Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cubano Chicken with Spicy Currant Picadillo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cubano Chicken with Spicy Currant Picadillo

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on July 03, 2003

      Mean, this is seriously the best 'Zaar recipe I've made! The balance of flavors in this is just incredible. It has so many layers, and the sweetness of the currant jelly is the perfect foil to all the heat. Be sure to have crusty bread on hand to soak up all the juice, because you will not want to waste a single drop.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2003

      This was unbelievable! I followed the recipe to the letter. (I too was skeptical about the amount of jelly - but it's part of the great balance.) Lots of layered flavors......... I wouldn't change a thing. My company took home the recipe. Had some buddies over for the game the other night and used the leftovers to make pizza! WOW!....... move over California Kitchen! Just make this one........ It's worth it. Thanks Chef

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2003

      Top Notch! this is a fantastic way to make chicken breasts. the heat was just perfect. i could not find red currant jelly so i used black currant jelly instead. i don't think it hurt this recipe at all. i loved all the different textures in every bite. served this with rice and black beans and it was the hit of Cuban Night. thanks once again Mean! you are making me look really good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2012

      Excellent. I rarely eat sweetened food, so perhaps a bit too sweet for me; however, my wife thought it was perfect. Excellent blend of flavors. Will definitely be putting this into the rotation. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      My family and I thought that this was a terrific recipe as written. I will make it many times. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      This is a wonderful dish! I added a little cayenne pepper because we like our dishes spicy. I didn't use the extra currants since the currant jelly had chunks in it. I served this with Lemon Rice and garnished with lemon wedges and fresh basic sprigs. Excellent meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      Very tasty dish! We enjoyed this very much. Don't forget the lemon wedges - these are a must as they REALLY bring out the flavor. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2005

      This was very very yummy! I added a tsp of cayenne pepper to the rub spices because the bottled jerk spice I used just wasn't very spicy at all. I'm glad I did because it was perfect! Thanks Mean Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2005

      Made Jerk Rub(#117543), omitted the capers. Make sure not to cut the basil up too much. Great recipe, plan to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2005

      Excellent Recipe...ingredients seem a bit odd but they all work together beautifully! Everyone loved this and I will definitely make it again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2005

      Very delicious...I used black currant jelly and it was wonderful! The flavours are amazing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2005

      Thanks Mean you got great reviews from our guests, they all wanted the recipe. I made it exactly as stated..no need to change a thing. We served it with fluffy white rice and a small salad. Thanks Mean great recipe. 5 stars is just not enough for this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2005

      Great, and the left overs were even better the next day soaked up into rice. Yums. You can saute your vegetable accompanyment of choice right into this sauch along with the onions and not need to prepare other sides. I used green beans. Congratz Mean, ur the best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2005

      Wow! Thanks so much for a great recipe! I followed the recipe exactly and would not change a thing! Next time I make this (and there will definitely be a next time) I will serve with rice. I loved the unusual ingredients combination and the taste was fabulous! Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2005

      I agree with all other reviews, 5 star no contest. This dish has a really unique combination of flavors that works great. Thanks Mean!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2004

      It's still unanimous, definitely 5 star flavor here. Perfectly balanced, it's not too hot, not too sweet. We enjoyed it all by itself, no rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2004

      Wonderful dish!! I held out making it until I found currants and made everything "as is". Great blend of flavors and there is spice and heat but it's not overwelming - my kids even liked it. Served it over Bastmati rice and reduced the cooking time a bit because my chicken breast were 4oz pressed and didn't want them overcooked. Can't wait to have this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2004

      Excellent. Very easy to put together with an amazing taste. I cut the chicken into strips and left it in the paste while I cut up and combined all the other ingredients. Served on rice. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2004

      This is probably one of the best chicken recipes I have ever done! Real restaurant standard. Used blackcurrent instead of red.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2004

      terrific. I used a little more green pepper and onions than called for, but otherwise left it alone. It was a flavor explotion! With the leftovers I diced the chicken and mixed it up with the picadillo in order to take it for my lunch at work. I think I might have even liked it better that way. If you love a dish that packs a real flavor punch, you should give this one a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cubano Chicken with Spicy Currant Picadillo

    Serving Size: 1 (271 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 379.9
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    24%
    Total Fat 10.2 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 279.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.4 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 33.7 g
    134%
    Protein 26.3 g
    52%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    caribbean jerk seasoning

    pimento stuffed olives

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes