23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Everyone loves this recipe and it works for any event. I prefer to use sourdough cocktail bread but others prefer the rye. So I make both. I also put lemon pepper on top of some versus the dill weed due to personal preferences. You MUST let the cream cheese, mayo, sour cream and ranch sit overnight to enhance the flavors but don't put the mixture on the bread until the day of the event otherwise the bread will become soggy. Wax paper is the best way to layer the sandwiches. You can even use FF cream cheese and FF Sour cream but you cannot use Miracle Whip; the flavors are off...you need to use the mayo. This is a great recipe! ENJOY!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoriLions November 10, 2008

These were absolutely fantastic! Very refreshing! I've made them as directed, and I've also subbed reduced fat cream cheese, mayo, and sour cream. Both ways were just as great. I also served them on cut up slices of freshly baked french bread. Yummy! I do recommend using the English/European/Seedless cucumbers, since you don't have to peel them. The dark green peel adds a boost of color.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
integragirl98 July 04, 2008

followed the directions and ingredients to a tee and my hive LOVES me :)..........next time i do think i will top some with lemon pepper seasoning as a reviewer mentioned, good idea......thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~~QUEEN BEE~~ October 19, 2013

Delicious!!! We made these for my cousin's bridal party...they ate them (and other finger foods) as they got ready for the big day. Everyone loved them! We used white bread, did some cucumbers with skin and some without (next time I would leave on...gives it more color and held the cucumbers on better). Made the cream cheese mixture 2 days in advance and sprinkled with fresh dill. Will be making these again for sure!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ALC June 13, 2012

I made these for our New Years Eve party and they were WONDERFUL! I followed LoriLions advice that was given in her review with the original recipe and they turned out fantastic. I only got to eat 2 of the 50 that I made, everyone gobbled them up so quickly! This recipe is definitely going into the "keeper" file

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness January 11, 2011

This is a stable. It's light and delicious, and absolutely the easiest dish to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melissalars September 09, 2010

this recipe was quick and easy. I made these for a baby shower and used veggie seasoning instead of dill weed and everyone loved them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaidenlove June 28, 2010

Very good, and very EASY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenniec3 January 10, 2010

Delicious and so simple to make! They were a hit at our dinner party!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christypenner May 20, 2009
Cucumber Open Faced Sandwiches