30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I just tried this sauce to go with some gyros I made and it is really a wonderful sauce. I am leaving a review because I wanted to share a tip for the sauce that I ended up using. Being that it is winter, I could not find a decent cucumber in our local store, but I do grow the herb called "salad brunet". It is not a well known herb, but when it is fully mature, the leaves, that look like parsley, taste like cucumbers. I substituted 1/4 cup of the chopped leaves instead of the cukes and no one could tell it did not have real cukes in it!!! I think this is a great substitution until I can get the garden up and running again, as I do like the chunkiness of real cukes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef JenR December 14, 2009

This is a great sauce and very close to what I get at my local restaurant. Very important to let cucumber rest or the sauce will be loose and runny.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlhorn October 03, 2013

This sauce is delicious. My husband loves it on his gyros! I agree with jhorn......it is crucial to get rid of as much cucumber juice as possible. <br/>TIP: I food processed the cucumber first and then let it sit in mesh strainer...alot of water drained out quickly! And then I had enough cucumber juice to make some cucumber water.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
asabur6 November 17, 2013

I chose this recipe because I rarely have greek or unflavored yogurt in the house. It was super easy to make and doesn't leave you with a ton of leftovers. This is my first time making cucumber sauce or tzatziki, so I'm no connoisseur, but I thought this was really good. Can't wait to try it on gyros! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover July 02, 2013

Oh my heavens this is really a good tasting sauce. I did use a bit more fresh cucumber than was called for but followed the rest and it was wonderful on fish tacos and then we started eating it on the leftover pulled pork. It set the pork off perfectly. I will definitely be making this again and again. Thank you for sharing Tom it really is wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Notherjack June 08, 2013

It tastes just like the restaurant I frequent. It has a nice, cool, crisp, and yummy with my chicken gyros.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faery Dreamsical June 14, 2012

Loved it, though a little bland and did not want to use added salt, added a few Italian seasons. Replaced the mayonnaise with Greek Yogurt x 2. Ran it through a food processor after draining the cucumber juices and my was it fresh and tasty on my Gyro....Thanks for the tips. Great Authentic Sauce and so much better than the shelf dressings. The Gyro is just not the same without it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dugstur February 29, 2012

We loved it!!!
Definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iamrmc March 06, 2011

I was skeptical about making a gyro sauce with sour cream instead of yogurt, but this was delicious. Worked great for gyros and even the kids loved it. For adults, I would add a clove of pressed/minced garlic for extra kick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KTgirl September 14, 2010

My husband loved this sauce! Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l.church June 19, 2010
Cucumber Sauce for Gyros