Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cucumber Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cucumber Salad

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2002

      Great easy recipie! Especially on those hot summer days!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      This is the best cucumber salad ever! I could eat it all by myself, but I usually have to fight others over it. I have made this as least 3 times before reviewing. The only bad thing I can say about it is that it doesn't keep, but will get watery if put away. But it's easy to eat this the same day it's made! Thanks for sharing this winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      I was looking for a way to use some extra cucumbers from the garden. This is great recipe when eaten right away! I had my cucumbers in the fridge as a result we were able to enjoy the recipe right away. I ate half of the batch and packed the rest in my lunch for tomorrow. I will have to see how it is after it sits. I also used red onions which made for a wonderful combo. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      We liked this very much. I had on hand - Fresh Cukes from the garden, vidalia onion, Smart balance omega 3 mayo, Splenda, S&P. Mixed cukes with dressing right before serving. Delish. I'm contemplating trying this with lowfat cottage cheese instead of mayo. Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

      Delicious! I love cucumbers and this is a great way to serve them! Quick and easy to make. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      We were very pleasantly surprised by this recipe. What a great way to serve cucumber! Refreshing and tasty. Thanks for the recipe. I will make this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      This salad was a big hit with my family!! I used English cucumbers and all I had was a red onion, so I used that. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      This was mom's way of making cucumber salad...we had it at least 1x a week. Such an easy side dish. It was probably the first salad that we learned to make as kids. No real need to measure, you can eyeball it all. However, you have to think ahead. Slice the cucumbers and onion, sprinkle with salt. Let sit for at least an hour. Or, let sit covered all day in the fridge while you are at work. Drain with a bit of pressure to squeeze out all of the water. Then stir in the mayo until it looks creamy. We used generic "salad dressing" when I was growing up. Today I use low fat Hellman's, but I think it's great with any brand, including Miracle Whip. Salt and pepper to taste. (I don't think it needs much more salt, if any, but I would add pepper for sure.) My mom always sprinkled paprika on the top once it was in the serving bowl. I actually give it a dash of cayenne and sometimes I add onion powder right into the mayo. It will get watery again if you have left overs...so usually it's just a nice, fresh side dish and we never had left overs. No need for them! I always drank the liquid in the bottom of the serving bowl when I was on dish duty after dinner! Yum! (By the way, letting the onions sit all day with the cukes will also make your onions slightly wilted and gentler tasting. If you aren't waiting all day, one way to treat onions, if yours are too sharp, is to slice them thinly and cover them with tap water. You can add a bit of sugar to the water if you want. Your onions can sit separately in this water while your cukes are sitting in the salt. After the hour in the water, drain them and your onions will be perfect for any fresh use, and not be so strong. I do this when making fresh salsa, potato salad, hamburgers..anything that might need fresh sliced/chopped onions for. I really don't like having strong fresh onion in any fresh salad, so this is really helpful if you aren't using a "sweet onion" like a Vidalia. The dill is delicious in this, as is fresh mint, but we usually didn't have them on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      I great way to use surplus garden cucumbers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2007

      Perfect for a simple, quick dish that pleases all. I agree with the other comments that the dish will get watery. I have a family of healthy eaters, so, we had no leftovers what-so-ever! This salad will become a regular at our dinner table! Thx Southern Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      Very nice salad. My family loves cucumbers, so I'm always on the lookout for new flavors. I used english cucumbers and I never peel them. In this recipe I also took out the seeds just so it wouldn't be as watery as cucumbers get when they sit too long. It helped somewhat, but next time I will serve it straight away as to not run into that problem again. That way you can get the full flavor of the dressing.:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2006

      So yummy! This ones a keeper!! I used Miricle Whip instead of mayonaise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2005

      I would give this 5 Stars for flavor, but the way it watered down after just 2 hrs. in the fridge, compromised the overall effect. Next time I'll try salting, draining, & rinsing the cuke slices before adding the dressing. It is definitely a recipe worthy of experimentation to get it just right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2005

      We liked it soo much that I made this salad twice last week. Very refreshing on a hot summer day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2005

      Absolutely wonderful. I made it up right before serving so we wouldnt have the problems some have mentioned about it getting watery. It was devoured before it had a chance to even think about getting watery

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2005

      I really like this! It is a nice change from the usual cucumber salad I make. I scooped out the seeds b/c I don't like them and added the dill and salt and pepper. I used a red onion and it was a little strong, but you don't have to eat the onion pieces if you don't want to so it worked out.Both DDs had two helpings!I didn't notice that it got watery but then again I took out the seeds so maybe that made the difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2005

      This was very good. I don't care for the seeds in the cuke, so I cut those out, which could have given me a less watery mixture than others are talking about. I added the dill, and added more later to perk it up some. I might add some vinegar next time, but it's very good as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2005

      The flavor was REALLY GOOD-but with-in an hour cucumbers became soft and dressing extremely water which ruined the wonderful flavor. I sampled the dressing before we were ready to eat. I used English Cukes and did not peel them, because the flavor was so good I am going to make them again, only prepare the dressing prior, long enough for the sugar to dissolve, than pour it on individual serving plates. Thank you for such a nice recipe-Recipe Fairy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2004

      Great tasting, easy to prepare, but does get a watery quickly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2004

      We make this recipe with a little vinegar. It helps keep it from being bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cucumber Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (182 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 84.7
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    41%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 2.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 82.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites