13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I hosted a Packers football game viewing this weekend and made this soup for my guests. It was delicious! A bit on the thin side, as the previous comment states. I used miller beer and the flavor was mild so two bottles is just right!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FraDiavola October 24, 2011

Actually the SIX cans of beer was correct for this recipe. Two cans for the soup and 4 cans for the cook/chef. To contrast the rich flavor of the cheese an American Ale or IPA would do well. A dark nut brown ale or stout would probably be very good as well. The cook time should be changed to read "FOUR BEERS TIME".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j0307_5694647 November 18, 2014

Found this soup to be too watery as well. I would reduce the amount of water added.(Or as someone else said maybe even omit it.) I did however add smoked sausage and fried onions at the end and found it really added to the flavor. I used Smithwicks Pale Ale but think I would go with another beer next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
April K. March 17, 2014

Well I think this is off their menu. They have some sausage cheese chowder now I think. Too bad I say, because it was a great surprise in such an over-priced, dreary and classless pub. The pool table had a tear right down the middle. Town reminds me of Mad Max. Anyway, one thing missing from this recipe is the seasoned croutons they had floating on top. That needs to be included for further flavor. Not needing hot sauces and other nonsense. This soup is awesome, and choosing the beer is the hard part. I went with a michelob ultra light in the bottle, which was perfect. Lastly, it's cheese and beer soup, with cheese in the spotlight. It isn't beer and cheese soup, nor is it beer cheese soup as there is a thing as beer cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sincerecraigslister December 23, 2013

bad. too watery. are you sure 4 cups of water? I'm thinking NONE.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danny B. November 05, 2013

I made this soup exactly the way the recipe said to and it was delicious!!!! Yummy. I have had the real thing at Curly's Pub and this is definitely the same. It is on the thin side like a soup should be, so if you like a thinker soup use more flour and butter. The two cans of beer are not too much...just right!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kkandst February 27, 2011

This was very good. I made it as written and used Leinie's Original. It will be interesting to try different beers to see the differences. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Moon October 08, 2009

I made this a few weeks ago but wasn't sure how to review it so I haven't until now. I love beer cheese soup but the flavor of the beer was overpowering to me. I generally make chilis and such with a bottle of beer but never 2 and I realize that this may be a personal preference but it is something that I have to consider when making a review. My husband who loves beer (I won't tell you how much he drinks a week lol) also thought that the beer truly overpowered any of the other flavors here. So this is one for us to play with to get the flavors just right for our family. Thank you for posting and giving us something different to try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus March 24, 2009

I love the flavor but not as thick as I have had in a restaurant. I will try less beer and more flour mixture. I served with Cheese and Garlic Drop Biscuits Cheese and Garlic Drop Biscuits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound December 04, 2008

This was really good. I used Sam Adams Light, and the flavor was really good. I did not bother to blend up the vegetables, so it was a little chunky, but just as wonderful tasting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coleen114 November 29, 2008
Curly's Beer Cheese Soup