20 Reviews

I used curry paste instead of powder and served the soup with chicken. The flavor was a little heavy for me at first, so I added the juice of one lime and about half a tablespoon of soy sauce to lighten it up and make it a little more "Thai". The result was delicious and I'll definitely be making it again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SaraStar November 24, 2009

We've made this soup many times -- so simple and so fine! I use only broth or stock, puree, and then let it simmer longer than called for, resulting in a heartier end product. Room temperature natural peanut butter blends very easily, too.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HopeJohnJP January 31, 2011

good. Had to up the spices to our taste, also added in soy and lime to Thai it up a bit per the advice in other reviews. Since some of my kids are not tomato fans, I used the immersion blender on it. If you plan on pureeing, you'll want to cook far longer than the recipe calls for for a truly smooth soup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joop January 21, 2014

A-MAZING! Made this for lunch today. Had no idea what to think of it when I first saw the recipe, but then I went for it and so glad that I did! I added lime juice, soy sauce, a dash of cayenne, and a smaller dash of cinnamon, and an extra cup and a half of vegetable broth. Also I used an all natural almond/cashew/peanut butter mix. Per another reviewer's advice, I let it simmer longer, then I used my immersion blender to blend it all together. At the end, I smashed up some honey roasted peanuts and threw them in for texture...perfect and very filling. (Just a note, I would double the recipe if you are serving more than 2 people and it will be your main course).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snoelle January 07, 2012

This is a nice, filling soup that is incredibly easy to prepare. I think that it is an excellent soup to make for those who have never tried peanut soup before and are a bit squeamish at the thought of trying a soup containing peanuts. However, if you've ever had a real African peanut soup before, this will no doubt please you but leave you longing for one that's a bit more sophisticated and contains a stronger punch of chunky ingredients. Nevertheless, I really did like this soup and I loved the fact that it was ready in a hurry! P.S. I added a small pinch of sugar to the tomatoes - recommended to enhance the tomatoes, especially if you are using canned ones.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon Cooks August 16, 2008

Sorry, but I didn't care for this at all. I wanted something with ingredients I had since it's grocery day, but this seemed to be missing something. I wanted more pb flavor so tried adding that. Then I tried adding other spicy things, sesame oil, ginger, lime juice, until I gave up. My son, 9, tried it with me and we tried a splash of cream. In his words, it made it better but it still wasn't great. Again, sorry, but we'll stick with other recipes. Thanks for sharing anyway. This one was worth a try, but if I have to stray too much from the recipe I just won't be trying it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie January 29, 2014

Oh wow, this was so delicious! In my variant, I used a 28-oz can of San Marzano tomatoes, ditched the water, increased the curry powder and peanut butter, and added 2 T honey. Pureed it up in my blender and served it up with grilled cheese sandwiches. Yum. Thanks for posting this inspiring recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. April 29, 2012

This was easy to throw together. The peanut flavor was gentle, and between the chicken broth and the PB it had all the umami I was craving. The texture was a thin but flavorful broth with crunchy bits of tomato, onion, and peanut (as we only had chunky PB on hand). We were out of cilantro but I think this one will be a repeat winner this winter!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle from Central Time December 24, 2009

Fantastically simple and delightful!!! Great for a brunch or add some chicken and top with a dolop of sour cream for a hearty meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
d_dawson63 November 18, 2009

I really liked the flavor of this soup which would have made it 4 stars, but the chalky texture was not good. Perhaps it was the peanut butter I used, or something I did, but since it was so easy I have a hard time believing that. I will not be making this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Finicky April 26, 2009
Curried Peanut and Tomato Soup