Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cucumber, Tomato and Red Onion Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cucumber, Tomato and Red Onion Salad

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on August 21, 2009

      This salad has long been a family favorite-- growing up in my family, it was a summer staple. My son could eat it every day! Great with grilled anything-- so easy to make. I vary the vinegar used, but usually have seasoned (sweetened) rice vinegar, sometimes with a few tablespoons of balsamic vinaigrette added. Often I slice the cucumbers paper thin as they tend to absorb the vinegar/dressing flavor better. I season mine with salt, fresh ground pepper, dill, dried basil, and just a tad of Italian seasoning. Be sure to let it sit refrigerated for a time before serving so the flavors can develop. Keeps well in a covered refrigerator container for several days. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      This was great! Thanks for the idea about soaking the onions. They were still strong, but I feel like it made a big difference!

      I cut everything in a lot smaller pieces than specified, but other than that I made it exactly as called for. It ended up swimming in dressing after sitting in the fridge for a couple hours, so if I'm going to make it again I might either use less dressing or I might serve it sooner after I made it. Thanks so much for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      I threw in some iceberg lettuce and used my blender for the dressing.Nice and light salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      A very nice light salad, and what the salted ice water does for the red onions is a surprise. Enjoyed very much, thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      Bam! This is a darn good salad, one that deserves to be first and foremost in front of the line for goodness! I followed this exactly, after chilling the onion for one day. Perfect and very smooth tasting. And COLD! YUM! Made the "dressing" yesterday, so all the spices and sugar combined into goodness and was terrific. I resisted sticking my finger in for a taste. I used a spoon! :) I used fresh parsley, and added it towards the end of the marinating time. I also whirled the dressing up in my little blender and this added some air to the dressing which made it so very smooth and delicious! The tomatoes taste so delicate mixed with the cucumber & onion. Yum yum! Will make this often, if not everyday! Made for *Everyday is a Holiday* Novembre 2009

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

      I made this for the first time last night and took it to an office function. I doubled the recipe, and it was all gone! Everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2013

      I scaled back for 1 serve and laid the salad on top of some baby cos leaves and served red salmon on the side, eating up the delicious salad and then scooping the salmon into the baby cos leaves rolling and eating, a very enjoyable lunch, thank you breezermom made for Rookies tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      This was so yummy...I cut the recipe in half and it was just the perfect amount for two...I didn't have any parsley so I subbed basil instead, we enjoyed the flavor...this was full of nice big chucks of yumminess...thanks for posting it...=)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2011

      Great salad. It almost didn't make it to the table because I kept taking little bites from the bowl while making the rest of the meal, lol. Simple and very fresh. Loved it! Thanks breezermom for a great keeper. Made for your Tic Tac Toe win.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      This was good and looked nice. I substituted shallot bulbs for the red onion and I love what the cold water bath did for them. I used baby cucumbers, sea salt and apple cider vinegar with the mother in it and the rest as stated. There was too much liquid after refrigerating it for an hour, next time I would just drain most of it off. Made for Went to the Market Tag Game - April 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      The salted ice water trick really does tone down the spiciness of the onion - good thing to know! This is a wonderful light salad that will be just perfect also for a summer BBQ dinner. Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      Delicious with perfect blend of flavors in the dressing. My onion was still very spicy despite the soak, so next time I'll use a little less. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      This was enjoyed today with lunch. The vinegar was warmed slightly to help the sugar dissolve and while the onion soaked the vinegar mixture was chilled in the refrigerator. After draining the onions, the vinegar was poured over the prepared vegetables and it refrigerated overnight. Leftovers will be enjoyed later. Made for *Zaar Stars*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      Quick and easy to put together . Lovely flavour. I cut the recipe back to make 2 servings. Made for 1,2,3 Hit Wonders

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Delicious, healthy salad and an attractive presentation. I like to serve this with Tex-Mex meals since the food is typically so heavy. This balances it out. Instead of 1 T parsley I used 1 T cilantro. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      How easy does a good salad get??? Tagged for holiday tag, and so glad I did. I did cut back on the sugar, just cause. Used fresh NC tomaotes and cukes, delish!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      Fixed this the other night to go with Pork Chops Smothered in Cream of Mushroom#15039 and had enough left over to use with the next nights dinner Sauteed Red Snapper With Ginger-Lime Butter#331585 and Quinoa Pilaf#103775. This was just as delicious the second night as the first. Will definately make this again...so easy and delicious! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cucumber, Tomato and Red Onion Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (298 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 140.0
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    32%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 153.6 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 17.6 g
    70%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites