeric. Separately, I heated the oil and added the seeds. When they just started to pop, I added the onions to cook. When they were almost done, I added the spices and warmed them until they became very fragrant. When the lentils were mostly done, I added the onion/spice mixture and cooked maybe 5 minutes more. I learned to cook lentils that way from a blog called "Hooked on Heat". I find the flavors of the seeds and spices really blend well and taste awesome when treated that way. Thanks for sharing this yummy lentil recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2013

      I really liked this recipe as a side for a roasted pork with mango curry sauce dish -- I used red split lentils (known as Masoor Dal). And, after sauteing the onion, garlic and spices in a cast iron skillet, I put the lentils, just water (had no broth on hand) and the onion-spice mixture into a rice cooker on the rice setting just for fun, to see what would happen. I ended up added another 1/2 to 2/3rds cup of water, and had to open the cooker to stir the lentils a couple of times while it was cooking, but it turned out really well. Next time, I may add some fresh grated ginger and more freshly ground black pepper, but overall, a very nice accompaniment to pork, in particular.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2013

      Great lentil dish. I did have to add a bit more water near the end of the cooking time, but otherwise made as written. Great with garlic naan, coconut curry fish and sauteed spinach. Made for Best of 2012 game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      Made this tonight to take for lunch tomorrow. The only modification that I made was to use vegetable stock instead of water veggie cube. I added salt to the finished dish since my stock was unsalted. I also opted for Madras curry powder versus my hot curry powder since the recipe did not specify and I decided to play it safe. I found that I had the perfect amount of liquid and my final dish did not come out dry as was a problem in other reviews (though my red lentils looked like they may have been a little smaller than the ones photographed?). This was extremely easy to make and I thought the many bites I sampled had great flavor. I am looking forward to my lunch tomorrow after the flavors meld even more. Thanks! Made for Sun and Spice 2013

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2012

      Wow, this recipe really packs in the flavor for such a simple dish. I used Indian chili powder and it was very spicy, but we enjoyed the heat. Unfortunately, it came out a little too dry, but next time I will add more water or broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2012

      This went together so easily and quickly and is really delicious. I just had a small portion today, and the rest is set aside to share with my vegan son, he will love it! I suspect this is one of those recipes that will be even better tomorrow. This comes very close to duplicating a dish I had at a clients home about 20 years ago. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT 8 Tiffins to Go Challenge

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2012

      We really loved this! I didn't have the mustard seeds so it went without. Everything else was there though and blended to a wonderful flavor. I guess this could be called Indian fast food as it was ready in the time it took the rice to cook. Think I'll add red lentils to my shopping list :D.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2011

      Made this delicious lentil dish for dinner tonight. We served it over rice and add a green salad to go with it. The only change I made was to reduce the amount of chili powder as I used Indian chili powder and it is very hot! I used a quarter of a teaspoon and it was just right! I have never cooked red lentils before -- I had a blast at the Indian Market loading up on spices and other wonderful goodies. Now I have plenty of red lentils on hand so I will definitely make this dish again. Made for the AUS/NZ Reunion Tag, December, 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2011

      Yum! Delicious,easy and so flavorful! I added fresh baby spinach and squirted my portion with lemon as suggested. I doubled the recipe and also added a can of chickpeas for a little extra protein. So excited to eat the leftovers tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      This was easy and delicious. I was bit concerned about the texture as I added both mustard seeds and cumin seeds, perhaps too crunchy?, but turned out to be nothing to worry about in the end. I served this with Madhur Jaffrey's cauliflower with tomato and garlic naan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      Cheap, easy and tastes great. What else could you ask for?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      This was great! I followed other reviewers and used low sodium broth and added lemon and fresh spinach to it. I also used much less of my Indian chili powder, as it is very hot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      I made this recipe for a Unitarian Universalist pot luck supper last night - I tripled the recipe. EVERYONE loved it. I followed suggestions of using veggie broth instead of the vegetable stock powder - I use Imagine's Organic No Chicken Stock, so much better than regular veggie stock. I also followed one reviewer's suggestion of adding chopped fresh spinach and tomatoes at the end. Lastly I served it with Greek yogurt on the side. Fast, easy, pretty, and delicious. I "borrowed" many of the spices from the host of the party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      Mmmmmmmm!!!! Karen, this is such a lovely, spicy, comforting dahl! My sis and me made it for dinner yesterday and enjoyed it soooooo much! At first I thought it was going to be too spicy with the curry and chili powder, but in the end we both loved it as is. As I didnt have any cilantro on hand I used some dried sweet basil as a garnish, which added a nice taste. THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this wonderful recipe with us! Ill certainly make it again! Made and reviewed for our Veggie VIP in Veggie Swap #19 February 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      While my attempt came out drier than the posted pictures of this recipe, I'd bet it was no less delicious. In fact, it was rather like having rice in a way. A great spice combination is the highlight of this dish, which I will definitely have with eggs sometime soon. This recipe fits my three criteria to let it have a spot in the regular rotation: it's delicious, easy to make and healthy. Give it a shot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      Delicious, simple, and very quick to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      I really enjoyed this! I quartered the recipe just for me. Thank you for a tasty dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Curried Red Lentil Dahl

    Serving Size: 1 (213 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 311.3
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    18%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 29.5 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.6 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 21.7 g
    87%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 18.1 g
    36%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock powder

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes