26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a great summer salad, so light and refreshing! No mayo in this salad to spoil at your summer gatherings. I added the zest from the limes which added more flavor. Made for Round 3 during * Zaar World Tour 5* 2009 game for team *Genies of Gourmet*

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J June 14, 2009

very light and refreshing i grated the onion and cuke i like the fresh taste of cilantro with this . when i have fresh tomato i would add more just personal preferance .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. July 07, 2012

I didn't have lime juice on hand so I made it with lemon juice instead, it was delicious! I also threw in half a red bell pepper diced, added 1/2 TB of olive oil to the dressing too. It was very nice, light and fresh!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eyemadreamer June 17, 2012

I took the basic idea and turned it into a whole-meal salad by adding 1/4 pound each of cubed smoked turkey and cubed pepper jack cheese. Also added the minced jalapeno and upped the dressing accordingly to compensate for the additional ingredients. Perfect for a steamy summer evening!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l'ecole July 06, 2011

This is absolutely delicious...I made some adjustments to meet the needs of my 100% healthy lifestyle that I'd love to share:

-instead of sugar I put honey
-instead of salt I put "Herbamare," which is a delicious organic salt substitute with herbs.
-instead of normal pasta I put brown rice organic pasta.
-I cooked my onion a bit in a pan with coconut oil

It was DELICIOUS!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazypanda March 16, 2011

This is nice & quite light. I found the pasta for which I used macaroni shape rice pasta to be gluten free, kept falling off our forks. Therefore this salad may have been easier to eat with big spoons. I followed the rest of the ingredients exactly using dark brown sugar (gives less headaches), sea salt and freshly ground black pepper. Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game, Dec 2010 - Jan 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat December 24, 2010

Beautiful, flavourful and healthy! I used whole wheat elbow pasta and made as written. It would also be awesome with some feta cheese added. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini December 07, 2010

Made exactly as written. Was a nice change, very fresh and healthy! I love cilantro and lime so I thought this would have a little more pizazz. Just to bland for us I'm afraid.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma June 23, 2010

Very good. Used orecchiette pasta and instead of the tomato I added some chopped red bell pepper and radishes which gave it some nice crunch. Also added a 1/2 tsp of olive oil to the pasta to keep it from sticking. All good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adavidson February 13, 2010

Very good, light tasting salad. I did add tuna for a complete dinner, with fresh baked bread. Will use this again during the hot season of the year. Yeah! No oven or stove to heat up the house. Thnx for posting, BakinBaby.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter July 05, 2009
Cucumber Cilantro Pasta Salad