Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Curried Lentil Loaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Curried Lentil Loaf

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 08, 2013

      Found this when searching for a loaf that I could whip up in the morning and have cold after work. Nice and easy to make, as you can see from the photo it holds together well when sliced. For those that find the peanut butter unusual, I would suggest using an egg instead. It made for a very tasty and enjoyable vegetarian meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      This wasn't horrible, but it's not something I'd make again. The end result was pretty cohesive, but tasted strongly of the tomato/peanut butter and not much else. Would have preferred if the flavor was a bit more complex or more interesting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2013

      Thank you for this recipe! I tweaked it a bit... didn't add peanut butter or tomato paste or breadcrumbs, instead I added 1 egg, almost 2 Tbs of ketchup, oatmeal (for the breadcrumbs) and fresh chopped cilantro. It was yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2012

      Awesome, awesome! Son in law and daugthter loved it and so did I, a non-vegetarian. Believe blending a cup of the lentil/veget mix with the peanut butter is vital to keeping the loaf together. Served with mushroom gravy. Will pass on recipe to non-vegetarian friends to try since it's so easy to eat and smells so delish while baking (might try it on DH, too). Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2011

      This was an awesome meat alternative! I only made some small changes like curry paste in lieu of powder and added some frozen peas. Mine didn't turn out very 'loaf' like either but was still very tasty. I may add some cheddar or mozzarella, and mushrooms next time for variety.
      Thanks for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      What can I say about this, other than that I loved it! The flavor is perfect and doesn't need any tweaking in my opinion. Mine came out fairly loaf-like. It was sort of crunchy on the outside and creamy on the inside and kept its shape pretty well after being sliced. I made sure that while I was simmering the veggies most of the liquid was soaked up/evaporated before moving on, which might have helped with the texture. I was going to make sandwiches out of leftovers by frying the slices in a little vegetable oil to make veggie patties. Unfortunately the loaf didn't survive to the next day because I couldn't stop nibbling on it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      Very very savory and delicious! Mine turned out too moist , however, so I served it as a curry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      This was pretty good. I took it to a church potluck and LOTS of people LOVED it, but I guess I just need a bit more convincing! VERY interesting taste and texture - baked up well as a loaf and sliced easily. Thanks for this healthy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      I've made this a couple of times now and it's always been excellent. I had friends over for dinner one time and I knew one wasn't a curry fan so I basically used just a little coriander instead the full blown curry powder. He loved it. On another note, any recipe that typically calls for curry powder, I typically use curry paste instead. You can buy this at most grocery stores that have an international section. The tastes are so much better developed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      I've cooked this recipe several times and always to rave reviews. I take a couple of lazy shortcuts: I just bung the lentils, peanut butter and breadcrumbs (I add about twice the amount of wholemeal breadcrumbs) into the pot without blending. A really tasty, filling and nutritious veggie (vegan!) recipe that pleases veggies and meateaters alike. Yum! Thank you for sharing it KB.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      Great dish. I have not cooked much with curry and realize what now what terrific flavor I have been missing. I used whole package of dried brown lentils and a cup of dried red lentils cooked in quart of veg broth. Had to leave out the peanut butter and used a cup of crushed gluten-free cornflakes. Also tripled the garlic and peppers. Fantastic! Will make again. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2005

      Well, I guess either my lentils or sauteed veggies were too liquidy, because this never firmed up and became a loaf for me. I guess it might have had I just kept baking it, but we were starving, so we just had it more casserole-style (just scooped out of the loaf pan). The flavors were just phenomenal, though. Lots of veggies and I love the peanut butter/cayenne flavor (it reminds me of the sauce in Pan-Fried Tofu with Spicy Peanut Sauce Grilled Fish in Foil, which I love). Easy and full of veggies. Most other lentil loaves I've tried are mostly lentils, but this one is interesting in that I think there are even more veggies than lentils. I really like the addition of the potato too. BF insisted we added a little cheddar cheese, so we grated about 1/4 cup and put some in the loaf and some on top. I will surely try this again and see if I can actually get a loaf out of it... lol, but the flavor is really fantastic, whether the texture is correct or not. Thanks for another winner, Becky!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2004

      A really nice and different recipe. I really loved the fact that it was meatless. I used whole masoor dal instead of the brown lentil. Used my own garam masala powder - 3 tsps (which has chilli and a blend of 22 other spices in it too :) instead of the curry powder and chilli powder and added chopped green chilli too. But everything else I kept the same and it was truly lovely. Served it with fish and a green salad for dinner. My son really loved it as did the rest of us. Thanks :) Fay

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Curried Lentil Loaf

    Serving Size: 1 (205 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 368.7
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    15%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 97.2 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.1 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 23.0 g
    92%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 20.6 g
    41%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes