Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Curried Couscous Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Curried Couscous

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2009

      I've made this at least five times now, and I plan to keep making it! It's a good company side dish and popular at potlucks. Every time it's a little different, as I use what's on hand. I usually use garam masala instead of the curry powder and turmeric; I don't really need the butter in the couscous; I don't add salt; and I use either red onions or scallions if I don't happen to have both. I would say the fresh parsley, good olive oil and yogurt are essential. It's ok without the slivered almonds, but much nicer with. A flexible dish that is sure to please.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      I had to make a few substitutions and omissions to accomodate my (lack of) ingredients - including the couscous! I had everything but the couscous and the water ready to go in the morning, then when I went to get the couscous out at dinner time, there was only about a tablespoon left in the jar, lol! So, happy substitution, I used millet instead. I also omitted the butter - because I forgot, used pistachios instead of almonds, raisins instead of currants, onion powder to replace the red onion and the scallion, and dried cilantro to replace the parsley. This was STILL a great, tasty recipe. What a wonderful mixture of flavors. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      This is the best cous cous recipe ever.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      Amazing combination of flavors! I've made this four times for different groups of people, each time it was a hit! The flavors are so unique, wonderfulness in your mouth! I followed the recipe except I usually forget to add the butter and don't notice a difference. I also cut down on parsley and add a bit of cilantro. I made it without yogurt, but it wasn't nearly as good...yogurt is a must. I serve this with Grilled Moroccan Chicken Grilled Moroccan Chicken....highly recommended!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2013

      Sooooo delish!! I can't wait to make this for company! Used raisins (had no currants) and used only red onion (had no scallions). I will be making this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      I fell in love with this the first time I tried it. Great for days with amazing flavor. I made some substitutions to make for less dairy (margarine for butter, soy yogurt) and didn't add currants, red onion, or almonds until immediately before eating. LOVE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      I don't think this would be nearly as good without the almonds - they really make the dish! Thanks for posting (^o^)o

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      This is a a great couscous indeed. I found the salt was a wee bit more than we like, but everything else was perfect. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      This was a GREAT side dish. I will definitely make this over and over again. I did not have white wine vinegar, substituted equal parts white wine and balsamic vinegar. I threw the almonds into the boiling water, just before adding the couscous. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      My Hubby and I loved this light dish - I served it with a quarter roast chicken. I substituted white wine vinegar for red (all I had) and added a table spoon of chopped up sun dried tomatoes and a chopped up roasted Cal pepper- which kept the chicken company in the oven. No groud turmeric either so I added a 1/2 teaspoon more of curry powder. Thanks for this. It is always interesting to see what others add to make this wonderfully textured but otherwise plain grain.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      Mild flavored, fluffy and crunchy couscous, excellent to accompany spicier dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      This recipe is OUTSTANDING!! I made it to go with an Indonesian Chicken recipe and we couldn't get over the flavour of this couscous, it was just amazing. I have never been a huge fan of couscous in the past, but this is now one of my favourite recipes on all of Zaar. I used vanilla yogurt instead of plain as that was all I had, and I also blanched my fruit in boiling water first to soften it up a little. It turned out perfectly, fluffy, not sticky, and such a tasty dish that I have now added to my catering menu. Thanks so much for making me a lover of couscous! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      Fantastic recipe with excellent flavours. I personally leave the currants out, however.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2007

      This recipe was incredibly easy to make and had a fantastic mix of flavors. Next time I make it, I'll reduce the amount of Italian Parsley a little bit though.. we felt it was a little too strong & overpowered some of the other flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      This recipe is an all time favorite of mine. Don't be put off with the ingredient list...it really is quite simple when you get to chopping. This is a recipe came from Ina Garten-The Barefoot Contessa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2006

      Delicious and very easy to make. I used toasted pine nuts because I didn't have almonds. Nice fresh taste, and was great even the next day. You really can't go wrong with the Barefoot Contessa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2006

      Good flavor. I added mint and lemon juice for an extra zing. I would reduce the amount of salt next time. Can't mess up too much with Ina's recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2006

      Wonderful. made just as instructed. Took to a friend that had never had couccous and she is now a fan. currants are a must as I think raisins are too large.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2006

      This was excellent! I made a 'few' substitutions as I didn't have all the correct ingredients on hand. I omitted the butter and carrots, and used raisins instead of currents, light sour cream instead of yogurt and apple cider vinegar instead of white wine vinegar. I also substituted pine nuts instead of almonds. Even with the substitutions it was still delicious both times I've made it. Thanks for posting your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Grains Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Curried Couscous

    Serving Size: 1 (171 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 346.7
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    38%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 6.4 mg
    2%
    Sodium 459.8 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.7 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 9.7 g
    38%
    Protein 8.1 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites