47 Reviews

My daughter made these tonight and they turned out really good! They are more cake like than fudgy, but the flavor and texture are good. Definitely satisfies our craving for chocolate cake. I calculated these as 2 points each for the points plus program. Thanks for posting!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas August 28, 2011

More a muffin than a brownie, but with a nice light chocolate flavoring, this has a slightly chewy texture and good flavor. Couldn't leave well enough alone after reading the reviews, so made my cocoa tablespoons "heaping" instead of level, and added 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder. They rose well, with nice crowns. Made 15 in my very old cupcake tins which top out at 1/4 cup liquid (so about 1/8 cup per muffin). Will make again! Will resist adding a few chocolate chips to each...well, maybe! Thanks for posting such a good recipe.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kauaian cook May 31, 2010

I really liked them! They satisfied my chocolate need! My whole family enjoyed them with a great big dollop of Cool Whip Free on top. I ended up spooning almost two tablespoons into each muffin cup and I got 12 brownies. Perfect light ending to a meal. Thanks!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BenandMatt'smommy June 18, 2008

I haven't tried this yet but the new points plus calculation is 2 points each.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barbacious January 21, 2012

Boy are these delicious!!! We are chocolate hounds so I added a bit more cocoa and a couple of Tablespoons of Ghirardelli chocolate chips. I also sprayed the pan using Pam with flour - they popped out perfectly. I have to admit too -- I made six larger muffins - I figured the points were so low it wouldn't matter. Thanks for a wonderful comfort food!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooknwoman Pedersen October 06, 2006

Why on earth would anyone even have margarine in their house. The health benefits and flavor of butter from grass fed beef out weighs the few calories that it hardly seems worth using margarine, a known unhealthy food. Also, using a gluten free flour has added benefit, even if one does not have celiac disease. As apples are loaded with pesticides, one of the fruits that carries the most residual, organic applesauce would be wise. I love weight watchers recipes, but find too often that unhealthy choices are substituted in order to save a couple of points that could be walked off.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pigletchef January 08, 2014

I know that everyone says that these taste low fat, but I disagree. These are wonderful! Perfectly portioned, just chocolaty enough, a little chewy,mmmmmmmmm....anyway...I can't tell you for sure how many batches of these I have made since I found this about 2 weeks ago. I can't seem to keep them in the house. I don't feel guilty giving them to my kids or my husband. We have split them in half and spread a little natural peanut butter on them and it was like heaven. My DH and kids love them with a few butterscotch chips sprinkled on the top before baking. LOVE this recipe. Thanks for sharing it with us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pahealthymom August 04, 2010

I agree with previous reviewers that these are more like cupcakes than brownies, but they're good whatever you want to call them =) They definitely do taste diet, but they're a great chocolate fix for those of us watching our weight. And I do like the fact that this doesn't make too many - less temptation that way!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasHurricane June 28, 2007

These are nice, moist cupcakes, especially considering how low in fat they are. I just can't stretch far enough to call them brownies, though; they seemed very cake-like to me (particularly like Wacky Cake), and I made sure I called them "cupcakes" and not "brownies" when referring to them, as they surely would have been judged under an entirely different set of rules by my "testers". :) I used Hershey's Special Dark cocoa to give them a little more chocolate "oomph", subbed canola oil for the melted margarine, and made them a little larger (my yield was 9 cupcakes). I made these as a "less-guilt" option for a picnic, and they were enjoyed. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaJ June 10, 2007

These are so quick and easy to whip up and taste great. The kids loved them and can easily make them themselves. I substituted veg oil for the melted margarine to make it even easier. These are nice and chocolatey as is, but a few mini chocolate chips tossed into the batter would be a great add-in. You could also make them in mini muffin tins for a one-bite treat. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raspberry Cordial May 02, 2007
Cupcake Brownies Ww