8 Reviews

This was delicious and fun. I'd always wanted to make naan, as I devour it at Indian restaurants, but I had no idea it would be this easy. I followed the recipe exactly the first time, subbing ground cumin for the seed, and it was excellent. I've since experimented with other spices and it's consistently great. ONE THING... the directions say to get the grill very hot, and cook for 5 min per side... I burned my first batch. I now set the grill to medium, and it still only takes about 90 seconds per side. I then put the naan on the upper "bun" rack of the grill for a couple extra minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bulldog Belly April 25, 2010

Very easy! I also subsituted olive oil for corn oil...worked fine. Yummm.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mind_figment March 05, 2009

Very easy and delicious. Being Maine this time of year, I didn't feel like grilling outdoors so I cooked these on my George Foreman grill. My DH wanted them thinner per his Indian restaurant experience, yet I made mine thick per my Indian restaurant experience; the irony is that we went to the Indian restaurants together! Go figure! Thanks, Sharon123! Made for Best of 2008 Recipes Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees February 15, 2009

Oh so good! Used this as a wrap for sauteed chicken. We made this in a cast iron skillet for 4 min. on the first side and about 2 minutes on the second side. Keeps well in the frig. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommaEllen September 15, 2008

Very, very good. Mine took less than 5 minutes per side and burned a bit, and next time I will make them thinner, but overall this is a great recipe which will have many variations this summer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo June 01, 2008

These are delicious! I love the fresh taste of homemade bread, and this is no exception. The cumin is great in this. This was a lot like making pizza dough -- it was easier to stretch than roll these since the dough is pretty sticky. I made mine probably a little too thin, as cooking them 1.5 minutes/side was plenty. I will try to make them thicker next time. I would suggest starting with one on the grill and experimenting with the time, they are very easy to burn. I served these with a vegetable curry. These look and taste like real nan, and are way better than the kind you get in a restaurant!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito May 30, 2008

This was GREAT!! I served ours with taco fillings! Very tasty and it got rave reviews.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linajjac October 22, 2006

This was delish! I had fun making this. It did grill in less then 5 minutes for both sides so watch not to burn them. What I did was an East meets West meal. First for the dough the only changes I did was used My Rosemary oil #74729 in place of the corn oil and I used instant roasted garlic mashed potatoes. Well! What I made with the Nan was BBT`s Yes delish BBT`s Bacon, Basil and Tomtaoes!. These are very easy and would be fun for guests to get into helping make thier own. I can`t believe this has been here for 2 years and no reviews. This is a must try! Thanks Sharon for posting this delish bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ October 01, 2004
Cumin Nan