20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

So easy, so good. I made it on Sunday & had some with lunch today. They are crunchy & crisp. Be sure to press the cukes as the recipe says to get excess water out, I dried the cukes after rinsing them. As suggested let them sit at least a couple of days Thanks Chia very good recipe

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy December 10, 2002

I like this at lot. I use white onion because I always had a cucumber and white onion salad as a kid. This has nice flavor and is a good thing to have to augment meals.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit April 09, 2004

This was very quick and easy to make, very few ingredients, and was refreshing and delicious. It keeps well and gets better as it sits for a while. Very nice recipe, a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EdsGirlAngie November 03, 2003

Simple, easy and very tasty. Made just as stated and used 1/2 teaspoon dill. The proportion vinegar-sugar was very well balanced, not too tangy, not too sweet. All in all a perfect recipe.
Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dudo May 07, 2011

Simple and delicious! I put in the red onions even though I don't like raw ones. I'm glad I did, it wouldn't have been the same!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teacher_01 September 28, 2009

This turned out great even tho I messed it up and put 1 1/2 tsp. to much sugar in it! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EyesForASkinnyFuture August 12, 2009

Thank you Chia for this recipe. My daughter eats the cucumber and my husband eats the onion. There was none left.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ycooks2 April 24, 2008

Great recipe for cucumber salad. I don't care for Dill, so I left that out. Didn't have any red onion on hand, so I used yellow onion. It worked just fine. Otherwise, I made as directed. I fluted the cucumber edges and let it chill for a couple of hours. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Auvan August 22, 2007

Loved this! I particularly like the "salted cucumbers-draining them" thing! I can see me incorporating that technique into other recipes! Used the English variety cucumbers (long and come in plastic wrap), didn't have a red onion on hand so used a sweet onion instead. Very tasty. Can't wait to try this when I can get local cucumbers this summer! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Impera_Magna April 01, 2007
cucumber salad