13 Reviews

Found this when searching for a loaf that I could whip up in the morning and have cold after work. Nice and easy to make, as you can see from the photo it holds together well when sliced. For those that find the peanut butter unusual, I would suggest using an egg instead. It made for a very tasty and enjoyable vegetarian meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiwi Kathy February 08, 2013

This wasn't horrible, but it's not something I'd make again. The end result was pretty cohesive, but tasted strongly of the tomato/peanut butter and not much else. Would have preferred if the flavor was a bit more complex or more interesting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MargoH December 05, 2009

Thank you for this recipe! I tweaked it a bit... didn't add peanut butter or tomato paste or breadcrumbs, instead I added 1 egg, almost 2 Tbs of ketchup, oatmeal (for the breadcrumbs) and fresh chopped cilantro. It was yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reneemoose July 15, 2013

Awesome, awesome! Son in law and daugthter loved it and so did I, a non-vegetarian. Believe blending a cup of the lentil/veget mix with the peanut butter is vital to keeping the loaf together. Served with mushroom gravy. Will pass on recipe to non-vegetarian friends to try since it's so easy to eat and smells so delish while baking (might try it on DH, too). Thanks for the recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HoitoFoodie September 01, 2012

This was an awesome meat alternative! I only made some small changes like curry paste in lieu of powder and added some frozen peas. Mine didn't turn out very 'loaf' like either but was still very tasty. I may add some cheddar or mozzarella, and mushrooms next time for variety.
Thanks for sharing! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Greenest September 17, 2011

What can I say about this, other than that I loved it! The flavor is perfect and doesn't need any tweaking in my opinion. Mine came out fairly loaf-like. It was sort of crunchy on the outside and creamy on the inside and kept its shape pretty well after being sliced. I made sure that while I was simmering the veggies most of the liquid was soaked up/evaporated before moving on, which might have helped with the texture. I was going to make sandwiches out of leftovers by frying the slices in a little vegetable oil to make veggie patties. Unfortunately the loaf didn't survive to the next day because I couldn't stop nibbling on it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lashannamasala August 14, 2009

Very very savory and delicious! Mine turned out too moist , however, so I served it as a curry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashtreev August 11, 2009

This was pretty good. I took it to a church potluck and LOTS of people LOVED it, but I guess I just need a bit more convincing! VERY interesting taste and texture - baked up well as a loaf and sliced easily. Thanks for this healthy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Radish4ever February 12, 2008

I've made this a couple of times now and it's always been excellent. I had friends over for dinner one time and I knew one wasn't a curry fan so I basically used just a little coriander instead the full blown curry powder. He loved it. On another note, any recipe that typically calls for curry powder, I typically use curry paste instead. You can buy this at most grocery stores that have an international section. The tastes are so much better developed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Converting to vegan January 04, 2008

I've cooked this recipe several times and always to rave reviews. I take a couple of lazy shortcuts: I just bung the lentils, peanut butter and breadcrumbs (I add about twice the amount of wholemeal breadcrumbs) into the pot without blending. A really tasty, filling and nutritious veggie (vegan!) recipe that pleases veggies and meateaters alike. Yum! Thank you for sharing it KB.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coolaboola October 01, 2007
Curried Lentil Loaf