12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I loved this dish, both for the taste and the ease. This recipe produced a tender and delicious steak that was absolutely devoured. The only change I made was to add some Montreal Steak spice and as suggested by another reviewer, kept some of the flour to thicken the gravy at the end. This will be made again for sure. Thx.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word May 28, 2009

A good technique, but like so many other reviewers I had to add seasonings. It would have been quite bland otherwise. My changes were to saute the onion in the pan first, add garlic, cumin, and Italian seasoning to the flour, to use beef soup base rather than bullion, and to add a dash of Kitchen Bouquet to the gravy. Its a good way to treat a tough cut of meat, but don't expect much flavor unless you adapt the seasoning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3KillerBs August 21, 2014

I added sliced mushrooms, some garlic and worcestershire sauce to taste. This was wonderful. DH kept saying how great it was between mouthfuls! I served the sliced cube steaks over hot chili noodles. A winner in my book. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka June 30, 2011

This is basically the way I learned to fix cube or round steak when I got married and moved to the South all those years ago. I like to add some onion powder to the flour mixture, and I let my steaks simmer in the gravy for awhile. Thanks, Petdrwife!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Transplant August 28, 2010

I prepared this tonight and everyone was pleased. I made some changes as some of the others. I added an additional onion, 2 bouilion (probably spelled that wrong sorry) cubes and corn starch to thicken the gravy. It was a hit and I will be making it again. Thanks for the great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennybug October 26, 2008

This was awesome. It was a quick no hassle dish to prepare. My sauce wasn't as brown as the one pictured but it was really good. I used the extra gravy on the mash potatoes. Thanks so much this will be a permanent dish :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel Loving My Life October 09, 2008

This is a great recipe. I added milk to the gravy in addition to the beef broth. Delicious:-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shena M. August 26, 2007

Super good and really easy! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tropicalz March 29, 2007

Loved this! I followed the recipe as listed but I used 5 cube steaks for us and left them whole. One thing I did do is to save the excess seasoned flour from dredging the steaks and used it to add to the pan later. I served this with buttered rice and corn. Definitely a keeper - thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HEP MEP March 21, 2007

Very nice, comforting food for a cold winters night! Followed recipe to a tee, and it was enjoyed by everyone! I didn't however cut the steak into strips, my family prefers the "whole" steak action. Gravy was outstanding, I added some mushrooms that needed to be used. Old recipe yes, one worth keeping around for many more years.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm February 01, 2007
Cube Steak With Onion Gravy