17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This salad has long been a family favorite-- growing up in my family, it was a summer staple. My son could eat it every day! Great with grilled anything-- so easy to make. I vary the vinegar used, but usually have seasoned (sweetened) rice vinegar, sometimes with a few tablespoons of balsamic vinaigrette added. Often I slice the cucumbers paper thin as they tend to absorb the vinegar/dressing flavor better. I season mine with salt, fresh ground pepper, dill, dried basil, and just a tad of Italian seasoning. Be sure to let it sit refrigerated for a time before serving so the flavors can develop. Keeps well in a covered refrigerator container for several days. Enjoy!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miarocks August 21, 2009

This was great! Thanks for the idea about soaking the onions. They were still strong, but I feel like it made a big difference!

I cut everything in a lot smaller pieces than specified, but other than that I made it exactly as called for. It ended up swimming in dressing after sitting in the fridge for a couple hours, so if I'm going to make it again I might either use less dressing or I might serve it sooner after I made it. Thanks so much for the great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SugarJen April 03, 2011

I threw in some iceberg lettuce and used my blender for the dressing.Nice and light salad.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia December 14, 2009

A very nice light salad, and what the salted ice water does for the red onions is a surprise. Enjoyed very much, thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colorado Lauralee November 19, 2009

Bam! This is a darn good salad, one that deserves to be first and foremost in front of the line for goodness! I followed this exactly, after chilling the onion for one day. Perfect and very smooth tasting. And COLD! YUM! Made the "dressing" yesterday, so all the spices and sugar combined into goodness and was terrific. I resisted sticking my finger in for a taste. I used a spoon! :) I used fresh parsley, and added it towards the end of the marinating time. I also whirled the dressing up in my little blender and this added some air to the dressing which made it so very smooth and delicious! The tomatoes taste so delicate mixed with the cucumber & onion. Yum yum! Will make this often, if not everyday! Made for *Everyday is a Holiday* Novembre 2009

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm November 11, 2009

I made this for the first time last night and took it to an office function. I doubled the recipe, and it was all gone! Everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
areume February 12, 2014

I scaled back for 1 serve and laid the salad on top of some baby cos leaves and served red salmon on the side, eating up the delicious salad and then scooping the salmon into the baby cos leaves rolling and eating, a very enjoyable lunch, thank you breezermom made for Rookies tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat March 19, 2013

This was so yummy...I cut the recipe in half and it was just the perfect amount for two...I didn't have any parsley so I subbed basil instead, we enjoyed the flavor...this was full of nice big chucks of yumminess...thanks for posting it...=)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas March 04, 2013

Great salad. It almost didn't make it to the table because I kept taking little bites from the bowl while making the rest of the meal, lol. Simple and very fresh. Loved it! Thanks breezermom for a great keeper. Made for your Tic Tac Toe win.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme April 29, 2011

This was good and looked nice. I substituted shallot bulbs for the red onion and I love what the cold water bath did for them. I used baby cucumbers, sea salt and apple cider vinegar with the mother in it and the rest as stated. There was too much liquid after refrigerating it for an hour, next time I would just drain most of it off. Made for Went to the Market Tag Game - April 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat April 24, 2010
Cucumber, Tomato and Red Onion Salad