9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My son made this for my birthday dinner. Awesome!! Even better the next night, as we were able to remove much more of the fat after overnight refrigeration.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pinay0618 January 15, 2013

I love this dish! I used pork ribs (cheaper) and they came out tender and flavorful. Next time I'll adjust to make more of the sauce, my hubby really enjoyed it. I will definitely make this again and again and again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bikerdiva July 25, 2012

This is so flavorful! I made this a few years ago and absolutely loved it, then forgot about it for a while. When I saw short ribs on sale at the store it popped back into my head and I knew I had to make it again! YUM. I'm kind of a spice wimp but I think this level of spice is nice. I used less than 2lbs of ribs the second time and should have cut down on the cooking time - after 6 hours they were very well done. Served with cilantro on top and a squeeze of lime with bok choy on the side. Can't wait to make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnneWisconsin July 18, 2012

We really enjoyed this dish! The red chili paste was not hot and the addition of the coconut milk really added a nice background flavor. I used boneless short ribs and left them whole vs. shredding them. I also add more coconut milk as we really like the taste. Served this delicious meal over rice and added a side salad. Made for Everyday is a Holiday, July, 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry July 16, 2012

This was pretty awesome! I must say though...I guess I need to find another Red Curry Paste. Mine is so hot and I've been burned (literally) many times by putting what the recipe called for that I went ahead and backed off on this one. Glad I did! I made 1 pound of boneless beef ribs so I cut everything in half except for the red curry paste...I used 1 tsp of red curry paste and then 2 tsp of yellow curry powder. It was still too hot for us and we like spicy food. Next time I will use 1/2 tsp red curry paste and 1 Tbsp yellow curry powder. I did not have fish sauce so I substituted with soy sauce. We served this over brown rice and garnished with green onions. I did not separate the liquid from solids as we enjoy all that good stuff in there, plus my boneless ribs pretty much have zero fat on them. I will be making this again! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sky Hostess December 05, 2011

Was just about to post this from the March 2009 Cooking Light issue. Thanks for saving me the typing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitchenslave03 October 15, 2009

This s wonderful! Quick and easy to do even with browning the meat. I loved the spice and the lime. My boys thought this dish was great, however it does not make for 6 servings but really 4. Served it over yellow rice. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff September 20, 2009

I live in Texas and love spicy food but I was worried about 2T of the red curry paste as that amount has been too hot in regular Thai dishes however...this was incredible and I agree with the first review I might add more next time. The zest and fresh lime juice create a perfectly layered flavor. I used Texmati brown rice and would recommend being very careful about the ziploc bag corner when you cut the corner off the bag. Easy and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
llove1313 July 06, 2009

If I could give this more than 5 stars I would!! Ooohhh, so good! It is worth the mess of browning meat...and I don't say that very often at all!! Could have a little more heat for my taste..but that is me. The only problem I have is with the serving size-granted 4 of the 6 in our family are boys and men that eat a lot. I did one and a half times the recipe and it was not enough. I would have to at least double it next time. And there will be many more next times!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ridgely April 30, 2009
Curried Beef Short Ribs (Slow Cooker)