Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cuban Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cuban Stuffed Bell Peppers

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 03, 2010

      I halved this recipe, and made some modifications based on what I had in my kitchen, so mine probably tastes totally different, but I agree with the other reviewers: the cumin and red wine make the sauce. I used a ground-beef/ground-turkey mix for the meat. I sauteed with onion as well as a mild pepper and additional diced bell pepper. I substituted a fresh tomato and some paste for the canned tomatoes. I used plain croutons and when I stirred them in, I added a few tablespoons of broth so they wouldn't dry out. Fabulous!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2011

      This recipe is courtesy of the 3 Guys from Miami.
      They are the very best with Chop meat always "FRESH ONLY"
      Uncle John Travel (agent with cruise brothers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2007

      These were oh so good. I didn't have french bread so I just threw in some Spanish rice instead. The red wine really added something to the meat mixture. This was absolutely delicious. The only things I did differently (other than the rice) were: use 1lb of meat, a can of rotel, and 4 green peppers. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2006

      Hi Chefwally; The Stuffed Peppers turned out so good that I ate 2 of them. They were large peppers, used 2 green and 1 sweet red. I thoroughly enjoyed the addition of the cumin. The sauce with wine, cumin, and ketchup, pepper and salt, really added a great flavor. I am so pleased that I adopted you and to make your recipes. Thanks for posting this recipe. "Uncle Bill"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      Great stuffed peppers, Wally! I used fresh tomatoes, added garlic & halved the peppers so I could easily mound all the stuffing. Everything works so well together. We loved the sweet of the ketchup combined w/the distinct red wine flavor & the cumin. DH says he is sure you & I have the 2 best stuffed pepper recipes at RZ. Thx for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2006

      I love stuffed vegetables. Its a common food in Greece but instead of breadcrumds we use rice. So, I made the recipe exactly as written to descover the changes. Wordeful! I used fesh tomato instead of canned and used all the ketchup. Oh, I forgot I added some parsley too. Loved it, I will maked it again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2006

      I found that a very tasty dish. Loved the cumin in it - I actually used double the amount in the stuffing by mistake, but the result was great. I liked the ketchup in the filling, but the amount of ketchup in the sauce was slightly too much for my taste, alghough I thinned it with all the tomato juice left and not just the stated amount of 1/4 cup. In Switzerland, ketchup is mainly used to serve with French fries, but hardly ever in cooking. I guess that's why it was too sweet for me. I did love the wine, though. This would be lovely with some more tomato sauce (including chopped tomatoes) around the peppers. I served this with rice and then it's nice to have some extra sauce. All in all a very good recipe that I really enjoyed and that I may make again with the mentioned changes to adapt it to my taste. Thank you for sharing this recipe, chef wally!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2006

      I used very lean ground sirloin, rotel tomatoes, a little garlic and a really nice red wine. I did moisten the stale bread just a bit--the way I do for panzanella. Mine turned out very juicy with a nice amount of sauce and just the right heat from the cumin (and the Rotel). Thanks, Chef Wally!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      A tasty stuffed pepper recipe. I used ground round, mexican style diced tomatoes, and vegetable broth instead of red wine. The green peppers I cut in half to make a nice shell for stuffing with meat mixture. I liked the cumin flavor but DH asked for a bit less next time and thought the bread cubes made the beef mixture a little dry. I enjoyed everything! Thank you Chef Wally for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cuban Stuffed Bell Peppers

    Serving Size: 1 (508 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 883.8
     
    Calories from Fat 288
    32%
    Total Fat 32.0 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 11.2 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 115.6 mg
    38%
    Sodium 2543.2 mg
    105%
    Total Carbohydrate 99.5 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 9.2 g
    37%
    Sugars 27.1 g
    108%
    Protein 49.7 g
    99%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes