Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Curried Pumpkin Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Curried Pumpkin Soup

    Average Rating:

    83 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 83

    Sort by:

    • on October 22, 2002

      I love pumpkin soup and this was a good one. I doubled the curry because I like a little stronger flavor. Rich, and soooo incredibly good. Very, very easy to make. Even my husband who was very hesitant gave it a thumbs up. Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      I am not a big fan of Pumpkin Soups, but I do like it Curried and this has such a high rating. This was good and I will keep it at hand when required! My 4 yr old requested pumpkin soup to use up a Kent Pumpkin. As the fresh pumpkin is much more watery than canned I adjusted by only putting 400ml stock, 375ml ev. milk, twice the pumpkin and I upped the curry to 2tsp which was probably 1/2tsp too much for us. I omitted the nutmeg as I didn't have any. Oh and garnished with greek style yogurt and served with Cheesy Rolls this meal is great rather than just good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2003

      This is a wonderful recipe. I used light margarine and fat free evaporated milk to fit my plan and I don't think it took anything away. Also, I calculated this soup to roughly one point per serving for any Weight Watchers out there. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      I was amazed at how quickly this soap came together. I didn't have any evaporated milk, so I used coconut milk instead. The flavor was great. A good hearty soup, perfect for a cold day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      This is one of my new favourite soup recipes. I've used cauliflower instead of mushrooms and it turned out wonderful as well! A nice, warm winter soup

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      WONDERFUL! Perfect for a chilly fall dinner. Even better on the 2nd day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2014

      This is such a great soup, it is not your classic pumpkin soup, but still really good. The mushrooms and the curry make it unique.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2013

      This is so good... and it is probably even better in a household that tolerates onions and mushrooms! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2013

      So easy and quick! Used pumpkin purée I had in my freezer. (I basically bake a pumpkin split in half and put on a oiled baking sheet, pulp in, at 350 until it is cooked. Then, I remove and purée the pulp, cool, and store in 2 cup freezer plastic bags. Good for a year). Did 4 times the recipe for a party in a huge soup pot. I added 1 chopped clove of garlic per recipe (so total 4 cloves). Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      Hubby had 2 bowls!!! And said to make it again. He said it was lovely! He would like me to pur?e it though. I did use heavy whipping cream instead of the evap milk because I had an open container. I used a pumpkin left over from Thanksgiving. I baked it at 350 for an hour then pur?ed it.
      I have been craving pumpkin soup. I really wanted Thai pumpkin that my Thai coworker makes but I didn't have coconut milk. I thought I would be disappointed but I wasn't.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2012

      (omitted milk, flour,butter and mushrooms)roasted green squash in oven with whole onions and garlic in skin. heating pans up with coconut oil first. Meanwhile heated up canned coconut milk, vege stock, curry, cumin, honey,cinamon,nutmeg and loads of freshly grated ginger. Pureed roasted veges and added to soup. Amazing and freezes well. Making again today and going to also roast mushrooms adding to pan later and also some gram masala along with curry. Next time going to add apples with the veges too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2011

      Absolutely love! The mushrooms are an unusual touch that make it unique and awesome. Just the right sweet and spice for a holiday soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2011

      Excellent soup and easy to make. I made a couple of minor changes. I omitted the mushrooms because I didn't have them on hand and I used coconut milk instead of evaporated milk. The soup was thick and tasty. I think next time I will add a bit more curry and possibly a bit of cayenne pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2011

      Wow, this was really delicious! My husband is cutting back on carbs, and we were going to make a butternut squash soup until we realized it was chock full of them. Pumpkin has a lot fewer carbs, so we chose this recipe instead. We're really glad we did!
      I didn't have evaporated milk so used powdered milk, mixing it with 1/2 the amount of water it called for. I still added 12 oz of the prepared milk.
      When it was done it was a little too thick for our taste, so we mixed up about 1/2 cup of better than bouillon reduced sodium chicken stock and added it in. Perfect!
      The mushrooms add a really nice texture and flavor - definitely don't omit them.
      Thanks for a great recipe. We'll be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2011

      great, perfect, I used real pumpkin, I baked the pumpkin in oven @350 in a covered pan until soft, about 1 hour or so, then pureed it. used 2 cups of this instead of canned. or I used fat free Evap milk, came out great. ty for recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2011

      This is a fantastic soup! The flavors are really great and the consistency is perfect. The only change I made was to use almond milk in place of the evaporated milk. The whole family loved it! Thanks so much...I really wish I'd doubled the recipe. ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      this is fabulous! i love the idea of using evaporated milk to make this creamy without adding a ton of fat. must remember that trick for other cream soups. i was out of mushrooms so i increased the onion to more like 3/4 cup and added 3 big cloves of garlic, that worked very well. my curry powder has a heavy cinnamon note which i'm usually not fond of but it worked fine for this, i added closer to 2 tsp since mine is very mild. i also added about a tsp of dill which i think is a nice counterbalance. i was expecting this to be a bit on the sweet side but it's lovely and savory. will make often! thanks you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2011

      Superb. I took some liberties with this one though:

      Used Frozen pumpkin I've had from this past fall, thawed it and added homemade stock cubes in total around 3 cups worth. Once it was boiling, I added one chopped onion and two chopped cloves of garlic, and let it cook until soft. Then I added salt and pepper, the curry powder, and one large tablespoon of brown sugar. I used an immersion blender to puree it all, then added the evaporated milk, a bit of hot sauce and tumeric.

      A bit out of order from the recipe but it turned out delicious, velvety and filling on a cold rainy day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

      This was fabulous, and a very quick meal. It probably only took about 20 minutes to make, and it was lovely! I followed the recipe exactly, though I used baby portobellos, and I'm not exactly sure it it was 1/2 pound or a little more. I was hesitant to add the nutmeg, so I added it 1/8 tsp at a time and kept tasting it, and by the time I got to the full amount, it was great! I also calculated the serving size to be around 2 cups, a very healthy portion for only 160ish calories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Curried Pumpkin Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (190 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 163.5
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    46%
    Total Fat 8.4 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 26.6 mg
    8%
    Sodium 291.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites