61 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I gave this recipe 2 stars. I made this recipe after my mom had told me about tea sandwiches she had at my 4 yr old newphews school. I wasn't crazy over the filling. It seemed to be lacking something. I used hot sauce in place of Tabasco sauce, regular cucumbers and white bread in place of rye as I don't like it. Overall I don't think I'll make these again. Thanks for posting! Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut July 13, 2009

Made these for a BBQ today and it was a hit

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aprilfl514 June 27, 2009

This is the best appetizer! I made it with light cream cheese and it turned out fantastic! It's a great light appetizer and perfect for summer! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cnbowden May 10, 2009

I used a special Danish Rye bread - similar to a light Pumpernickle, cut each slice in four. Served this appie with two hot ones and these were devoured as quickly as the hot ones - need I say more? 22April 07 Made these again for a special dinner for special friends and once again received rave reviews. I made the cheese mixture in the AM, cut the cuke etc and just assembled them before serving - took minutes Once again Judy- Jude thanks for posting 15 April 09 Made angain This time a Used a Nabisco cracker under and added a shrimp on top of the cuke. Lovely

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy April 15, 2009

I made these using half a packet of seasoning for a party. Everyone loved them. They are really simple. I wish I used a plain white bread instead of the rye though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pepper Monkey April 06, 2009

I made these as directed and they went over very well with everyone. These are also very easy to make. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kelly Bug February 08, 2009

Follow Lutie's advice. I seasoned with 1/2 package and could see that putting more in would have been too salty for me. I am glad that I read the recommendation. It gave me the confidence to halve it. I tried before and after Tabasco. Bottom line: It's a must have. It mades a huge difference in the overall flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaclynkb January 21, 2009

I made these for Christmas Eve and they were so simple and super delicious. We're having a New Year's party and I'm going to make them again. Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keithletes December 29, 2008

Made this for a catered party I did last night...put them on 3/4" baguette slices which I had baked in the oven (buy the baguettes unbaked). I doubled the recipe, but only used 1/2 of the Italian Seasoning mix. The English cucumbers were sliced into ribbons and I cut the ribbons in identical lengths (just long enough for the bread width from top to bottom of the bread. I placed the cukes side-by-side so the green peel was on both sides of the bread and a stripe of it in the middle of the bread. Then I topped the cukes with a slice of black olive and a small piece of pimiento in the middle. Everyone thought they were cookies! I should have quadrupled the recipe... they were that good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lutie December 13, 2008
Cucumber and Cream Cheese Appetizers