Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Curried Peanut and Tomato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Curried Peanut and Tomato Soup

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2009

      I used curry paste instead of powder and served the soup with chicken. The flavor was a little heavy for me at first, so I added the juice of one lime and about half a tablespoon of soy sauce to lighten it up and make it a little more "Thai". The result was delicious and I'll definitely be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      We've made this soup many times -- so simple and so fine! I use only broth or stock, puree, and then let it simmer longer than called for, resulting in a heartier end product. Room temperature natural peanut butter blends very easily, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2014

      good. Had to up the spices to our taste, also added in soy and lime to Thai it up a bit per the advice in other reviews. Since some of my kids are not tomato fans, I used the immersion blender on it. If you plan on pureeing, you'll want to cook far longer than the recipe calls for for a truly smooth soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2012

      A-MAZING! Made this for lunch today. Had no idea what to think of it when I first saw the recipe, but then I went for it and so glad that I did! I added lime juice, soy sauce, a dash of cayenne, and a smaller dash of cinnamon, and an extra cup and a half of vegetable broth. Also I used an all natural almond/cashew/peanut butter mix. Per another reviewer's advice, I let it simmer longer, then I used my immersion blender to blend it all together. At the end, I smashed up some honey roasted peanuts and threw them in for texture...perfect and very filling. (Just a note, I would double the recipe if you are serving more than 2 people and it will be your main course).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      This is a nice, filling soup that is incredibly easy to prepare. I think that it is an excellent soup to make for those who have never tried peanut soup before and are a bit squeamish at the thought of trying a soup containing peanuts. However, if you've ever had a real African peanut soup before, this will no doubt please you but leave you longing for one that's a bit more sophisticated and contains a stronger punch of chunky ingredients. Nevertheless, I really did like this soup and I loved the fact that it was ready in a hurry! P.S. I added a small pinch of sugar to the tomatoes - recommended to enhance the tomatoes, especially if you are using canned ones.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2014

      Sorry, but I didn't care for this at all. I wanted something with ingredients I had since it's grocery day, but this seemed to be missing something. I wanted more pb flavor so tried adding that. Then I tried adding other spicy things, sesame oil, ginger, lime juice, until I gave up. My son, 9, tried it with me and we tried a splash of cream. In his words, it made it better but it still wasn't great. Again, sorry, but we'll stick with other recipes. Thanks for sharing anyway. This one was worth a try, but if I have to stray too much from the recipe I just won't be trying it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2012

      Oh wow, this was so delicious! In my variant, I used a 28-oz can of San Marzano tomatoes, ditched the water, increased the curry powder and peanut butter, and added 2 T honey. Pureed it up in my blender and served it up with grilled cheese sandwiches. Yum. Thanks for posting this inspiring recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      This was easy to throw together. The peanut flavor was gentle, and between the chicken broth and the PB it had all the umami I was craving. The texture was a thin but flavorful broth with crunchy bits of tomato, onion, and peanut (as we only had chunky PB on hand). We were out of cilantro but I think this one will be a repeat winner this winter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      Fantastically simple and delightful!!! Great for a brunch or add some chicken and top with a dolop of sour cream for a hearty meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      I really liked the flavor of this soup which would have made it 4 stars, but the chalky texture was not good. Perhaps it was the peanut butter I used, or something I did, but since it was so easy I have a hard time believing that. I will not be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      We served this over basmati rice to make it more filling. It's good and easy to make, but if I make it again it will be as a side to another dish. Alone it just wasn't enough to satisfy us. I would also throw in a few dried red chilies or some crushed red pepper flakes to give it a little hotness, if you roll that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2007

      This is a great tasting, easy to throw together soup that satisfies my tomato-curry jones. I had a bit leftover and threw in some leftover basamti rice and I liked that as well. Thanks for a great easy soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      What a great recipe! We were skeptical at first, but one taste and our fears were releaved. It's great to have something different to eat. We used fresh tomatoes the first time and used vegetable boullion cubes and it came out just as tasty. Nive light peanut butter taste, and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      Simply fabulous! I used an extra-hot madras curry and upped the dosage to boot so it was spicy, and left a lot of heat in the back of my throat. I'll be making this next time I have a cold. Wonderful recipe and thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      I've made this soup twice so far. The first time exactly following recipe, the second adding 1/2 cup of rice and some leftover cooked shredded chicken. Flavour was delicious both time, but we prefered the the second time as it had more body and made it a more filling soup. Definately a keeper. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2006

      This is a superb soup! Ridiculously easy and quick and yet so full of flavour. DH loved it and had almost the whole lot in one sitting!! My curry powder was milder than Madras and I didn't find the soup spicy enough so I added a couple of teaspoons of Sambal Oelek. Don't leave the fresh coriander leaves out at the end - they really finish it off and complete the flavour. Thanks ms bold!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2006

      Made this for lunch today. Just me, and I forgot to add the 1 cup of water. It was great-- I normally only have one bowlful, but had to go for seconds on this. Easy and tasty. Will be sure to include family next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      Exceptionally good soup. I will definitely be adding this to my soup cookbook. The texture was great, color appealing, easy to prepare and taste fantastic! What more could a soup lover want???? Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2006

      Made this soup as written using stewed tomatoes. I too pureed the soup and loved it. Very rich flavoured soup. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2006

      This is a very light but packed with flavor soup. It would make a nice light first course to a meal. We had this for lunch with homemade bread. I used homemade chicken broth. Dh would have liked some lentils added for more body. I prefer it the way it is & would eat this over a number of days for a no guilt meal. I did puree as the peanut butter did not mix to my liking. Thank you msbold for a "make you feel good soup".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Curried Peanut and Tomato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (315 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 203.1
     
    Calories from Fat 142
    70%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 396.3 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 7.3 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites