Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cukes and Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cukes and Onions

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on April 04, 2003

      Hi Darlene; This is a great recipe. I love cucumbers and onions, even in a sandwich. I used a good quality (6 year old) Balsamic Vinegar instead of white vinegar, and WOW, just super-great. So easy to prepare. Thank you, "Uncle Bill"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2003

      This is a great way to prepare cucumbers! I followed your instructions exactly and wouldn't change a thing (except the next time, I will DOUBLE the batch). I used this dish in place of a regular garden salad. Thank you so much for sharing a quick and easy and very flavorful dish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2003

      I did not change anything. Great review from Mark the next day. The first day he did not say much. But the next day he loved it. Thank You for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2003

      Delicious! I used two medium cucumbers, and cut the sugar to 1 1/2 tbsp for our taste. It was just right. DH agreed. We'll keep this in the fridge all summer!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2012

      Wonderful! I also used balsamic vinegar instead of white. We have leftovers tonight so the only thing I'll change is adding salt and pepper. Very easy and good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      Quick and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • My grandmother always had these at her house, and the dish was always empty at the end of the meal with us there! I used the cider vinegar, and splenda. We love them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      I could snack on these all day long during the summer. Delicious! Goes great with a big cold-cut sandwich at lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      Very crisp and refreshing. Enjoyed by all. A great side dish with a barbecue.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

      These were very close to the ones my late mother in law used to make...I added alittle more splenda to them, but we really enjoyed them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      Oh this is my favorite way to have fresh cucumbers, I have never added water to mine though I love the strong zip of the vinegar. Neither of my kids like them this way which is fine...more for me. Glad someone posted this easy dish for everyone else to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      This is so much like my mom's cucumber salad. She would sometimes cut up ripe tomato wedges and float those in there too. I kept searching for a recipe that is just like hers and so far this is the closest. I wasn't into cooking and never got the exact recipe from her before she passed. So thank you very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      Just like Mom used to make! Crisp and refreshing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2005

      My great grandmother makes this for us regularly - however we use red onion and add sliced tomato. I find it delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2005

      I can't give an unfair report to this. My DH and DS's did not like this at all, (me) I loved it, it tasted just how I would have envisioned it, but to them it was too vinegary. If you want a cucumber dish the actually stays extremely CRISP after marinating for hours in a water/vinegar bath that is subtly sweetened this is your dish. Unfortunately *sob* not my families.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2005

      My grandmother also made this all of the time. My daughter LOVES this made without the onion. It looses a little something that way but is still pretty tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2005

      As previous reviewer,I grew up eating this every summer...onions and cucumbers from our garden. With a liberal sprinkle of Black Pepper. Everytime I eat this,now...*from my garden* I'm transported back to my Grandma's kitchen at noon on a summer Sunday after church. Barefoot and carefree. It would be interesting to read Zaarites "best childhood food memories". Thanks for posting, Darlene.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2005

      This is exactly the way my Grandmother made this and it was always on the table in the summer. We love it. Thanks for sharing a great recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2005

      I also grew up with this recipe.I use cider or white wine vinegar and sometimes a sprig of fresh dill.I like to leave thin strips of peel on(unless waxed).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2003

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cukes and Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (138 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 60.0
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    79%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 9.3 g
    37%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites