10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This dish is wonderful, and incredibly versatile! I first made it as directed above, with the sole exception of using yogurt alone (no red onion or cilantro on hand), and then adding a dash of red pepper to my bowl to compensate for my mild curry. Definitely 5-star worthy, particularly since it's easy to make in large batches and freeze, and can also be eaten warm or cold. Whatever you do, though, do NOT skip the yogurt. It really pulls the sweetness of the peas and the spiciness of the curry together.

To better fit my mostly-vegetarian diet, I've also made it with vegetable broth, and lately started adding a cup or two of cooked white beans for protein. Once you puree the soup, you hardly notice them - if anything, it adds to the depth of flavor. I've also played around by adding different spices, such as garlic and ginger, for nuance in flavor, and haven't yet found a bad variation (which probably means I haven't been creative enough :))

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ultracube April 21, 2012

Very yummy soup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare March 07, 2011

Great Soup! Rather than a fully pureed soup, I used an immersible hand blender and left a lot of texture. Next time I'll try cutting the curry back to 4 tsp. This one is a keeper. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimosabe May 26, 2010

We had lots of bags of frozen peas, long story on why but here is the short version. We went into a cheese store in Melbourne wanting to buy one Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese. Because we wanted to take the store home we purchased a whole heap of cheese. The shop attended said we should put the cheese on ice or have them wrapped with frozen peas, so they don't go off during our 2.5 hour drive. So hence the reason I made this soup, after seeing the recipe on the front page as recipe of the day. The soup was calling me to make it. :) It's a very simple soup and the end result was outstanding. The sweetness of the peas made every spoonful better then the last. Thanks so much for posting your recipe Mirj

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer May 19, 2010

I wasnt too fond of my soups pureed, but my mom is, so I made that the batch pureed and the other more "chunky". This is a lovely soup ethier way I feel!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anme March 12, 2008

YUMBERINI as can be, This is a DEFINATE keeper recipe! Sauteed red onion in veggie stock for 5 minutes, TRUE! Added 1/2 cup diced deli ham pieces as had onhand to use up, TRUE! Used frozen peas, SO easy to do, I recommend this recipe to one and all too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder October 22, 2007

There is soup...and then there is SOUP!!! This is definitely the latter! My husband and I both adored this! It is a brilliant orchestration of fresh cool flavors and hot spicy ones--very yin-yang! I made two servings, for my husband and I, and we both nearly licked our bowls clean! Thanks for posting this delightful recipe Mirj!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
So Cal Gal October 18, 2007

Mmm, this is pretty good. The yogurt really changes the flavor of the dish. At first I was going to leave it out, but now I think it's essential. One bowl I used too much and it got a bit sour, so the amount of yogurt you add depends on your tastes. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hippeastrum May 21, 2007

this is so delicious. i made it when DH is on a business trip! it is superb hot, but i have been really lazy and had it cold with the yogurt mixture stirred into the soup, i love this!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears March 22, 2007

10 stars! J'adore ! This was a brilliant blend of flavours. DH liked it less.. said it was nice as something different for just once in a while, but I could REALLY eat this every day for a week.. or more! I'd run out of curry powder recently and opened a jar of Red Curry Paste which needs using up, so used a heaped teaspoon and a half in a two serve portion, and it was perfect. I also used more coriander (cilantro) becuase I adore the stuff, but no onions becuase I didn't have red ones to hand and I wasn't in a raw onion mood. The contrast of the coriander/yogurt and the curry/peas was awesome, refreshing and a real tastebud treat. If you are up for a little tastebud adventure and surprise then this recipe is for you ! I used the stick blender and since I made a smaller portion size there was less in the pot and I needed more volume to stop the blender parking the soup over the walls so mine is probably a little more lumpy than it should be if you make the full recipe amount. It didn't effect the taste. Next time I WILL be making double the recipe and DH can sit in the corner with something else for lunch while I keep this treasure to myself! Please see my rating system: 5 excellent stars for a soup to die for, that has bucketloads,.... no truckloads of flavour! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch March 11, 2007
Curried Pea Soup