9 Reviews

A great hit at my daughter's 3rd birthday party. Luckily I made enough for the adults too! (I transported them in cake tins with kitchen towel beween them

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
froglet October 21, 2007

I use to make these with my daycare and foster children and now I make them with the grandchildren. A fun thing for them to do. Overlook the fact they will get frosting on themselves when decorating. LOL

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nana in the woods September 04, 2006

These were fun and easy to make. My grandson loved them! I used crumpled up wax paper between the cones to transport which worked very well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kovie August 28, 2006

Very sticky yet very clean. Great fun for a whole bus load of 4th graders on their way to a live studio taping of Emeril. Very hard to transfer but they do sell metal sheets. Have it with orange juice! Remember with great cooking comes great responsibility!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kansas City CHEFS July 15, 2006

I made these for my 5 yr old for school. She really wanted them but I had never made them before. I lined my 9x13 pan with aluminum foil and made 24 and they were rounded on top and ended up looking just like ice cream cones with sprinkles and a cherry of course! Very easy to make and they transported very well right in the 9x13 pan. My 9 year old carried them to school for his sister.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momof3 February 18, 2006

I forgot to review this recipe.I made these for Halloween,and they were a huge hit.So easy to make and tasted great.I did however have problems with them falling over,due to myself being a clutz.I found out they sell special metal pans just for cupcake cones that double for baking,and carrying to parties and such.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FarahC December 30, 2005

The cones are very appealing to children. The picture I submitted is the cones that I took to a bake sale, and they went very fast. You really just have to follow the recipe on the back of the cake mix box, then add a box of instant pudding. I didn't have any problems with the bottom of the cones browning. For these to work well,as far as the frosting goes, you need to ice them, and leave them out on the counter overnite uncovered. This will set the icing. Cover with plastic the next day, and they will soften up just right. For easier transport, put them in a 9x13 pan and tuck a clean tea towel around the cones so they don't fall over. If you want the cupcakes to look like ice cream cones, you should only use 20 cones, so they fluff up nicely as they did in the pic. Good recipe, Aunt Paula.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dee October 15, 2005

These were so adorable. I made a batch just for the kids at home and they devoured them!! Wrap a square of aluminum foil around the bottom of the cone to prevent browning. Will make these again soon, and definetly for the bake sale!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Old Me November 21, 2004

I made these for a coworker who wanted a small taste of her childhood. My only problem with them was that the cones picked up moisture overnight before I served them (fixed this by baking at 200 for about 5 minutes), and they are difficult to transport. Other than that, it was a nice walk down memory lane.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kleyt October 21, 2004
Cupcake Cones