Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cucumber Sauce for Gyros Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cucumber Sauce for Gyros

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on December 14, 2009

      I just tried this sauce to go with some gyros I made and it is really a wonderful sauce. I am leaving a review because I wanted to share a tip for the sauce that I ended up using. Being that it is winter, I could not find a decent cucumber in our local store, but I do grow the herb called "salad brunet". It is not a well known herb, but when it is fully mature, the leaves, that look like parsley, taste like cucumbers. I substituted 1/4 cup of the chopped leaves instead of the cukes and no one could tell it did not have real cukes in it!!! I think this is a great substitution until I can get the garden up and running again, as I do like the chunkiness of real cukes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2013

      This is a great sauce and very close to what I get at my local restaurant. Very important to let cucumber rest or the sauce will be loose and runny.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2013

      This sauce is delicious. My husband loves it on his gyros! I agree with jhorn......it is crucial to get rid of as much cucumber juice as possible. <br/>TIP: I food processed the cucumber first and then let it sit in mesh strainer...alot of water drained out quickly! And then I had enough cucumber juice to make some cucumber water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2013

      I chose this recipe because I rarely have greek or unflavored yogurt in the house. It was super easy to make and doesn't leave you with a ton of leftovers. This is my first time making cucumber sauce or tzatziki, so I'm no connoisseur, but I thought this was really good. Can't wait to try it on gyros! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2013

      Oh my heavens this is really a good tasting sauce. I did use a bit more fresh cucumber than was called for but followed the rest and it was wonderful on fish tacos and then we started eating it on the leftover pulled pork. It set the pork off perfectly. I will definitely be making this again and again. Thank you for sharing Tom it really is wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2012

      It tastes just like the restaurant I frequent. It has a nice, cool, crisp, and yummy with my chicken gyros.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2012

      Loved it, though a little bland and did not want to use added salt, added a few Italian seasons. Replaced the mayonnaise with Greek Yogurt x 2. Ran it through a food processor after draining the cucumber juices and my was it fresh and tasty on my Gyro....Thanks for the tips. Great Authentic Sauce and so much better than the shelf dressings. The Gyro is just not the same without it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      We loved it!!!
      Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      I was skeptical about making a gyro sauce with sour cream instead of yogurt, but this was delicious. Worked great for gyros and even the kids loved it. For adults, I would add a clove of pressed/minced garlic for extra kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      My husband loved this sauce! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      This sauce is so authentic to the restaurant sauces. It compliments the meat so well. I usually double the recipe because we are a family of 5 and with this amount it is perfect. I used Gyros - an Authentic Recipe for Making Them at Home for the Gyros and let me tell you they are amazing. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      My brother and I used this recipe for the homemade gyros we made and found it to be better than any other sauce we've ever used for gyros. We had to make more because we both use quite a bit of sauce. In the first we used a food processor to make a smoother sauce, which he loved. The second we kept the cucumber just finely chopped and I loved that. It does make a difference, just preference. We loved them both!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      The best sauce ever. Used dried dill weed

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      This was pretty good. I did add a little extra lemon juice and a touch of sugar for a little more flavor. I didn't have any yogurt but this still made my gyro delicious. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      This is fabulous! I will make this anytime I need sauce for gyros. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      This is a super easy and REALLY Tasty sauce. Great for lots of pita recipes. Thanks very much for printing it. My husband and son said it made the meal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

    • on June 05, 2009

      Thanks for posting a yogurt-free recipe~ it saved me from having to run back to the store for some!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      I can't even believe how delicious this is! Even better than store bought! I had this on homemade Gyros and wow! Simply fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Paired this up with Steve in Fl's authentic gyros (#285900) for a perfect combination. Both recipes are easy to make and heavenly together. Thanks, Tom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cucumber Sauce for Gyros

    Serving Size: 1 (99 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 62.1
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    70%
    Total Fat 4.8 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 10.3 mg
    3%
    Sodium 81.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites