10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really enjoyed this recipe because it was quick, easy and delicious! My hubby thought it should have three stars so this review meets in the middle. We ate ours with cornbread but I can imagine this would would FANTASTIC with naan bread! Made for ZWT5 Family Picks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristinV June 10, 2009

Positively delicious!!! The curry and hot sauce (in my case Tobasco) were excellent together over the chickpeas. The ketchup gave a sweet tanginess to the dish. Quick to prepare, plan to do it again soon. Made for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yogachef May 31, 2009

I thought we were the only people in the universe with a cat named Kumquat... just had to say hello!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RachelT February 06, 2008

This is so so easy and yummy. A quick dinner with some roti.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mosum October 07, 2007

I used home-canned garbanzos, three teaspoons of curry powder, and Tapatio brand hot sauce. The ketchup seems weird but it totally works. This recipe is so easy I found myself wondering, "Is that it?" That's it! Great combination of textures and flavors. Thanks for a classic, Kumquat the Cat's Friend.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
California Canner August 18, 2007

Great dish...so easy and everything so readily available - I love that!! I used 2 heaping teaspoons of the curry and a fantastically hot verde pepper sauce to add my heat. I really liked the addition of the ketchup...now that's something I rarely cook with and here it does lend a wonderful syrupy sweetness that helps to pull all the sweet heat together with the wonderful buttery nutty beans. Lovely, simple, sweet and spicy dish, next time I will double the amounts because tonight I ate about half of it by myself in a sitting (!!) - THANKS Kumquat the Cat's friend, this is another winner!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free July 08, 2007

Excellant!!!I loved these! I used 1 tablespoon of curry! Thank you for great eats!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ June 25, 2007

Made this with dinner tonight and we loved it. I love chickpeas too and the curry flavor was yummy. Definitely a keeper, thanks! Made this for ZWT3.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Midwest Maven June 24, 2007

Terrific and easy, too! My curry powder was rather mild so I used 3 tsp (1 Tbsp). I used a bit less than 1 tsp of hot sauce. This is sooooo good, I will have to double the recipe from now on. Thanx!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* June 14, 2007

I loved this recipe. Tasty, easy and economical. This is VERY VERY HOT though, so I will use less hot sauce next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julielenore July 24, 2006
Curried Channa