11 Reviews

This soup is so comforting. I used low-sodium, low-fat chicken stock. I used butter. I used dried parsley. So easy to do in less than an hour, that's great :) DH really loved it. Me too of course. Thanks Breezermom :) Made for Market tag game

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette December 21, 2010

I made this soup today for my partner, who has a cold. I had to use dried celery and parsley and cube stock but the soup still came out very nice. It is quick to make, which is a big advantage if you are sick and don't feel like cooking for long for example. We both enjoyed half of it with noodles and are going to have the other half with rice tomorrow. Next time I will follow the recipe fully just to see how different (and probably better) it would be.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eva_anita June 05, 2011

Made as posted with Mock Chicken Stock Mock Chicken Stock from my freezer and very low in fat and sodium. I came home from shopping today chilled to the bone. This goes together quickly and in less than an hour I was eating and enjoying this! Thanks for posting breezer. Made for Newest Zaar Tag (Winter).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn January 15, 2011

Made it with your Basic Chicken Stock and I could imagine having this while down with a cold. Never had rice in a chicken soup and it's good for sick people as this way they can get more calories than with vermicelli. I just made a small portion and can't wait to try the creamy version too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia December 13, 2009

I have been down with the flu all week. :( I really can't taste anything but I needed some chicken soup. I made this and the flavor of the carrots and broth did come through, at least I enjoyed that :) Made for Photo Tag Game

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daisygrl64 October 24, 2009

If you don't have a good - nay, an excellent - chicken soup recipe, do try this one. To say this soup is delicious is an understatement: we loved it! :) And I know that next time I make it I'll be doubling the recipe so that there are several serves to put in the freezer. We don't have colds at the moment - touch wood - but with winter approaching this seemed like a good recipe to try! I made breezermom's delicious Basic Chicken Stock yesterday to use it in this soup, so that has to have contributed to how yummy this soup was. I opted for butter as I prefer it in cooking and made this pretty much to the recipe, though I did add some garlic, sliced mushrooms and dried thyme (sorry, just couldn't resist adding those: the mushrooms were in the fridge and kind of begging to be included). Thank you so much, breezermom, for sharing these two fabulous recipes. Oddly, I've never had a chicken stock or a chicken soup recipe that I make regularly, but I now have both! This one - and BTW, I also loved the rice in it - I made for Gimme 5.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder April 16, 2009

My cold is still hanging on and this chicken soup tasted so good! I used chicken breast tenderloins that I cut into bite sized pieces, matchstick carrots, and dried parsley. I wont need to make my chicken soup and cook it so long when this easy to make soup is just as good. The chicken was tender and moist, the rice cooked perfectly, and the broth tasted homemade. Thank you so much breezermom for sharing! Made and reviewed for Please Review My Recipe tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 January 25, 2009

This is a very nice flavored soup. Just what the doctor ordered. I used half chicken/turkey stock that I make and half chicken base with water. I will be making this again and again. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barefootmommawv January 01, 2009

Very good chicken soup! We love this kind of soup and this one is a winner. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 November 18, 2008

I follow every step except the chicken stock, I did not add any stock and it taste great. Thanks..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adrian_KT January 18, 2016
Cure My Cold! Chicken Soup