83 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love pumpkin soup and this was a good one. I doubled the curry because I like a little stronger flavor. Rich, and soooo incredibly good. Very, very easy to make. Even my husband who was very hesitant gave it a thumbs up. Thanks Nurse Di.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laylagirl October 22, 2002

I am not a big fan of Pumpkin Soups, but I do like it Curried and this has such a high rating. This was good and I will keep it at hand when required! My 4 yr old requested pumpkin soup to use up a Kent Pumpkin. As the fresh pumpkin is much more watery than canned I adjusted by only putting 400ml stock, 375ml ev. milk, twice the pumpkin and I upped the curry to 2tsp which was probably 1/2tsp too much for us. I omitted the nutmeg as I didn't have any. Oh and garnished with greek style yogurt and served with Cheesy Rolls this meal is great rather than just good.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YnkyGrlDwndr April 26, 2010

This is a wonderful recipe. I used light margarine and fat free evaporated milk to fit my plan and I don't think it took anything away. Also, I calculated this soup to roughly one point per serving for any Weight Watchers out there. Thanks for posting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber of AZ May 22, 2003

So easy and quick! Used pumpkin purée I had in my freezer. (I basically bake a pumpkin split in half and put on a oiled baking sheet, pulp in, at 350 until it is cooked. Then, I remove and purée the pulp, cool, and store in 2 cup freezer plastic bags. Good for a year). Did 4 times the recipe for a party in a huge soup pot. I added 1 chopped clove of garlic per recipe (so total 4 cloves). Delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anoushka October 31, 2013

this is fabulous! i love the idea of using evaporated milk to make this creamy without adding a ton of fat. must remember that trick for other cream soups. i was out of mushrooms so i increased the onion to more like 3/4 cup and added 3 big cloves of garlic, that worked very well. my curry powder has a heavy cinnamon note which i'm usually not fond of but it worked fine for this, i added closer to 2 tsp since mine is very mild. i also added about a tsp of dill which i think is a nice counterbalance. i was expecting this to be a bit on the sweet side but it's lovely and savory. will make often! thanks you!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spiritussancto October 25, 2011

I was amazed at how quickly this soap came together. I didn't have any evaporated milk, so I used coconut milk instead. The flavor was great. A good hearty soup, perfect for a cold day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lt. Amy February 24, 2010

This is one of my new favourite soup recipes. I've used cauliflower instead of mushrooms and it turned out wonderful as well! A nice, warm winter soup

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
collkw33 February 18, 2010

WONDERFUL! Perfect for a chilly fall dinner. Even better on the 2nd day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
candidmom October 20, 2009

This is such a great soup, it is not your classic pumpkin soup, but still really good. The mushrooms and the curry make it unique.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
May I Have That Recipe August 08, 2014

This is so good... and it is probably even better in a household that tolerates onions and mushrooms! YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tia Mouse December 25, 2013
Curried Pumpkin Soup