Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Curried Quinoa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Curried Quinoa

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 07, 2011

      Tons and tons of flavor! I used a hot African curry powder and simmered everything in chicken broth instead of water. I also subbed cranberries for the raisins and left out the almonds (otherwise DH wouldn't have touched it). Otherwise made as written. We thoroughly enjoyed this lovely quinoa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      Love all of the ingredients in this and it's very easy to make. I cooked the quinoa in veggie broth for a bit of extra flavour, which I think was a good thing. Otherwise I made as written except that I was out of carrots so used an orange bell pepper instead. 2 cups of dry quinoa is definitely a lot - this made the perfect amount for a potluck dish though! Thanks Debbwl...made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      As written this recipe as serve a lot more than 4. I reduced everything by half and still had more than 4 generous servings. This has a nice flavor and I loved the addition of the veggies and dried fruits. A good combination of flavor and color. Made for Vegetarian African Challenge during ZWT 7.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      I left out the apricots, and this was still really tasty. I'll probably play with the veggies a bit more next time. This was my first attempt at making quinoa, and it was definitely a success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2010

      This is a wonderful recipe with a very pretty presentation and yummy taste!
      I loved the raisins in combination with the nuts, quinoa and curry! What a great idea to add fruit to your pilaf! Mmmm!
      I left out the apricots, but doubled the raisins as Im not a fan of dried apricots. I think next time I might even add 1/2 cup more of raisins as I think they really make the dish!
      For me the peas and carrots were a great touch and I would not leave them out.
      All in all a great dish that I will make again, but adding in some salt and maybe a touch of cayenne.
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this great and versatile recipe with us, Debbie!
      Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #26 September 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2010

      Super easy dish to put together and definitley looks like it would take much more work!! I did add 1 tablespoon curry paste in addition to the curry powder for DH's enjoyment and we threw on a bit of season salt. I think next time we will play with the veggies...CheekyMommy suggested zucchini and that might be one to try. Very simple, quick, and tasty! Made for Veg*n Swap 26!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      I did alter the recipe slightly due to missing a few items. I added 2 cups of chicken broth and 2 cups of water instead of 4 cups of water for more flavor. I also sauteed a zuchanni with the garlic and onion. I omited the apricot and almonds due to not having any. Instead I added chopped up apple near the end. Overall it was good, but still missing something. I'm not sure what!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      Yummy! I'm trying to eat more quinoa and this is a surefire way to do it. It was delicious! I used walnuts instead of almonds and left out the peas. I also didn't cook the carrots. I used Quinoa-Toasted for the roasted quinoa. It did need some salt and pepper for us. Will make again. Made for Newest Recipe Tag Game 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      Love the texture, appearance, the ease factor, and handy ingredients-yes, even the quinoa. I had toasted mine as suggested. Next time I will reduce the curry powder by a third. I had frozen peas so put them in the last 2 minutes of simmering. Thank you for sharing Debbwl. Made for Everyday Is a Holiday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      We enjoyed this tonight with our main meal. My husband ate it without any question so that has to be a good thing! I did cut it in half because there is just the two of us. Even with doing that, I think that the 2 cups of uncooked quinoa made a huge amount for just two as a side. I too think perhaps the peas were out of place but I still enjoyed them fine. Made for Everyday tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      Well, this was easy! I toasted the quinoa as recommended, several days previously, and I used a Roast Garam Masala for my curry powder. I'm not a raisin lover so I left them out, but otherwise as directed, and I love this! My DH said it needed seasoning, but I like it as is, he can season his separately if he so desires! This was delicious warm, but I am having it cold as my office lunch, it makes a marvellous 'salad'! Thanks, Deb! Made for Vegetarian Tag#9, April 09

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      This was totally out of my comfort zone here and I am glad I made it. Had never used curry before (I'm a tried and true American mid-westerner) so I went out and bought some specifically for this recipe. I did toast my quinoa as recommended and the recipe worked out great as written. I loved the fruit and the nuts. . .would probably have left out the peas, but it did add some green to my lunch today :) I added Seasoning Salt at the end. Made for VEG*N TAG. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Curried Quinoa

    Serving Size: 1 (453 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 537.6
     
    Calories from Fat 113
    21%
    Total Fat 12.5 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 39.8 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 93.1 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 12.9 g
    51%
    Sugars 23.8 g
    95%
    Protein 18.1 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites