9 Reviews

There aren't alot of good recipes out there for cube steak. This made the good list. I seasoned alot with the salt, pepper, and garlic powder only on 1 side. We feed 8 here and while I have the largest skillet there is; I had to brown in batches then transfered to a 15 X 10 glass dish. 1 cup water to the soup and drained the mushrooms. Covered with foil first 20 min at 350. Uncovered 25 min more. Put meat on platter. Poured mushroom stock in pan and thickened for gravy. Served with mashed potatoes and cream corn.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scott Keith October 30, 2002

This dish was super easy to make, didn't require lots of time, and the taste was wonderful! What more could you ask for? I know I'll make this one again very soon. I served this with mashed potatoes, bread and salad.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess October 15, 2002

This simple little dish made a dandy supper at my house. It's oh so easy to cook up and very tasty indeed! Natural comfort food! Thanks so much for posting. Laudee C.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laudee September 15, 2002

I made this as written, except I left out mushrooms as the man doesn't care much for them (and I didn't have them on hand). This recipe was still delicious and my man was upset when he realized there wasn't any leftovers! Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RFJ January 17, 2011

My husband loves meat and potatoes with gravy. He rarely gives any of the recipes I try a 5-star rating, but he did this one! It's a keeper for sure! The only thing differently I did was double the mushrooms. Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) October 08, 2009

It wasn't that it didn't taste good, it is that it wasn't a family favorite in my house. I cooked longer than the recommended time and meat was tough. I'm not sure if I over did it or what.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tinar1972 January 15, 2008

I didn't find this too salty but I used a reduced sodium soup. I think that if you subbed the powdered soup it would be way too salty. Nice flavor and easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl February 07, 2007

A bit on the salty side, but the flavor and tenderness were excellent. Quick and easy to prepare, I made no changes and served them with Danish Tomatoes and Mock Potatoes-total comfort food!. A very nice, easy dinner that I will make again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OhMyStars! September 01, 2004

I tried this one, but substituted Cream of Onion soup for the French Onion soup (was all I had on hand). Worked out well, and was popular in the house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
David Pickett January 24, 2004
Cube steak w/mushroom gravy