Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Curried Lentils and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Curried Lentils and Rice

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2003

      I was running short on time, so I threw everything in a covered casserole dish and baked in oven. Used cumin instead of curry and omitted raisins, because of family preferences. Tasty, delicious, I could eat this as a meal. Love my rice and lentils.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2003

      When I've made curried lentils in the past, it turns into a big pot of mush. For some reason, the addition of the rice really helped everything to hold it's shape in this recipe. The texture was really nice. The addition of the apples was wonderful, and although I was skeptical, the raisins were great. The only significant change I made was to add all the garlic when sauteeing the onions. Everyone in our household loved this dish. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      Very tasty! I really liked the apples and raisins in there, great side dish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2014

      I doubled the recipe. Used short grain brown rice, brown lentils. Skipped the raisins and apples due to the family preferences Simmered on stove top for just under an hour. Tasted great. Had some kick to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      Loved it. Used "green" lentils. They and the rice held their shape perfectly. Chewy and delicious. I added ingredient after ingredient directly to a slow cooker, cooked on high for 3-1/2 hours, stirred, then on low until ready to eat 30 min. later. Left out the apple because I only had a sweet apple. Added the following: 2 cups of fresh chopped kale, 2 T of fresh cilantro, 1 C (about 1/3 of a whole) butternut squash, diced, 1/2 of a red bell pepper - chopped, 1T of wild rice. I sub'd Risotto for brown rice as I was out and didn't realize until I was adding ingredients. I did rinse both the rice & lentils several times before adding. Needed the entire 4 C of water. Served with a couple squirts of Sriracha sauce. Delicious. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2012

      This is great and makes a ton! I thought I had an apple but it disappeared... it was great regardless. I topped it with a little sour cream since we were out of yogurt. I think it'd be great with an assortment of chutneys. I froze two containers for future use and I think it's be great as a wrap with fresh veggies and a honey and mayo based sauce. Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2012

      I too added all the garlic during the sauteeing of the onions, and I also added about a cup of cubed sweet potato and about 1/2 cup of mixed veggies. It was absolutely wonderful! Flavourful, but not spicy, so it's also a great dish for children.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      Took quite a while longer to cook, but the flavor was good. Ate it with chutney and lettuce leaves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

    • on July 21, 2010

      This was just okay for us. Mango Chutney on the side helped give it some more zip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

    • on April 20, 2010

      I lovethis recipe. I used about 1 1/2 c lentils and about 5 1/2 c water. I'd simmered it for 25 minutes with the 3 cups as the recipe called for and it seemed a little to dry, so 2-2 1/2 more cups of water made it just right. It seemed like it was missing a little something flavorwise after my initial taste... found just the thing! Major Grey Mango Chutney ~as a garnish. Yum and Wonderful : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      Very tasty. I used olive oil to saute the onions/spices in. I upped the spices just a little and topped with cilantro and chopped green onions and a few cashews. Very economical, nutritious meal. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      Mmm...this was delicious! I think I will add more raisins next time, though. I did the plain yogurt on top, and it really added something special. I used a full 3 teaspoons of curry. This is a great quick and healthy dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      Sorry but this just wasn't a "wow" dish for us. It was just ok. It took a lot longer to cook the rice, probably an additional 15 minutes or so, so the apples got mushy. We did like the raisins though, and I'd probably double them if I were to do it again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      This was fantastic. I cheated though and tossed the entire lot into the rice cooker. It came out perfect. Whole beautiful soft lentils and rice. Well blended apple and raisan flavors a wonderful hot sweet with the red curry powder I used. I also used a basmati and wild rice mixture in place of the brown rice. I doubled the dish also. I have five hungry kiddos still at home and they loved it as well. I also served it with a dollop of sour cream instead of yougurt. It is what I had on hand. Don't leave out that apple I too used a fuji. It will become a regular dish for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2008

      this is an excellent recipe that you can do so much with!! i've already used it as a cold salad (jazzed it up with a few things first plus a dressing), a main with poached egg and as a side dish with mango chutney and yoghurt. i wouldn't use less than 3tsp curry, but i guess that depends on personal taste. also didnt add the raisins (*.*) thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2008

      An excellent vegetarian dish. This was made as directed and served with Seared Chard. I did use the full 3 teaspoons curry powder and added in some sea salt after cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      We're eating *more* vegetarian and this is an excellent addition to anyone's recipe box. This is tasty, filling, great for the tired cook and tastes great with a dollop of yogurt on top. Even DH said, "Make it again!" DS disdains it but he's not too adventurous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      Hi..I didn't have exactly all the ingredients in the cupboard, but kept lentils brown rice onions and raisins...and used shan's curry packet...tastes very yummy and very healthy...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Curried Lentils and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (404 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 376.7
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    96%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 15.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.4 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 15.0 g
    60%
    Sugars 14.7 g
    58%
    Protein 13.9 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    vegetable bouillon cubes

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites