32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awesome!! I added some caraway seed to it as well, and sprinkled feta on top. Mmmmm! Very good. I will make this often for summer.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canadianeh93 May 04, 2009

Very nice cucumber salad! I used 2 cucumbers and added some sunflower seeds right before serving for our taste, but followed the recipe as is otherwise. Thanks! Made for ZWT4 Zingo - Jefes de la Cocina!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enjolinfam July 06, 2008

Loved this simple salad. Very refreshing for a hot summer day. I did make a few very slight modifications. I used White Balsamic Vinegar because it is slightly sweeter than white vinegar (personal taste). I used quite a bit more tabasco sauce and pepper. I also had to resort to using dried chives and dill because that was what I had. I salted my cukes and let them rest in a colander in the fridge for a couple of hours instead of just 30 minutes. This goes in my 'keeper' file. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MoggyK9 July 15, 2013

This was just OK for us. I followed the recipe as written but we thought it needed some sugar as the mixture was too sour for our taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol April 26, 2013

I used some green onions instead of chives and threw in a bit of minced garlic...delicious! I might try adding some feta as one of the reviewers suggested. Thank you for posting a terrific recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Euphegenia September 08, 2012

This was so good! I wasn't able to get the fresh chives, but used finely chopped green onion. I love the little bite that the Tabasco gave. Great recipe. Thanks Nora.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Call Me Martha January 03, 2011

This was so delicious! I used two smaller cucumbers from the garden and half the amount of (dried) chives to suit our taste buds. I will be making this again as soon as more cukes ripen! Just like Grandma always made.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Island Girl 525 August 10, 2010

This was a hit - used fresh dill and chives and 3 varieties of cucumber from the garden. Also used light sour cream, and might substitute yogurt. I used more than 3 cups of cucumber - probably more like 5, and sliced about 1/4 inch. Worked just great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jami June 23, 2010

I made this using IT'S SO NOT Sour Cream Dip/Dressing in place of the sour cream for a more healthy side. I didn`t salt my cukes for I am watching my sodium intake. I used home grown dill seed and chives. Makes this a very fresh, cooling salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ May 18, 2010

Very good. I was wary about this one. Usually we just eat cucumbers plain with a little salt. I've had cucumber salads before and haven't cared for them but this one really hit the spot! Used 1/2 tsp dried dill. Will make this again for BBQs this summer. Be sure to let this sit for a while before eating!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma May 07, 2010
Cucumber in Sour Cream Salad