Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Curried Pea Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Curried Pea Soup

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 21, 2012

      This dish is wonderful, and incredibly versatile! I first made it as directed above, with the sole exception of using yogurt alone (no red onion or cilantro on hand), and then adding a dash of red pepper to my bowl to compensate for my mild curry. Definitely 5-star worthy, particularly since it's easy to make in large batches and freeze, and can also be eaten warm or cold. Whatever you do, though, do NOT skip the yogurt. It really pulls the sweetness of the peas and the spiciness of the curry together.

      To better fit my mostly-vegetarian diet, I've also made it with vegetable broth, and lately started adding a cup or two of cooked white beans for protein. Once you puree the soup, you hardly notice them - if anything, it adds to the depth of flavor. I've also played around by adding different spices, such as garlic and ginger, for nuance in flavor, and haven't yet found a bad variation (which probably means I haven't been creative enough :))

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      Very yummy soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      Great Soup! Rather than a fully pureed soup, I used an immersible hand blender and left a lot of texture. Next time I'll try cutting the curry back to 4 tsp. This one is a keeper. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      We had lots of bags of frozen peas, long story on why but here is the short version. We went into a cheese store in Melbourne wanting to buy one Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese. Because we wanted to take the store home we purchased a whole heap of cheese. The shop attended said we should put the cheese on ice or have them wrapped with frozen peas, so they don't go off during our 2.5 hour drive. So hence the reason I made this soup, after seeing the recipe on the front page as recipe of the day. The soup was calling me to make it. :) It's a very simple soup and the end result was outstanding. The sweetness of the peas made every spoonful better then the last. Thanks so much for posting your recipe Mirj

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      I wasnt too fond of my soups pureed, but my mom is, so I made that the batch pureed and the other more "chunky". This is a lovely soup ethier way I feel!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      YUMBERINI as can be, This is a DEFINATE keeper recipe! Sauteed red onion in veggie stock for 5 minutes, TRUE! Added 1/2 cup diced deli ham pieces as had onhand to use up, TRUE! Used frozen peas, SO easy to do, I recommend this recipe to one and all too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      There is soup...and then there is SOUP!!! This is definitely the latter! My husband and I both adored this! It is a brilliant orchestration of fresh cool flavors and hot spicy ones--very yin-yang! I made two servings, for my husband and I, and we both nearly licked our bowls clean! Thanks for posting this delightful recipe Mirj!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      Mmm, this is pretty good. The yogurt really changes the flavor of the dish. At first I was going to leave it out, but now I think it's essential. One bowl I used too much and it got a bit sour, so the amount of yogurt you add depends on your tastes. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2007

      this is so delicious. i made it when DH is on a business trip! it is superb hot, but i have been really lazy and had it cold with the yogurt mixture stirred into the soup, i love this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      10 stars! J'adore ! This was a brilliant blend of flavours. DH liked it less.. said it was nice as something different for just once in a while, but I could REALLY eat this every day for a week.. or more! I'd run out of curry powder recently and opened a jar of Red Curry Paste which needs using up, so used a heaped teaspoon and a half in a two serve portion, and it was perfect. I also used more coriander (cilantro) becuase I adore the stuff, but no onions becuase I didn't have red ones to hand and I wasn't in a raw onion mood. The contrast of the coriander/yogurt and the curry/peas was awesome, refreshing and a real tastebud treat. If you are up for a little tastebud adventure and surprise then this recipe is for you ! I used the stick blender and since I made a smaller portion size there was less in the pot and I needed more volume to stop the blender parking the soup over the walls so mine is probably a little more lumpy than it should be if you make the full recipe amount. It didn't effect the taste. Next time I WILL be making double the recipe and DH can sit in the corner with something else for lunch while I keep this treasure to myself! Please see my rating system: 5 excellent stars for a soup to die for, that has bucketloads,.... no truckloads of flavour! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Curried Pea Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (262 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 231.9
     
    Calories from Fat 69
    29%
    Total Fat 7.6 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 18.9 mg
    6%
    Sodium 104.7 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 8.9 g
    35%
    Sugars 14.4 g
    57%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites