8 Reviews

These are amazingly simply and amazingly delicious. I have made them many times now and decided to post a review. I follow the recipe exactly (although I only use one cucumber slice per sandwich - it fits perfectly) and have never been disappointed. They are especially pretty arranged concentrically on a round platter. This is a super keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charming Chef April 16, 2014

Gaveit 4 out of 5 stars because it does need 1/2 cup of mayo to help bring down the saltiness. I used french bread in lieu of rye and it was a HOMERUN!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GodFeedsUs January 17, 2010

I'm sorry but this was just not good. It had to be the Italian Seasoning (I used Good Seasons). The flavor was just overpowering and we just could not eat it. I was thinking that it might be better with ranch seasoning instead, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Casiegrl March 19, 2005

Everyone loves this easy to make and tasty recipe.Great for a crowd.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Debbie December 30, 2003

Very good recipe. I used ranch dressing rather than italian just because I prefer ranch. I also added mayo to the mixture because the dressing made the spread salty. I will be making this again for sure. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sdowney December 26, 2003

I served this appetizer at my aunt's open house and it received a resounding 5 STAR rating from all the guests. I did make two changes to the recipe - I used sourdough cocktail bread (couldn't find any rye) and omitted the milk added to the cream cheese/dressing milk. When I combined the cream cheese and dressing mix, I had no trouble spreading it on the bread...I didn't feel that it needed the milk. This recipe was assembled very quickly and easily. I'll keep this recipe on hand for future parties. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess May 27, 2003

Although we liked these fairly well, my entire family complained that they kept belching afterwards and the after-taste was very unpleasant. We've never had this problem with the versions we've had at family reunions and potlucks, so the only thing I could attribute this to was something about the 'Good Seasons Italian salad dressing mix'. I will try these again, but figure out an alternative to this particular mix before I do as, otherwise, my family loves them. Thank you for sharing these with us Laurie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy Lynn March 27, 2003

My daughter made these as a quick appetizer and our family loved them. SharonP.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonP March 18, 2003
Cucumber Cocktail Sandwiches