Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cucumber Raita Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cucumber Raita

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2003

      We had this as an accompaniment to a Chicken curry and it was great. Cooled our mouths off wonderfully. I do like a bit of cumin in my raita so I added a tsp. wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2003

      Auntie Sue, I have been thinking of you since y'day and I was desperate to try out one of your recipes! I made this to serve alongside Spicy Indian Dahl(recipe no. 63075) and it went very well. I had it with this dahl and bread and later with dal and rice. It was really good. I did add a dash of red chilli powder(ground) and a dash of black pepper powder, as well as 1 tsp. of cumin(freshly powdered). I used 1/2 tsp. salt and 2 green chillies. To be honest, I omitted steps 1 and 2. I had to prepare this on the spur of the moment and I just had to fix this quickly. So, I started off directly with step 3. I'll be making this again sometime soon this summer. Thanks again, Auntie Sue, for a good and very easy to fix recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2011

      I made this last night. I have zero experience with raita. I used one jalapeno. Our grocery store doesn't carry a wide selection of peppers. I was worried that my 9 year old would not be able to handle the one chili but he loved this stuff. In fact, he wanted to take the leftovers for lunch. I used Greek low-fat yogurt- something that I haven't used before. I think that I may have to make a double batch this weekend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      YUM. I was looking for a raita that had cilantro and not mint as an ingredient. Perfect to cool down any hot & spicy curry dish! I used 2% Greek yogurt, minced serrano chili pepper. I served with Goan Beef Curry with Vinegar: Beef Vindaloo, by Aasrti Sequeria. Thanks Sue Lau! Just perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      A nice cool accompaniment to an Indian meal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      Very nice raita to serve with a curry dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

    • on August 11, 2008

      I love this recipe -- so cooling and refreshing -- it has everything a good recipe should have -- great texture, fabulous aroma, and terrific taste. Followed the recipe as posted and was delighted with the outcome. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      Thank yo so mch for this delicios recipe . Yesterday i had arrange a dinner party at my home and i made this every body liked it so much it goes well with peas plao again thank yo so mch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      Delicious Raita! I loved this cucumber raita and see why it has so many rave reviews. Even my kids liked it and they usually don't like the yogurt Indian dishes. Thanks so much Sue! Made for ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      Lovely dish! I had this with aloo gobi. It is definitely a good way to cool down your mouth in a hurry. The only thing I'll do different next time is finely dice the cucumber, as opposed to thin slices. I also may increase the cucumber-to-yogurt ratio. This would be great on naan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      Yum, yum, yum. I could eat this all by itself! Thanks for a great recipe. I think I may have increased the amount of chiles by one, but I'm addicted to spice. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      Absolutely delicious! I diced the cucumbers and omitted the chilies but kept everything else the same. I left it in the fridge overnight for the flavors to mingle. Served them next day with my butter chicken. Loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

    • on May 24, 2007

      Oh my goodness, what a delightful surprise from so few ingredients! I almost heeded the words of a few others and added cumin, but it truly didn't need a single thing other than to use Fage full-fat yogurt which I get at Trader Joe's. I did drain the cucumbers and, considering the rich thickness of Fage yogurt, this stuff would stick on an upright spoon for a week or two, I'm sure. :P I served this with Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken), Aloo Gobi, dal, basmati and pita naans. Super tasty, not to mention insanely easy, and going straight into my "Encore!" cookbook. Thanks for posting, Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      outstanding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2005

      Delicious, refreshing and a lifesaver last night when I needed raita to accompany a curry and couldn't get any from the supermarket! Definitely 5 stars - thank you Sue.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2004

      delicious and refreshing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2004

      We make this a lot. Add black salt instead of salt (or half salt and half black salt) for a different tang. Also add mint leaves with the cilantro and tomatoes too for a change and ofcourse the cumin powder. We even add raw mango in summer to this staple at our table during our hot summer months.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2004

      Cucumber Raita is fabulous, but I have a confession. Sometimes I don't eat this as an accompaniment, but as an entire summer meal in and of itself. And I grate the cucumber rather than chop it. I probably also use at leats twice as much cilantro, but then again, I'm a cilantro freak.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cucumber Raita

    Serving Size: 1 (655 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 137.8
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    59%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 3.6 mg
    1%
    Sodium 152.2 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 17.5 g
    70%
    Protein 12.3 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites