Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cucumber and Garbanzo Bean Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cucumber and Garbanzo Bean Salad

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on June 22, 2010

      This is a great way to introduce often overlooked and unloved parsley into a meal. Together the salad combination is a nice meld of flavors, and lends itself well to personal preferences. I followed reviewers' suggestions--used stevia instead of sugar, added tomatoes/feta cheese and omitted the olives. Whatever way it is made, this basic recipe is a sure winner. Thanks, Lori.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      Really good, really flavorful. I've made it a number of times now. Great for warm weather, and healthy too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      Excellent! I made this to bring to a potluck and sadly had nothing to bring home. I'll be making this all summer with homegrown cucumbers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      I loved this. I think the dressing was great. I used 2/3 of an English cucumber and didn't have any fresh parsley but I look forward to making it again using some. I have some leftovers that I will have for lunch today, I think I will add some feta cheese like Kelly's Kravings suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      OUTSTANDING, WONDERFUL!!! Very delicious & cruchy. Added feta cheese- perfect. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      I can't believe I haven't rated this before. I make it often and I usually add tomatoes. Great pot-luck dish. Sometimes we eat it like salsa on pita chips instead of as a salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      Simple and delicious. Next time I might add tomatoes or feta or good black olives or salami.... I would probably add another can of chickpeas or some other bean to boost the protein level. And the vinaigrette could be used on many other vegetable dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      Delicious!! Whipped this up this morning for dinner tonight and I couldn't stay out of it...taste tested it at least three times....LOL! I used two cans of beans as I read the ingredient list wrong and already had two cans opened when I realized there should have only been one can, used vidalia onion since I had it on hand already, and as I'm not a fan of green olives, I substituted a small can of sliced black olives. I feel the changes were minimal, but the result was fantastic! I'm adding this to my permanent collection and am sure it will be pulled out often for weekends at the lake when we all eat outside together!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      I really enjoyed this salad. I also did not put onion it it and I used green olives. The garlic gives it a good flavor but I'm afraid that it will overpower it tomorrow. I think next time I will cut the amount of garlic a good bit. Otherwise excellent tasty salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      Oh, this is a lovely salad, indeed! I dislike raw onion, so I swapped it out for chopped red bell pepper as a couple people mentioned adding. I know, totally different flavor than the onion, but it was very good. I used black olives - and the mixture was so pretty and inviting. I was afraid I wouldn't have enough dressing when I mixed it up, but when I poured it over everything and mixed, it was the perfect amount. Thank you for sharing, Lori!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

      This is amazing food. Sweet bell pepper makes it even better, I say.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      I was really not sure about 3 tablespoons of red wine vinegar and 1 tablespoon of sugar. It all went together very well and tasted surprisingly good !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      I took out the olives, doubled the liquids and added israeli couscous. It was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      Absolutely delicious. I see that this is very clearly a summer salad, but it's winter here in georgia and it was fantastic ;) I substituted balsamic vingar for the red wine vinegar and reduced the amount by half. I also replaced the vegetable oil with olive oil, added three cloves of garlic instead of two, as well as adding minced red bell pepper, grape tomotoes, and fresh mozarella. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      Love it! This salad is simply delicious! My kids even go back for second helpings. To make it even healthier, I used olive oil in place of the vegetable oil, and substitued Splenda for the sugar. I used black olives (my kids don't like green olives). A fresh diced tomato also works well in this salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      Very refreshing salad. I used balsamic vinegar and freshly made chickpeas (not canned). We'll make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      This is a nice refreshing salad. It is sweet and it makes a good amount, not too much. It wasn't stunning but it is a nice accompaniment to a saltier meal. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      This was excellent! I did make some changes though. I was making it for a party, so I tripled the recipe. I used three very large cukes and 2 lg cans + 1 sm can of garbanzo beans, and I think the ratio came out perfect (I think 3 lg cans of beans with 3 med cukes would have been too heavy on the beans). I also omitted the olives and added 3 plum tomatoes instead as well as 1 cup of crumbled feta cheese for a little extra flavor. My DH said he could eat it every day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      This was an excellent salad. I had an orange sweet pepper that needed to be used, so I added that and it gave it such nice color. I didn't have parsley, so I mihced cilantro and it really lifted the flavor. I'll certainly make this again. Thanks Lori!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      This made for a nice side to go with our chicken tacos (Crockpot Taco Chicken by Pamela). It is has a refreshing flavor and crunch. I added some oregano which added to the Greek flavors in the dressing. The next day, however, the dressing had blended more and I could taste the sweetness more. I made an extra batch to drizzle some extra on top and recommend that. I served the leftovers on top of romaine lettuce and this made a lovely Italian salad to accompany our ravioli! Thanks, Lori, for posting. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cucumber and Garbanzo Bean Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (122 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.0
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    44%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 394.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes