8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this to accompany the Quinoa Tabouli as another member recommended. It is the only cucumber recipe that one of my children will eat but it's not a favorite of any of my family members.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buschways October 02, 2014

I just took the photo and I came to write the review,I turned around and my lovely daughters managed to almost finish it.so I'm only eating what on the bottom,mostly yogurt.There are some cucumbers floating in it.I didn't peel the cucumbers and I used garlic powder for the benefit of my daughters.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia August 14, 2010

This is a huge hit in our home. We make it without garlic, and we add lemon juice and sometimes some lemon zest. I use either Turkish/Greek style yogurt, or strain some regular plain yogurt for a few hours. Because my little girl thinks that she doesn't like cucumbers, I mince them instead of slicing-deceitful yet effective! We especially like it served on mini wheat pitas aside some lemony steamed kale and cannellini beans.Thanks for posting this recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klgordon1 June 26, 2010

Good and easy. I actually did not use garlic the first time but did add some freshly squeezed lemon juice and the fresh mint garnish which I feel makes this. I served this with Hamada's Authentic Egyptian Kusherie without the sauce. It was very good. The second time I added the garlic and did not add lemon juice and served it along with the filling of Potato and Pea Sambusa (Somali) on white Basmati rice as part of a vegetarian meal. The third time I served this without garlic or mint but added some freshly squeezed lemon juice, along with Chicken With Sumac(Jujeh Al Sammak), Saffron Rice With Cashews and Raisins and Quinoa Tabouli for a lovely Lebanese/Palestinian meal masha Allah. I will make this again insha Allah more likely without the garlic and with fresh lemon juice. Made for extra Ramadan Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat September 14, 2009

This was really nice... I added rasins to it since thats how my mama made it. and i did add more mint than the recipe asked for... and it tasted wonderful. I served this with Turkish Eggplant (Aubergine) Pilaf (Patlicanli Pilav) and it went really well. thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maya's Mama September 10, 2009

It is important to remember to drain the yogurt first or else the salad will be watery. (I forgot to drain the yogurt.) Used two varieties of cucumbers and a big change: fresh pineapple mint from our herb garden. This was delicious on lamb/beef hamburgers with lettuce, tomatoes and red onion! Thank you! Reviewed for Ramadan Tag 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl August 20, 2009

Easy quick and very tasty salad! I loved the fresh mint. Thanks! Made for Ramaden tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 September 28, 2008

Very easy quick salad. I only had dried mint on hand and I added a squeeze of lemon juice for freshness and acidity and topped with a bit of olive oil. Thanks :) Made for Ramadan Tag 2008

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamilahs_Kitchen September 11, 2008
Cucumber Salad With Yogurt (Middle East, Palestine)