Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Curly's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Curly's Beer Cheese Soup

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 24, 2011

      I hosted a Packers football game viewing this weekend and made this soup for my guests. It was delicious! A bit on the thin side, as the previous comment states. I used miller beer and the flavor was mild so two bottles is just right!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2014

      Found this soup to be too watery as well. I would reduce the amount of water added.(Or as someone else said maybe even omit it.) I did however add smoked sausage and fried onions at the end and found it really added to the flavor. I used Smithwicks Pale Ale but think I would go with another beer next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2013

      Well I think this is off their menu. They have some sausage cheese chowder now I think. Too bad I say, because it was a great surprise in such an over-priced, dreary and classless pub. The pool table had a tear right down the middle. Town reminds me of Mad Max. Anyway, one thing missing from this recipe is the seasoned croutons they had floating on top. That needs to be included for further flavor. Not needing hot sauces and other nonsense. This soup is awesome, and choosing the beer is the hard part. I went with a michelob ultra light in the bottle, which was perfect. Lastly, it's cheese and beer soup, with cheese in the spotlight. It isn't beer and cheese soup, nor is it beer cheese soup as there is a thing as beer cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2013

      bad. too watery. are you sure 4 cups of water? I'm thinking NONE.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      I made this soup exactly the way the recipe said to and it was delicious!!!! Yummy. I have had the real thing at Curly's Pub and this is definitely the same. It is on the thin side like a soup should be, so if you like a thinker soup use more flour and butter. The two cans of beer are not too much...just right!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      This was very good. I made it as written and used Leinie's Original. It will be interesting to try different beers to see the differences. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      I made this a few weeks ago but wasn't sure how to review it so I haven't until now. I love beer cheese soup but the flavor of the beer was overpowering to me. I generally make chilis and such with a bottle of beer but never 2 and I realize that this may be a personal preference but it is something that I have to consider when making a review. My husband who loves beer (I won't tell you how much he drinks a week lol) also thought that the beer truly overpowered any of the other flavors here. So this is one for us to play with to get the flavors just right for our family. Thank you for posting and giving us something different to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      I love the flavor but not as thick as I have had in a restaurant. I will try less beer and more flour mixture. I served with Cheese and Garlic Drop Biscuits Cheese and Garlic Drop Biscuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      This was really good. I used Sam Adams Light, and the flavor was really good. I did not bother to blend up the vegetables, so it was a little chunky, but just as wonderful tasting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      Followed this to a tee and something is still missing! This is the most bland beer cheese soup I have ever tried. Too much beer verses other ingrediants. If you want creamy hot beer, than this is for you. I attempted many fixed and just couldn't resurrect this recipe. Considering I have had the real soup at Lambeau Field, this just do it justice. UPDATE: I found that reducing the beer to a single 12oz can made this soup just right. I thought 6 cans sounded exccessive so I didn't want to give up on it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      This is a bit of heaven on a spoon. I just happened upon this recipe this morning as I was scrubbing and scrounging through the old icebox in hopes I could make something filling, different, and use what I had in the icebox and everybody would be happy. This fulfilled the need, and definitely fulfilled the fullness of our guests. We had a couple of folks ready to eat, and this was perfect in every way. I followed this exactly, except I cut the water back to 1 cup & added more of the chicken base/homemade stock in my case 3 full cups of stock. The rest stayed the same and turned into a perfectly, smooth tasting, and luscious soup that was an ease to put together. I forgot to put the popcorn on top, so I took a couple of crunchy potato chips, broke them in a couple of bits, and put them right on top of the soup. I added a couple of red pepper flakes just for the fun of it. Thanks, Jesse! Made for *Please Review My Recipe* Fall 2008

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      Not much of a beer drinker myself, I made this for my boys and used their favorite beer. I contented myself with a small bowl. Both gave it a thumbs up so in my book this is a very good recipe. Made for Beverage Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Curly's Beer Cheese Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (290 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 260.6
     
    Calories from Fat 180
    69%
    Total Fat 20.0 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 12.3 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 62.8 mg
    20%
    Sodium 305.4 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites