67 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

3rd Dec 06 -- This is an excellent recipe! SO tasty without being blow-your-head-off hot. I made it with pork loins instead of chops and used 1/4 green onion instead of onion powder (which I couldn't find at the grocery store). Marinated for approx. 2hrs, but I think the full day would have been better, as suggested. When (not if) I make this next time I'll probably do half again of the marinade as I could probably have done with a bit more liquid, but that's probably because I was using loins instead of chops. My biggest gripe (not recipe or method related) was that the marinade stuck fast to my george foreman (or whatever his name is) grill and has been a nightmare to get off. We don't have a grill, so next time I'll either dry fry in the pan or will oevn bake. Served with couscous but, frankly, the combination didnt work. Next time will serve with mash and steamed veg and I think it will work a treat. This is a wonderful recipe though - easy to make and truely yummy like nothing I've really had before. Even the BF liked it, which is praise indeed! 24 April 07 -- A quick follow up. Made this tonight for a dinner party but subbed pork for chicken as I found out one of my friends doesnt eat pork at the last moment. It worked very well although the milder taste of chicken made the flavours (particularly the lime) very strong. Went down a treat so thought I'd let y'all know that it's worth a bash with chicken as well if you're all out of pork! -W PS. I've decided to re-rate this with 5 stars because I've used this recipe over and over with pork and chicken and all sorts - it's so simple and easy to use and tastes fantastic. We probably have this once a week on average now and both I and my other half look forward to it so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy-Bob June 02, 2007

These were very good. The only thing I did different was add some chopped cilantro to the mix. I had some in the fridge I needed to use up and thought the flavor would go nicely with the lime & cumin. Very easy to prepare, cook and eat. Will make again. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathryn29 April 23, 2007

This was good, different from the gravy or cream soaked porkchops were usually have. My BF said the lime flavor really showed through, almost too much for him, but I loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kel-Cie T March 22, 2007

We had these with Spanish Rice (Recipe 29787) and my Skillet Herbed Cabbage (Recipe 202859). Cooked the pork chops on the Foreman grill set at 450 for 3 minutes. They were perfect. Pink in the middle and nice and juicy. I had marinated them for about 4 hours in the frig. So good! Thanks for posting Toni..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TXOLDHAM March 06, 2007

Fantastic flavour. I marinated for 3 hours, turning every hour or so and making sure the marinade got into the crosshatches on the meat. I cooked on a Foreman-style grill but they didn't colour up much and I think they would have been even better on the BBQ. Pity it was snowing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr Nick February 23, 2007

I made this yesterday and marinated it for the one hour minimum. I'm only giving it four stars because I felt the lime juice was too much and really acidic. I thought the limes I had were big and even thought I should maybe scale it down but I thought I would follow the recipe the first time. I will make it again but will cut down on the lime juice, I also will just marinate it for one hour just in case the lime is still too strong. I diced some onions since I had no onion powder, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and served it with Red Beans and Rice. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Christine December 22, 2006

I made this for dinner last night and it was great! I must admit that I only marinated it for the minimum (1 hr.) and next time I will let the chops soak for the 8-10 hours. Overall, it was tasty and turned out pretty good. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kevin420phx November 26, 2006

I just made these wonderful chops for dinner! I marinated them all day, and I thought they were fabulous and flavorful! I doubled the marinade because I had 4 chops. I can't imagine anyone thinking these are too flavorful, but then again I'm a huge fan of cumin as well as lime juice! Wasn't sure what to make with them, so I went with Black Beans and Rice. I will be making these chops again and again! Thanks Toni!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KPD November 19, 2006

This was a great recipe. Good way to impress your boyfriend. I forgot the cumin at the store and replaced with mustard powder--it was unique and probably nothing like the original recipe, but still very flavorful. Marinated for probably 2 hours. I made 3 chops and added a little extra of each ingredient and it was great. I broiled for 10 minutes and found it raw inside, so I baked for an additional 20 minutes and it still maintained it's juicy-goodness. Served with home-style mashed potatoes and a salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrennaBee November 16, 2006

Yummy! This was great quick and easy. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SocaliJL November 13, 2006
Cuban Spiced Pork Chops