14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Well, I looked at the ingredients and thought "That doesn't seem like enough cumin to be able to taste it" but then I quickly came to my senses and prepared the recipe verbatim because I've learned not to fool with Mirjam's recipes. And I'm glad I did, because the flavour was just right. Served them with dressed pasta and a light salad. Wunderbar!

50 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mille® June 08, 2002

These meatballs were very nice!! i used a can of dices tomatoes instead of the tomatoe paste, and it was a nice addition over rice. very nice and easy too.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
integrity1st May 14, 2002

Very flavourful. I added piri-piri seasoning to the sauce to give it a little bit of kick,

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KJ November 26, 2001

Very tasty Mirj, but our 3 HUGE garlic cloves dominated the flavour of the meatballs. Next time, I will increase the cumin and reduce the garlic! Loved the sauce but wanted more, I'd consider doubling that next time too.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS July 16, 2002

The ingredients were the first motivation to try this recipe though at first this recipe sounded very close to one of my recipes called Quick Chicken Kebabs. The dish came out great. Being an onion lover I added lots of raw onions slivers to the sauce and enjoyed this for the lunch yesterday with Indian Rotis (bread). :-)))))PPPPPPPP Mini

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mini Ravindran June 13, 2002

These are good! Used matzah meal as I prefer it, and added ground coriander as well as the cumin. We thought the sauce was excellent - so nice to have one that's not swimming in tinned tomatoes! We served it with pasta shells, and will definately be having these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina and Dave June 07, 2007

I made the lamb version and like another reviewer was tempted to increase the amount of cumin but was glad I didn't, as the recipe is prefect as is. thank you Mirj for sharing the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieZ April 13, 2005

We tripled the ingredients as it sounded like a great combo of flavorings and weren't dissappointed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay March 22, 2004

I made this with lamb mince, adding a can of chopped tomatoes and some very finely chopped fried onion to the sauce. It is a really lovely tasty dish, a good winter warmer. I served it up with pitta bread and houmous. It would be nice with rice on the side. We will definitely be having this one again, thanks Mirj!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zoe November 02, 2003

This is a delightful recipe. Very nice flavors- cumin, garlic, & lemon make a great combination. This can be prepared quite quickly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane dough October 18, 2003
Cumin Meatballs