Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cucumber and Garbanzo Bean Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cucumber and Garbanzo Bean Salad

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on September 02, 2002

      What a great summer salad!!! So light and refreshing. A great make-ahead dish when you are having a crowd over. Everyone loved the combination of ingredients. I especially liked the garbanzo beans mixed in with the cucumbers! I have made a copy of this to put in my "keeper" recipe notebook. Thank you so much for sharing this great salad. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      Quite good, I only wished I'd made more! Next time, I think I'll add some fresh tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      LOVED this! It was a perfect lunch along with a small cup of yogurt. I made three changes: first I skipped the olives (just not a big fan) and secondly I used a total of 2 cukes just b/c I had them. Lastly, I used extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil. It was great! Plenty of dressing for the larger salad. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Very good salad. Just a couple of minor changes. Olive oil for me, 1 1/2 cans of beans (only because I love beans), but that certainly didn't change the flavor. And last, 1 tablespoon (or just shy of that) fresh basil along with the parsley. I chilled mine for just a hour or so before serving. Tasted great. Thx for a nice easy salad. Kim

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      This is a great salad. My mom, who rarely gives compliments, said it was the best vegetable salad she's ever had. I've made it twice already since discovering the recipe last week and can tell it's definitely a keeper. The combination of cucumber, parsley and the red wine vinegar dressing are very refreshing. I wouldn't recommend substituting a milder onion--the red onion adds so much flavor. I also added halved grape tomatoes and avocado (the avocado gets a little soft if you aren't serving it immediately, though). Allow a little extra time for chopping the vegetables--a heavy knife works great for the parsley.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2014

      Holy crap this was DELICIOUS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2014

      I am working on summer salads and this was a tasty and easy salad. I only used 1 tablespoon of oil and 1/'2 tsp of sugar to lighten it up just a bit. I think oregano could be good in this salad, also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2014

      Very good and quick. Makes a great lunch in itself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2013

      Very good salad! Loved every bit of it! When it was gone, my husband had me make some more. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2013

      This was pretty good. Great concept, but for me, lacking in something.... I ended up adding over a tsp of ground black pepper, more garlic, and about 1/4 cup of kalamata olives in addition to green olives. It was very pretty aesthetically. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2013

      A shocking flavor that leaves an exciting tingly feeling around the mouth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2013

      OMG, I could cry, this was so delicious. Skipped the olives (not my fave) and sugar, and added avocado and tomatoes. Such a forgiving recipe! Love it. Perfect for slow-carb, 4HB (four-hour-body diet), or just anyone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2013

    • on August 22, 2012

      I did enjoy this salad, but I added quite a bit of flavoring such as green peppers, all purpose seasoning, extra garlic salt, and some lemon pepper. Also added some extra cherry tomatoes I had on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2012

      Loved it! And this is from someone who's wary of garbanzo beans. The beans are a mild creamy texture and take on the vinaigrette well. The only change I made was 1 tsp of dried parsley for the fresh since I didn't have any. I made it for dinner and we ate it about 20 minutes after making it. It was good. I had some leftover the next afternoon and it was just as good if not better. The next time around I will pack it better in a container so that the dressing soaks into everything. The photos don't show any olives, I feel they are a must for this. Excellent recipe! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2012

      Love this salad!! I had some cucumbers from our garden that I wanted to use in a salad and I am so glad I decided on this recipe. I used cilantro instead of parsley and kalamata olives, but otherwise followed the directions. Great blending of flavors and the cucumbers add a refreshing touch. This is definitely a keeper! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2011

      This was fantastic - nice blend of salty, sweet, fresh, earthy. I actually served this over rice, to make it a full meal - very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2011

      My husband liked this very much, which is quite a compliment for a vinaigrette salad. I didn't care for the taste- I don't like green olives and their flavor permeated the salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      Really good, very fresh. I took this to a picnic. Big hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      This is a great way to introduce often overlooked and unloved parsley into a meal. Together the salad combination is a nice meld of flavors, and lends itself well to personal preferences. I followed reviewers' suggestions--used stevia instead of sugar, added tomatoes/feta cheese and omitted the olives. Whatever way it is made, this basic recipe is a sure winner. Thanks, Lori.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cucumber and Garbanzo Bean Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (122 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.0
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    44%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 394.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites